• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why can't my computer handle this?

Chase

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#1
Power Supply: CORSAIR Builder Series CX430 V2 430W ATX12V v2.3 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power

Video card:
SAPPHIRE 100315L Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

Processor: AMD Athlon II X3 450 Rana 3.2GHz Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Desktop Processor ADX450WFGMBOX

Motherboard: BIOSTAR A880G+ AM3 AMD 880G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

4 gb of RAM.

So this computer (along with a few other things ex. monitor, case, dvd burner etc.) cost me about 600 dollars. I've really had no problem running games but I get to Assassins Creed Brotherhood and my computer starts lagging?

Also if you need any more info about my PC just ask.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Chase

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#2
Well I really dont know shit about computers so go figure. Can you explain why consoles have better performance?
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#3
They don't. They are simply computers built with one task in mind, vs a computer that is running said task and dozens of others at once.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#4
Well I really dont know shit about computers so go figure. Can you explain why consoles have better performance?
They don't. Your computer is more powerful than a console and that's the end of that discussion. There is some sort of confilct going on with your system. You do say that all of your other games run fine. So what do you mean by lag? Does it happen all the time? What settings are you using in game? Are your video and sound drivers up to date? Is DirectX up to date? Are you running any other programs in the background when playing the game? Your computer should run the game fine, so there is a problem with how your computer is set up.
 

Chase

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#5
1. Im on almost full on most settings. Also by lag I mean that the framerate has noticable dips if im doing anything that involves multiple people or action.
2. Really sorry about my ignorance but how can I make sure of that?
3. I'm pretty sure but I dont know how to check. DirectX11 is the newest right?
4. No programs running in the background other than the browser thats on facebook.
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2009
Messages
14 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
System Name Neo
Processor Intel i5 2400 @ 3.1ghz
Motherboard MSI Z68a-gd55(G3)
Cooling Intel Stock Cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance 8gb kit 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 6870 Twin Frozr II
Storage Maxtor 120gb 7200rpm + Hitachi 500gb 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell ST2410+SHARP Aquos 40" HDTV
Power Supply Cooler Master Extreme Power Plus 650W
#6
you should check the graphic setting,turn off v-sync and if you want turn off Anti-aliasing too or turn down to 2x.Those two maybe the cause for the lag.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,281 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,379
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
So this computer (along with a few other things ex. monitor, case, dvd burner etc.) cost me about 600 dollars. An xbox 360 costs about 200 dollars right now. I've really had no problem running games but I get to Assassins Creed Brotherhood and my computer starts lagging? How come this PC that costs 600 dollars cant even run the same thing a 200 dollar xbox can run without an lag problems?
You have to realize that the Xbox renders everything at 1280x720 at the most, and it renders some games at an even lower resolution to keep framerates acceptable(FF XIII is rendered at 1024x576!). The Xbox also doesn't use nearly as high of graphics settings as the PC is capable of.

Lower the resolution in AC: Brotherhood to 1280x720 and set it to the medium settings or lower and you will easily get lag free play and a better looking game than the Xbox version.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8
1. Im on almost full on most settings. Also by lag I mean that the framerate has noticable dips if im doing anything that involves multiple people or action.
2. Really sorry about my ignorance but how can I make sure of that?
3. I'm pretty sure but I dont know how to check. DirectX11 is the newest right?
4. No programs running in the background other than the browser thats on facebook.
You can check what drivers you're using by going into catalyst control center and checking the version. Get new video drivers here: www.amd.com

Update DirectX here: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=35

Also make sure Windows is up to date by visiting Windows Update.

*It's alright that you're new to the PC thing. Just watch your "console comments" as it tends to make some people angry for some reason.
 

Chase

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#9
Thanks a ton man! I really appreciate the help. Sorry for any trouble I may have caused!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#10
You have to realize that the Xbox renders everything at 1280x720 at the most, and it renders some games at an even lower resolution to keep framerates acceptable(FF XIII is rendered at 1024x576!). The Xbox also doesn't use nearly as high of graphics settings as the PC is capable of.

Lower the resolution in AC: Brotherhood to 1280x720 and set it to the medium settings or lower and you will easily get lag free play and a better looking game than the Xbox version.
This.


Also, make sure your video card drivers are up to date - i've had serious performance issues with ass creed games on old drivers in the past.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2011
Messages
2,286 (0.93/day)
Likes
528
Location
Burlington, VT
Processor Intel i5-2500k
Motherboard MSI P67A-GD65
Cooling Deep Cool Gammax 400
Memory 8GB (4x2GB) G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1060 Windforce OC 6GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 256GB / WD Caviar Black 1TB
Display(s) Acer GD235HZbid 120hz LCD
Case Rosewill Challenger Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 650W 650-TX
Software Windows 10
#11
Xbox360 games run like regular PC games with the following conditions;

* 1280x720 or lower resolution.
* High Settings
* No AA\AS
* Usually locked at 30fps.

Now your computer isn't super powerful, but it should be able to play most cross-platform games meeting those requirements. The only weak link I really see that prevents you from blowing those settings away, is that CPU.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2010
Messages
3,578 (1.24/day)
Likes
1,918
Location
Oregon, USA
System Name GLaDOS
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8 ghz
Motherboard MSI 990FXA-GD65
Cooling Corsair H50
Memory Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz (2 x 4GB)
Video Card(s) MSI R7970
Storage 2 WD Blue 500GBs, 1 WD 1TB
Display(s) 2 Acer S231HL 23" LED backlit LCD's on a Dual LCD stand
Case Corsair 600T White edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 850HX 850W
Software Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#12
I had a Athlon X2 before and played AC:2 no problems, his X3 shouldn't be a issue.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#13
Please don't compare gaming graphics between consols and computer, over all people say here still one more most important thing, the xbox360 and ps3 can only run games in DX9 mate, your card pass it up with three generations DX10,DX10.1 and now DX11.

You can run any game smooth on 1280 resolution and low setting with DX9, with it will be like consol.

By the way you can count your PC as 600$, you can count monitor and other stuff as pc cost, only case items can count as cost, can you count your home TV with xbox cost.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#14
I think we all realize now what a console is. The point of this thread isn't PC vs. Console so let's end that discussion now.

Hope the tips help out Chase, let us know. :toast:
 

Chase

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#15
Without monitor it was 500. I got 90 dollar monitor but it was on sale from 150 so its not a POS.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#16
I see only you need is a better cpu.
My advice is got better cpu have high clock and quad core, spare some money and pick up some good deal used cpu like phenom II 955, and you will play smoothly‏.‏
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,381 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,023
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#17
I see only you need is a better cpu.
My advice is got better cpu have higher clock and quad core, spare some money and pick up some good deal used cpu like phenom II 955, and you will play smoothly, or if you know how to overclock try rise up your cpu speed at 3.4 if you can.
Nah, he should be able to run the game fine with his system. It just needs updating or something else. It's not a hardware issue.
 

Chase

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#18
Well I updated my drivers, updated to DirectX11, updated everything in windows and there is a slight improvement. I tried turning of V-Sync and that didn't do much either. I guess I should just lower some of the settings.

At second glance im actually not sure if I updated my drivers correctly? I went to the website and filled out what video card I had and downloaded all the things. Anything else I should have done?
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.48/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#19
Ok you say laging, so what about temps, did you check cpu and gpu temps.

Other thing did scan your computer from virouses-spams.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
Well I updated my drivers, updated to DirectX11, updated everything in windows and there is a slight improvement. I tried turning of V-Sync and that didn't do much either. I guess I should just lower some of the settings.

At second glance im actually not sure if I updated my drivers correctly? I went to the website and filled out what video card I had and downloaded all the things. Anything else I should have done?
did you install the catalyst package (drivers + CCC) for catalyst 11.6? thats the latest for a 6850



iamthewizard2: when i ran crossfired 4870's (which is different to his situation, admittedly) updating my drivers took me from a max of 15 FPS to a minimum of 45. they can make quite a difference. you honestly seem like a troll.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#21
Just a stab in the dark, have you installed Duke Nukem by any chance?

It auto installs a dual core optimizer on any machine regardless of the processor.
 

Chase

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#22
Just ran a quick scan, no viruses. Im running a full scan just to make sure.

My GPU temp is 51 degrees celsius.

Nope I didn't install Duke Nukem. And if my PC really can handle this game its not like its gonna hurt my feelings? What the hell? I would rather someone told me that in the beginning if its true.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,122 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,550
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#23
Just ran a quick scan, no viruses. Im running a full scan just to make sure.

My GPU temp is 51 degrees celsius.

Nope I didn't install Duke Nukem. And if my PC really can handle this game its not like its gonna hurt my feelings? What the hell? I would rather someone told me that in the beginning if its true.
i assume you mean CANT, but the truth is it can. you might not be able to run it on maximum settings, but hell, most of us here cant. that guy is just trolling.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#24
Very strange ACB lags on your system.
You should be able to run it no hassles.
Especially if my system can run it fine although I do get lag if I have filtering on high.

I'm out of ideas.

BTW do not feed the troll.
 

Chase

New Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2011
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
#25
Well okay then. I guess I just have to lower some settings. That for all the help guys, I really appreciate it.