• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why can my Android Tablet have and active desk top yet my I7 with window 7 can't?

kciaccio

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
364 (0.11/day)
Likes
45
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600K, 4433 MHz (43 x 103)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 DELUXE GEN 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 8 gigs DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video Card(s) POWER COLOR HD6870 EYEFINITY 6 EDITION 2GB
Storage KINGSTON HYPER X 120G SSD
Display(s) Quad set of Acer X193X's AND 2 Dell P2210 - 22"
Case Silverstone Raven 2 WHITE LIMITED EDITION
Power Supply NZXT HALE 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#1
My android tablet has a nice aquarium background like a screen saver for the desktop back ground yet my much more powerful desktop cannot? WTF?
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#2
first of all, turn that off. it's horrible for battery and heat.

secondly, it's existed for a long time. it's just not a default windows option.
google is your friend
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
2,442 (1.00/day)
Likes
1,866
#3
?

Perhaps a slight bit more, or any, research might have led you to a different conclusion. Within the first 10 Google results for "animated desktop in windows 7" you'll find:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Windows-7-Customizing-Animated-Desktop/



I even had an animated desktop in xp for a time.


So yes, you can have the same thing. No, windows doesn't come preloaded with it. Unsurprisingly, windows doesn't come preloaded with as animated desktop. The funds for developing that are channeled into other, more OS relevant, tasks.
 

kciaccio

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
364 (0.11/day)
Likes
45
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600K, 4433 MHz (43 x 103)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 DELUXE GEN 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 8 gigs DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video Card(s) POWER COLOR HD6870 EYEFINITY 6 EDITION 2GB
Storage KINGSTON HYPER X 120G SSD
Display(s) Quad set of Acer X193X's AND 2 Dell P2210 - 22"
Case Silverstone Raven 2 WHITE LIMITED EDITION
Power Supply NZXT HALE 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
#4
?

Perhaps a slight bit more, or any, research might have led you to a different conclusion. Within the first 10 Google results for "animated desktop in windows 7" you'll find:
http://www.instructables.com/id/Windows-7-Customizing-Animated-Desktop/



I even had an animated desktop in xp for a time.


So yes, you can have the same thing. No, windows doesn't come preloaded with it. Unsurprisingly, windows doesn't come preloaded with as animated desktop. The funds for developing that are channeled into other, more OS relevant, tasks.
Thanks! I got it to work this time!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 22, 2010
Messages
194 (0.07/day)
Likes
49
Location
Kent, UK
System Name Quad Cannon
Processor Intel Core i7 3770 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V - Custom BIOS 2104
Cooling CM Hyper 212X with Push/Pull Corsair ML120 White LED x2
Memory 16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3-2400 11-13-13-31 2T 1.65v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 8GB Founder's Edition
Storage 500GB 850 Evo + 250GB 850 Evo + 3TB Toshiba HDD + 5TB Seagate External
Display(s) 32" Samsung 1080p Curved VA + 21.5" HP 22xi IPS + 60" Samsung 6800 UHD TV (2016)
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Logitech Z333 2.1
Power Supply 850W Seasonic M12II Modular
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Logitech K800
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || Linux Mint 18.1
Benchmark Scores None. Primary uses are browsing, music, gaming (mostly Battlefield) and virtualization!
#5
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
2,106 (0.52/day)
Likes
371
System Name Norfree
Processor i5 3570k @4.4
Motherboard Gigabyte UD5H
Cooling 212 Evo
Memory 4x4GB Kingston 1600 @ 1833 9cl
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro Fury
Storage Corsair SSD, WD Black
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Corsair 300-R
Audio Device(s) Auzentech Prelude > Fidelio X2s and AD-700s
Power Supply PCP&C Silent 950w
Software Win 10 Pro 64
#6
miranda kerr animates my desktop, if you know what I mean
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#7
So yes, you can have the same thing. No, windows doesn't come preloaded with it. Unsurprisingly, windows doesn't come preloaded with as animated desktop. The funds for developing that are channeled into other, more OS relevant, tasks.
I recall active desktop being supported since IE5.0 at least, that allows for animated desktops.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#8