1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

which memory

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dave4576, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. dave4576 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    help if i run one stick of ddr3200 mem 512meg of ram,will this out preform 2 sticks of 2100 and 3200 side by side,i would have768 meg of ram instead of 512,but it would run at the slower speed,so which is better 1x3200x512 or 1x3200x512+1x2100x256,any helpers
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,358 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    154
    Location:
    Seattle
    All of the memory on a motherboard will run at the speed of the slowest ram stick. So take it out you should notice a speed improvement.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. dave4576 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    strange this ive found running mixed mem totaling 768 ,fasster than 512 ddr3200 mem on its own.must have something wrong my end
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Halki New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2004
    Messages:
    143 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    somewhere.. over the rainbow (Zilina, Slovakia)
    capacity?

    i dont know how do you like it, but IMHO there is always better to have more capacity than greater speed... of course this doesn't apply if you have 1Gb+ ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,336 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Canuck in Norway
    it would also depend on the MoBo if its it a Dual Channel Mobo runnin say 2 slots of 256 3200 at dual it would be faster as its double the Bus witdth(128) I have experimented with it myself as I have 2 slots of 256 3200 and a slot of 256 2700 and it runs faster at 512 Dual@ 400 than 768 single@166
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. dave4576 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my mobo is a elite 755-a2 and im running a 3000+processor,ive messed about this end but ive found slower speed but more of it memory wise ie 768,out performs the faster 3200 512 meg
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)