• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which OS you prefer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Location
The bustling metropolis of Hamilton, OH
System Name Snoopy
Processor Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard MSI MEG X399 CREATION
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro / Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut TIM
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666 x 128G
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX 2070 XC / eVGA Hybrid Water Cooling
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe x2, Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVMe 1TB x2
Display(s) 3 x Asus VP28U's 3840x2160
Case Lian Li PC-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost DAC, Valhalla Tubed Amp, HiFiMan HE-500 Headphones & SMSL SA 26A Pro w/Micca RB42
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Razer Lancehead Wireless
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Elite
Software Gentoo 4.19.57 XFCE4+SLiM / Dual Boot Win 10 for gaming
Benchmark Scores Benchmark scores? How about: "Hours stable running Prime95 _____ Memtest86 _____"
does Mint XFCE still play native linux games? Like a lot of games I buy on steam or GoG now say they support Linux, can I play them on that version of Linux? Or would I need a more full version of Linux like Cinnamon to play those games? Also, how hard is it to install Steam on something like XFCE, do I have to learn command line prompts or do I just go to firefox, click download steam for linux, and double click whatever downloads?

Sorry I sound like a monkey, but I'm just a gamer not an advanced user.
Yes, Mint XFCE will play native Linux games available through Steam. A few of the people I work with are on Mint XFCE and haven't had any trouble with it. Using XFCE vs MATE vs Cinnamon won't have any impact on installing Steam.

Side note: XFCE is a really nice, lightweight DE. I use it partnered w/Slim in Gentoo.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,402 (1.89/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
Mint XFCE is what I will do then, because honestly all I want it for is indie gaming. I'm going to take a year break from Windows or so and just catch up on my indie gaming backlog.

How is driver support for AMD? Do I just download and install chipset for 3700x or drivers for Navi? or does it automatically do that for me on install/updates?
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
7 (0.16/day)
Location
The bustling metropolis of Hamilton, OH
System Name Snoopy
Processor Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard MSI MEG X399 CREATION
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro / Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut TIM
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 2666 x 128G
Video Card(s) eVGA RTX 2070 XC / eVGA Hybrid Water Cooling
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe x2, Samsung 970 Evo Plus NVMe 1TB x2
Display(s) 3 x Asus VP28U's 3840x2160
Case Lian Li PC-011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost DAC, Valhalla Tubed Amp, HiFiMan HE-500 Headphones & SMSL SA 26A Pro w/Micca RB42
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Razer Lancehead Wireless
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Elite
Software Gentoo 4.19.57 XFCE4+SLiM / Dual Boot Win 10 for gaming
Benchmark Scores Benchmark scores? How about: "Hours stable running Prime95 _____ Memtest86 _____"
Mint XFCE is what I will do then, because honestly all I want it for is indie gaming. I'm going to take a year break from Windows or so and just catch up on my indie gaming backlog.

How is driver support for AMD? Do I just download and install chipset for 3700x or drivers for Navi? or does it automatically do that for me on install/updates?
EDIT: Misread your question. I thought your were talking GPU. I'm on a Threadripper and had no issues w/Gentoo. I would expect Mint to have support for your 3700x, but you might want to do a little googling just to be sure.

I'm Nvidia, so I'm not much help there. I'm sure there are others here that can give feedback on that, though. Mint is pretty popular, so I would be very surprised if there were any troubles. It's usually Nvidia that lags behind and is more problematic.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,353 (4.06/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
How is driver support for AMD? Do I just download and install chipset for 3700x or drivers for Navi? or does it automatically do that for me on install/updates?
Unlike nVidia, AMD's stack is open source and ships with the Linux kernel. For the latest features for AMD cards there are only two things you need for latest GPU goodness.
  1. The latest kernel (this is why I run mainline builds with Ubuntu.)
  2. The latest Mesa (which is why I use the unstable Padoka PPA.)
Honestly, I don't want everything on my machine to be a rolling release. I depend on versions of certain things remaining constant for me to do my thing. Mesa and the kernel are really the only two things I run bleeding edge of, so in that respect, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS works out pretty well. I did the same thing with 16.04 LTS before that and it worked out well (although a little more painfully since stability with 390 was pretty iffy unless I forced full clocks all the time, but that actually has since been fixed.)

Support for newer GPUs such as Polaris, Vega, and Navi is pretty good. Earlier parts are a little rough around the edges with amdgpu.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,402 (1.89/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
Unlike nVidia, AMD's stack is open source and ships with the Linux kernel. For the latest features for AMD cards there are only two things you need for latest GPU goodness.
  1. The latest kernel (this is why I run mainline builds with Ubuntu.)
  2. The latest Mesa (which is why I use the unstable Padoka PPA.)
Honestly, I don't want everything on my machine to be a rolling release. I depend on versions of certain things remaining constant for me to do my thing. Mesa and the kernel are really the only two things I run bleeding edge of, so in that respect, Ubuntu 18.04 LTS works out pretty well. I did the same thing with 16.04 LTS before that and it worked out well (although a little more painfully since stability with 390 was pretty iffy unless I forced full clocks all the time, but that actually has since been fixed.)

Support for newer GPUs such as Polaris, Vega, and Navi is pretty good. Earlier parts are a little rough around the edges with amdgpu.
Mint XFCE should work fine then correct? Since it is Ubuntu with a less bloat and a coat of paint? Really sounds like it is the ultimate gaming OS to me, if all you do is game and want native driver support. Sounds like I made the right choice for my use case scenario.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,304 (3.22/day)
Location
USA
Mint XFCE should work fine then correct? Since it is Ubuntu with a less bloat and a coat of paint? Really sounds like it is the ultimate gaming OS to me, if all you do is game and want native driver support. Sounds like I made the right choice for my use case scenario.
Did some reading over in the Mint forums. The answer is a resounding yes. With, Mint gaming is a breeze.

<- is currently installing the latest version of Win 10 LTSC on a laptop for testing.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,402 (1.89/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
this is great news, so the only thing I really lose out on is freesync by not using windows, but frankly that won't matter since even if I do play a AAA game it will be one of the older ones i have on backlog and it will get 120+ fps anyway with no dips (i am talking dragon age origins old) last 3-4 years AAA's haven't really interested me, but my backlog still does.

games like SOMA are also at top of my to play list... so I figure I won't need freesync for that stuff anyway since its so easy to run. can't wait for my rx 5700 XT to get here, and Linux Mint XFCE Tina was just released August 2nd... I just mounted it with RUFUS to USB drive, using GPT and NTFS method... hopefully that was the right two? will be doing clean install as soon as my parts arrive around Thursday :)
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
11,353 (4.06/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD Radeon RX Vega 64
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 SSD Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB, 1x512GB Samsung 960 Pro NVMe
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 18.04 (5.3.0 Mainline Kernel)
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
this is great news, so the only thing I really lose out on is freesync by not using windows, but frankly that won't matter since even if I do play a AAA game it will be one of the older ones i have on backlog and it will get 120+ fps anyway with no dips (i am talking dragon age origins old) last 3-4 years AAA's haven't really interested me, but my backlog still does.

games like SOMA are also at top of my to play list... so I figure I won't need freesync for that stuff anyway since its so easy to run. can't wait for my rx 5700 XT to get here, and Linux Mint XFCE Tina was just released August 2nd... I just mounted it with RUFUS to USB drive, using GPT and NTFS method... hopefully that was the right two? will be doing clean install as soon as my parts arrive around Thursday :)
FreeSync should be supported in Linux now. A caveat is that it's not supported with multiple displays enabled at once. If you have a single FreeSync display, it should actually work.

This is my `xrandr --prop` for my 27" 4k display.
Code:
DisplayPort-2 connected primary 3840x2160+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 600mm x 340mm
    _MUTTER_PRESENTATION_OUTPUT: 0
    EDID:
        00ffffffffffff001e6d095b7b680400
        061b0104b53c22789f3035a7554ea326
        0f50542108007140818081c0a9c0d1c0
        8100010101014dd000a0f0703e803020
        650c58542100001a286800a0f0703e80
        0890650c58542100001a000000fd0028
        3d878738010a202020202020000000fc
        004c4720556c7472612048440a200158
        02031171449004030123090707830100
        00023a801871382d40582c4500585421
        00001e565e00a0a0a029503020350058
        542100001a0000000000000000000000
        00000000000000000000000000000000
        00000000000000000000000000000000
        00000000000000000000000000000000
        000000000000000000000000000000c8
    GAMMA_LUT_SIZE: 4096
        range: (0, -1)
    DEGAMMA_LUT_SIZE: 4096
        range: (0, -1)
    GAMMA_LUT: 0
        range: (0, 65535)
    CTM: 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0
        0 1
    DEGAMMA_LUT: 0
        range: (0, 65535)
    TearFree: auto
        supported: off, on, auto
    vrr_capable: 1
        range: (0, 1)
    max bpc: 8
        range: (8, 16)
    underscan vborder: 0
        range: (0, 128)
    underscan hborder: 0
        range: (0, 128)
    underscan: off
        supported: off, on, auto
    scaling mode: None
        supported: None, Full, Center, Full aspect
    non-desktop: 0
        range: (0, 1)
    link-status: Good
        supported: Good, Bad
    CONNECTOR_ID: 66
        supported: 66
   3840x2160     60.00*+  30.00 
   2560x1440     59.95 
   1920x1200     60.00 
   1920x1080     60.00    59.94 
   1600x1200     60.00 
   1680x1050     60.00 
   1600x900      60.00 
   1280x1024     60.02 
   1440x900      60.00 
   1280x800      59.81 
   1152x864      59.97 
   1280x720      60.00    59.94 
   1024x768      60.00 
   800x600       60.32 
   720x480       60.00    59.94 
   640x480       60.00    59.94
The `vrr_capable: 1` part is what says the display supports FreeSync (vrr = variable refresh rate.)

To enable it, see this:
https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=AMD-FreeSync-Linux-5.0-Enable
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,402 (1.89/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
Yeah I only use a single display, wow very cool.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,402 (1.89/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
Will Linux Mint XFCE have automatic updates for my drivers? So like is there a place I can go to click update and it will automatically check to see if AMD has any new Linux gpu/chipset drivers? Since you said earlier in this thread Mint has the drivers built in I don't have to install the drivers myself, but does that also apply to new WHQL updates? or do I have to do those manually?
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,283 (1.57/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3900MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz @ 3400MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSC x64 + Arch Linux
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 2200
Will Linux Mint XFCE have automatic updates for my drivers? So like is there a place I can go to click update and it will automatically check to see if AMD has any new Linux gpu/chipset drivers? Since you said earlier in this thread Mint has the drivers built in I don't have to install the drivers myself, but does that also apply to new WHQL updates? or do I have to do those manually?
As long as the version of Mint you are using is alive, you will get the updates with newer kernel and mesa packages.
But if you want to always have the latest stable one, you need to use a rolling release distro, like arch, Manjaro, Gentoo, etc.

WHQL drivers are only for Windows ("Windows Hardware Quality Labs"), AMD implements the open drivers like Intel on Linux.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,402 (1.89/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
As long as the version of Mint you are using is alive, you will get the updates with newer kernel and mesa packages.
But if you want to always have the latest stable one, you need to use a rolling release distro, like arch, Manjaro, Gentoo, etc.

WHQL drivers are only for Windows ("Windows Hardware Quality Labs"), AMD implements the open drivers like Intel on Linux.
took me 3 reads, but I think I get it :D I think Linux people overestimate the complexity of Linux sometimes to the average common person lol

but no that does make sense now. thanks. the term "alive" confused me the most, but I get what you mean
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,283 (1.57/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3900MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz @ 3400MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSC x64 + Arch Linux
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 2200
took me 3 reads, but I think I get it :D I think Linux people overestimate the complexity of Linux sometimes to the average common person lol

but no that does make sense now. thanks. the term "alive" confused me the most, but I get what you mean
Sorry, most of the time I translate directly from spanish, I mean while your version is not EoL.
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,763 (4.03/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Sorry, most of the time I translate directly from spanish, I mean while your version is not EoL.
your english is impeccable and punctuation is great.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,402 (1.89/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
I often find foreign peoples grammar is better than mine, even though I am native. Cause I am from some redneck small town in Indiana that for some reason has a deep south accent even though we are a northern Indiana town LOL

y'all, I reckon, etc lol

back on topic though, thank you! I'm sticking with Linux Mint XFCE for now :D I prefer plain and simple, and just am a gamer guy so need none of the bells and whistles.
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2015
Messages
2,283 (1.57/day)
Location
Argentina
System Name Ciel / Yukino
Processor AMD Ryzen R3 1200 @ 3900MHz / Intel Core i3 5005U
Motherboard MSI B350M PRO-VDH / HP 240 G5
Cooling Wraith Stealth / Stock
Memory 2x 8GB Corsair Ballistix Sport DDR4 2400MHz @ 3400MHz / 2x 4GB Hynix + Kingston DDR3L 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 270X Toxic 2GB / Intel HD 5500
Storage SSD WD Green 240GB M.2 + HDD Toshiba 2TB / SSD Kingston A400 120GB SATA
Display(s) HP w17e 1440x900 @ 75 Hz / Integrated 1366x768 @ 94Hz
Case Generic / Stock
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 / Realtek ALC282
Power Supply Sentey XPP 525W / Power Brick
Mouse Logitech G203 / Elan Touchpad
Keyboard Generic / Stock
Software Windows 10 LTSC x64 + Arch Linux
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: 2200
I often find foreign peoples grammar is better than mine, even though I am native. Cause I am from some redneck small town in Indiana that for some reason has a deep south accent even though we are a northern Indiana town LOL

y'all, I reckon, etc lol

back on topic though, thank you! I'm sticking with Linux Mint XFCE for now :D I prefer plain and simple, and just am a gamer guy so need none of the bells and whistles.
Perfectly good choice, most rolling release distros are a pain to set-up and/or configure.
Oh, AMD has a traditional "driver" on their site for Linux (AMDGPU-PRO). DON'T use it, it's far slower, and only intended for the professional software that needs it (because it's coded by monkeys). For games and normal use, the mesa driver is by far the best. In fact I would love to have it on Windows, it's a lot better for OpenGL, compared to the crap AMD uses.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,304 (3.22/day)
Location
USA
<- is currently installing the latest version of Win 10 LTSC on a laptop for testing.
So on this note, I have concluded that W10-LTSC-1809 is actually useful and securable enough for me to try out on my personal machine for a month... So here goes nothin'...

back on topic though, thank you! I'm sticking with Linux Mint XFCE for now :D I prefer plain and simple, and just am a gamer guy so need none of the bells and whistles.
Good choice!
 
Joined
Aug 9, 2019
Messages
98 (2.28/day)
So on this note, I have concluded that W10-LTSC-1809 is actually useful and securable enough for me to try out on my personal machine for a month... So here goes nothin'...


Good choice!
whats your reasoning behind ltsc? i hate all the extra features of windows 10 and dont want to have to customize, i have been using ltsb ltsc windows 10 for about a year with a few diff versions, i think mine refused to update to 1903? Loads of criticism when i brought it up in another forum :p but it works great for what i use it for. +1 for ltsc
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,304 (3.22/day)
Location
USA
whats your reasoning behind ltsc? i hate all the extra features of windows 10 and dont want to have to customize, i have been using ltsb ltsc windows 10 for about a year with a few diff versions, i think mine refused to update to 1903? Loads of criticism when i brought it up in another forum :p but it works great for what i use it for. +1 for ltsc
Basically, you nailed it. Most of the crap I would otherwise have to remove manually is already gone in LTSC. What remains is removable. The point is Edge, Cortana, and the Windows Store are all gone. Defender is easily removed as is IE and the services that are not needed/wanted.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3,252 (1.32/day)
Location
Jyväskylä, Finland
System Name AMD inside
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @ 4GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Memory 16GB G.Skill DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) Radeon R9 290 Crossfire @ 1000/1325MHz
Storage 3x SSD, 3x HDD
Display(s) 2x 1920x1080 (23" & 22")
Case Corsair Carbide Air 740
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ Gold 750W
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard Dell keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores 19545 in Fire Strike with 290 Crossfire OC
Windows 10 Pro on my main PC
Windows 7 & 10 on my HTPC - 7 for compatibility in older games, 10 for HTPC usage
Windows XP on my retro PC, you know why :)
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
7,304 (3.22/day)
Location
USA
Windows 10 Pro on my main PC
Windows 7 & 10 on my HTPC - 7 for compatibility in older games, 10 for HTPC usage
Windows XP on my retro PC, you know why :)
You seem to have a good setup.

EDIT: I'm about to make another go of Win10 on my personal system... Fingers crossed(I think it's sad that I have to say that)..
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
7,057 (1.62/day)
Processor Intel i9 9900K @5GHz w/ Corsair H150i Pro CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z390 Maximus XI Code
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus RTX 2080 STRIX OC
Storage Samsung 250GB 960 EVO m.2, 970 EVO 1TB, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX850w Platinum Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 23520 Heaven - 3670
You seem to have a good setup.

EDIT: I'm about to make another go of Win10 on my personal system... Fingers crossed(I think it's sad that I have to say that)..
Am i the only one on the forums that hasnt had an issue since the OS release?
 

Solaris17

Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
20,763 (4.03/day)
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EK Custom
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Titan RTX
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Kone Aimo White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
2,734 (2.14/day)
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) On-board dead - Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy Rx
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v1903
Am i the only one on the forums that hasnt had an issue since the OS release?
Started having audio trouble but it wasn't a Windows 10 issue from a cumulative update. The last BIOS update from MSI had AGESA update to ABB. The RTX 2060 was getting re-detected on boot up as well. Had to uninstall then reinstall the AMD chipset drivers. I think the AGESA update fixed the PCIe WHEA error.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
3,402 (1.89/day)
Location
USA
Processor i7-7820HQ
Memory 2x8GB (16GB) 2133
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 970 EVO 1TB
Display(s) Sceptre C305B-200UN 30" 2560x1080 2K 200Hz
Mouse Logitech G303
Keyboard Logitech Cherry Mx Blue
Am i the only one on the forums that hasnt had an issue since the OS release?
Right there with you.
Never had an issue myself, just a bit sickened at how easy we accept telemetry these days, they profit from every click we make, it's sort of like working for a Internet Provider or OS development team, they gather all your information, and I mean all, what website did you come here before this one? Why is that, how much traffic does that, all fed into advanced algorithmns then sold to highest bidder, and you never see a penny of your hard earned work. Neat huh?



Windows does the same thing basically. Samsung also does it, pre-installed apps like facebook that you can't remove on their budget phones, etc. Everyone does it because they were the ones who made the law and funded the Republicans in 2018 who voted for it.

Here is an entire list by amount taken.



Corruption at it's highest. It is a shame no one read Plato's Republic when they wrote the Constitution.

@R-T-B Thoughts? Is my line of logic accurate or not apply to Windows? I find it hard to believe all that telemetry is just there to help improve the OS, when previous OS's didn't need it hardly at all.

Started having audio trouble but it wasn't a Windows 10 issue from a cumulative update. The last BIOS update from MSI had AGESA update to ABB. The RTX 2060 was getting re-detected on boot up as well. Had to uninstall then reinstall the AMD chipset drivers. I think the AGESA update fixed the PCIe WHEA error.
Same, I had audio issues once but it was no fault of Windows.

Also, if I ever do retire from gaming or just want to do light indie gaming, I will be moving to Linux Mint or Ubuntu on a permanent basis, getting close to doing that now as most games don't interest me anymore except for indie ones. Cyberpunk 2077 looks neat, but I think the first person perspective might ruin it for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top