• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does AMD Overdrive report strange PCI bus speeds?

bigboy2008

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi all i got M3A32-MVP DELUXE and i have been in to my bios and my pcie speed is set to 100mhz in there yet when i look @ amd over drive its 124mhz allways i do run ati tray tools but i have no over clocking and i even restarted my pc with out att to see if it was that and still amd over drive says 124mhz so can any of you guy/girls help me on this if so thanks alot.


:eek:
 
Last edited by a moderator:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,710 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,455
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Edited title to reflect a specific issue. Hopefully it will draw more attention than "help";)

Welcome to TPU :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#3
why dont you just move the slider adjustment back to 100MHz?
 

bigboy2008

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
have done

hi thanks for the reply have done that all ready and it just resets it self every time i dont know what it is.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.65/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
#5
well i would trust your bios over a 3rd party program honestly, and even if its at 124 and its stable at them speeds, f@#k it more power
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,710 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,455
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
Would something like a trial of Everest confirm the bus, or is it blanked out with "trial"? Have a key so I cant say for sure.
 

bigboy2008

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
yes iam try to find somthing like that and i hear a lot of ppl saying lock it how do lock it
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,710 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,455
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
Joined
Oct 27, 2007
Messages
1,132 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
System Name Grandpa
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z97X-UD5H-BK
Cooling water
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence 2400MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 5850 x2
Storage Samsung SM951
Display(s) Catleap 27"
Case coolermaster stacker
Power Supply corsair AX860i
Mouse logitech g5 original
Keyboard Ducky
Software Windows 8.1
#9
Agree with Sneeky. What you are looking to change is away from auto and to 100
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.65/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
#10
aaaah, sheet lemme think, ill look right now..DUDUDDUDD... yep everist ultimate edition tril version shows it
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,943
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#11
M3A32-MVP DELUXE Features "Auto-Express" which overclocks the pci-e bus to 125mhz, dependant on vga used(X1900-series and 2900XT).

Got one of those installed?
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,710 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,455
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#12
nice piece of info there.

I'd imagine it needs disabled in the bios then? Any link to info?
 

bigboy2008

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#14
yes thanks alot it was auto xpress but i got me thinking if its there dose that not mean its safe to enable
 
I

InTeL-iNsIdE

Guest
#17
well since i disabled it i noticed more system sability
Depends on your gpu, some cards you can oc the pcie bus to 125ish and others wont be stable even at 105, my old 8800gts used to love the oc'd pcie :toast: though now my 5770's make it pale in comparison and I never have to change the pcie bus :rockout:
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,576 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,943
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#18
well since i disabled it i noticed more system sability
I do believe that autoexpress was introduced to give Phenom 1 owners an extra boost in 3D performance due to the poor performance of those cpus, but very few "enthusiast" people actually bought Phenom 1's, so we haven't heard very much about it's behavoir, or how it affects system stability and performance.

Those specific vgas usually have only 512MB of ram, so the chance they may hit system mem over the pci-e bus was pretty high, adn that 25% boost would add some gains, but for my cards, I ran X1900-series(including the X1950's) @ 115mhz, and 2900XT I ran @ 120. At 125 mhz, you are close to loosing HDDs, so if you don't really need the boost, or you find it does little for ya, leave it off.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2008
Messages
626 (0.19/day)
Likes
88
Location
Finland (northern)
System Name Getting old!
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 @ 3,9Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA790GP-UD4H
Cooling About sufficient air cooling
Memory 4GB Dominator DDR2 1066 @1040Mhz
Video Card(s) Club 3D Radeon HD6950 1GB
Storage 120GB Kingston SSDNow 200V+, 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3
Display(s) Crossover 27Q LED-P (lovely!)
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Integrated -> optical -> HELIX P DSP
Power Supply Corsair HX620W
Software Win7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark11 P5285 WPrime 1.55 10,15 sec Super Pi Mod 1.5 17,920 sec
#19
One time I had the slider at max in AOD and the reported PCIe speed was something like 214MHz, :twitch: if I remember right... It did work but I Highly doubt the number, don't know any other program to report PCI-e clocks...so I didn't confirm it.