• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does it show my RAM at 420 MHz

Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
60 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Indiana
System Name Maelstrom
Processor 2.27 430m Intel core i5
Motherboard Toshiba Qosmio laptop
Cooling stock, soon to upgrade to artic silver 5 compund
Memory 4gigs DDR3 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 1Gb GDDR5 GTS360m
Storage 500GB hitachi 2.5" 7200 rpm
Display(s) 1680 x 945 60Hz
Case again laptop
Audio Device(s) 7.1 along with some awesome Harman/Kardon integrated speakers
Software Windows 7
#1
I know i have DDR2 800MHz that is OC'd at 840 MHz, and as i looked using both CPU-Z and AMD Overdrive it shows it running at 420MHz BTW it says DDR2 800 at POST
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2009
Messages
1,524 (0.49/day)
Likes
238
Location
UK
System Name Betty The Dirty Dragon
Processor AMD 8350 @4.8
Motherboard ASUS sabertooth rev 2
Cooling Watercooling - Swiftech GTZ - XSPC RS360 - XSPC RX120
Memory 8GB corsair vengeance cas 9
Video Card(s) 280x 1100core 1600 mem
Storage 240 gb ssd- 2 tb Storage
Display(s) Samsung 24" 2433BW
Case Corsair 650d
Audio Device(s) Xfi Fatality Titanium Pro
Power Supply XFX 850 fully modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#2
i dont get your point.. your post will proberly just be reading the spd on the ram. If cpuz clocks it at 420 then thats what it running at.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#3
I know i have DDR2 800MHz that is OC'd at 840 MHz, and as i looked using both CPU-Z and AMD Overdrive it shows it running at 420MHz BTW it says DDR2 800 at POST
That is alright CPU-z , 420x2=840 mhz ;)
 
Last edited:

DirectorC

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2009
Messages
1,624 (0.54/day)
Likes
267
Location
Florizy
System Name -= Son of a Whore =-
Processor E8400 @ 4.0GHz (445 x 9)
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3R
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 3GB Corsair XMS2
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GT 512
Storage 74GB Raptor + Caviars in RAID0
Display(s) I-Inc 19" LCD 1440x900
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE & Logitech X-540
Power Supply Corsair 750TX
Software Win32 v6.1.7600
Benchmark Scores Logitech KB & Sidewinder X3
#5
Your PC is stoned.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
60 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Indiana
System Name Maelstrom
Processor 2.27 430m Intel core i5
Motherboard Toshiba Qosmio laptop
Cooling stock, soon to upgrade to artic silver 5 compund
Memory 4gigs DDR3 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 1Gb GDDR5 GTS360m
Storage 500GB hitachi 2.5" 7200 rpm
Display(s) 1680 x 945 60Hz
Case again laptop
Audio Device(s) 7.1 along with some awesome Harman/Kardon integrated speakers
Software Windows 7
#6
obviously I know 420x2= 840, but i guess what i'm looking at is why is it running at 1/2
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,852 (1.90/day)
Likes
2,308
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor Intel Core i3 8350K
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO, Intel DC P3700 1.6TB
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#7
its DDR ram meaning it transfers data on both the rising and falling edges of the clock signal so it will show 420mhz
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2009
Messages
60 (0.02/day)
Likes
5
Location
Indiana
System Name Maelstrom
Processor 2.27 430m Intel core i5
Motherboard Toshiba Qosmio laptop
Cooling stock, soon to upgrade to artic silver 5 compund
Memory 4gigs DDR3 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 1Gb GDDR5 GTS360m
Storage 500GB hitachi 2.5" 7200 rpm
Display(s) 1680 x 945 60Hz
Case again laptop
Audio Device(s) 7.1 along with some awesome Harman/Kardon integrated speakers
Software Windows 7
#8
That makes sense, never thought of that, thanks
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#9
obviously I know 420x2= 840, but i guess what i'm looking at is why is it running at 1/2
You mean that CPU-z shows your ram at 210 under memory tab?
I doubt it...

As i say before if CPU-z show 420 then your ram are running at 840 mhz