1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which power supply

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by BradleyKZN, Jun 24, 2009.

  1. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    stealthx 600W. i still have one here spare - it ran my system with a Q6600 @ 3.6 for two weeks, so i'm pretty sure it'll handle yours with no trouble at all.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,250 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    yeah the corsair is a better choice if you can get one, single rail is better than multi rail.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  6. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    So the stealthxstream 600w will be enough for my 9800gx2?
     
  7. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,250 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    I know, I was just using it for reference.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Anybody?
     
  9. xubidoo

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    888 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    i use the stealth x 600w on my main system with np's at all ,id say it should manage the gx2 fine.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,250 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,828
    Location:
    S.Cali
    In my opinion I would save a little more money and get an 850w:rockout: just in case you ever want to upgrade. I bought a 600w psu for my two 9600GT's which works fine, but now I'm saving up for a Phenom II and a WC setup and I know that 600 just won't cut it:shadedshu
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Odin Eidolon

    Odin Eidolon New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    920 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    Rockclimbing somewhere in Italy
    it will, 600W is enough for a PII and a couple 9600GTs, even with WC, if you dont use 30W fans!

    @OP, OCZ is the only possibility in South Africa? i would take a corsair/PCP&C/Silverstone/Collermaster (new models)/Antec signature over an OCZ every moment. check this site for reviews:
    www.jonnyguru.com
     
  12. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Unfortunately OCZ is the only decent brand i can afford. I cant save up a bit more as i need to upgrade everything by a certain date. Also i have had this card for almost a month now and havent been able to use it since i got it.
     
  13. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,431 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    buy anything except another overpriced fatality product... put that name on a mousepad and the price jumps its retarded
     
  14. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Getting the stealthxstream and coolermaster 590!
     
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    good choices. quality PSU, well ventilated case.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    Personally with your rig, I'd of gone with a new board (P45) and some decent aftermarket cooling (Xiggy or along that line) and then buy a PSU and case later down the line.

    Or, PSU + Xiggy and Case + Mobo later on......either way, that board and stock cooler are surely holding back your Q9550 from its full potential. :shadedshu
     
  17. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    yeah, i agree with you 100% but i needed the new case and psu so i could use the the graphics card. End of august is new mobo and in september its decent ram and cooler! Cant wait til its all complete! I ended up going for the fatality though, because the stealth only comes with 6 pin pci express connectors and my card needs 8. I can still change my order though
     
  18. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Your current psu would've been fine Bradley ....

    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/nvidia-geforce-9800-gx2-review,1792.html
    [​IMG]

    Test Setup
    •Asus P5E3 Deluxe (Intel X38)
    •Intel Core 2 Quad QX6850 (3 GHz)
    •Crucial 2 x 1 GB DDR3 1333 MHz 7-7-7-20
    •Western Digital WD5000AAKS
    •DVD Asus 12x
    •Coolermaster RealPower Pro 850 W
    •Windows Vista SP1
    •ForceWare 174.53 beta (9800 GX2)
    •ForceWare 169.44 beta (8800 Ultra)
    •Catalyst 8.3 WHQL
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    I was more worried about the amps on the 12v rails then the wattage, i just hope i get these parts soon.
     
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    from what i know, in reality its closer to 22A on the rails - OCZ just marketed it lower, because if ALL the rails ran past 18A severe ripple would occur. so you can run or two rails higher, so long as you dont get all of em maxed out (which isnt going to happen on your PC)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    On some other forum, somebody said i must distribute my load properly, how on earth do i do that?
     
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    dont use double adaptors and splitters.

    Short version: if you have 3 HDD's, using all of them on one plug (which has three molex's) may be convenient, but it also means all the power is off that one rail. If you used three cables, one for each drive it would split the power more evenly.


    It really doesnt matter that much, as it has dedicated PCI-E rails (it would be more complex if you used molex to PCI-E adaptors, for example)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    Lol ok so one seperate cable for HDD, one seperate cable for DVD RW and then some molex's for the fans.
     
  24. BradleyKZN

    BradleyKZN New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,146 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    South Africa
    The psu is modular, does it make a difference?
     
  25. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,666 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,805
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    But you can easily do that math. 338W @ load is approximately 26 to 29 amps.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)