• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does my computer refuse to accept video cards?

Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Let me take you through a trip of my several year-long process of trying to find a graphics card this crappy computer will accept (I've yet to find one.)

Around august several years ago when Doom 3 came out I wanted to play it and I realized I had to update my graphics card (playing Doom 3 with a 16 mb graphics card = no fun, as you can imagine.) I believe the first card I tried was a Radeon 9600, ok I put it in the correct slot, turned the computer on and at first everything was fine. But several minutes later the screen went black and the whole graphics display was messed up, had to reboot and I couldn't read anything. Same thing happened when I rebooted, and eventually I had to take out the graphics card. I tried updating the drivers and everything to no use. I made sure my computer "met" the requirements, and it seemed to, so I was clueless.

So, I took it back, tried a nVida GeForce. To be honest I don't remember exactly what GeForce card I bought, but just to make sure I wasn't doing something wrong (even though I was pretty sure I wasn't, it's not that hard) I even took it to a local computer store so they could install it. Well turns out my computer was not compatiable with the type of card, even though I checked to make sure it was the right type ... but I'm like "-__- ok w/e..."

Well more months go by and I figure "OK, third time is the charm" well I buy the Radeon 9550 - I mean hell last time I actually got the computer to turn on with the Radeon (apparently with the nVida one the computer wouldn't even boot up.) I put it into the right slot, update drivers, everything works fine for around 5 hours. I even checked dxdiag and sure enough under "Display" there was the Radeon 9550 so it took. However after 5 hours of having the graphics card in and it working completely fine, my computer screen went black and I had to restart. The graphics for the computer returned to the mangled up mess that I had with the 9600. I thought "Well since it was working for 5 hours maybe it's overheating.." so I turned the computer off for the night but the next morning I turn it on and sure enough, same problem.

Sorry for the long story but perhaps now you understand my frustration and just complete cluelessness as to why nothing seems to work. I mean I'm not an idiot when it comes to computers -- I checked to make sure everything was compatiable (whether the card was PCI/APG, power suply, etc.) but yet they still wouldn't take...

:banghead:
 

BigD6997

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
890 (0.20/day)
Likes
9
Processor e8400 @ 4ghz 1.344v
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-Ex lapped
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 2GB (3-5-5-17) @ 450mhz
Video Card(s) 8800gts
Storage 200G WD
Display(s) 23in samsung lcd hdtv
Case stacker 831
Power Supply OCZ stealthxstrem 600watt
Software Xp-Pro
#2
list your computer specs, and you can get a decent motherboard for 65 bucks that has a pci-e slot and a decent grfx card for 100-150 bucks, thats the way i go, please list your system specs, like cpu. mobo, memory, psu, everything
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#3
Whats your mainboard? did you update your mainboards BIOS? Also, if its an older AGP based system, it could be to do with the type of AGP port you have, there were several revisions all utilising different voltage specifications, and unless the card met that specification, your graphics card would get fried. For example, you put a 1.5v AGP card in a 3.3v AGP slot, you would kill the card in no time flat. If you put a 3.3v AGP card in a 1.5v AGP slot, either nothing would happen, or you would most probably fry the AGP slot where it was trying to provide more power than it was supposed to.
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#4
Hm...a 16mb graphics card, it must be a pretty old comp then. We all need your specs to help you out.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
k

CPU - AMD Athlon XP, 1500 MHz (15 x 100) 1700+
Mobo name - PCChips M810LR (2 PCI, 1 APG, 1 AMR, 2 SDR DIMM, Audio, Video, LAN)
Mobo chipset - SiS 730S
RAM - 469 MB
Video adapter - SiS 630/730 (16 mb)
Monitor - Samsung SyncMaster 753DF
AGP Version - 2.00
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2006
Messages
5,289 (1.22/day)
Likes
19
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+
Motherboard DFI LanParty nf4 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 2x512MB GeIL
Video Card(s) ATI Radeon X800XL
Storage 2x80GB Western Digital
Display(s) HP vs17
Case SuperTalent
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster
Power Supply Ultra X-Finity 500 Watt
#6
What kind of AGP is it? There's 8x, 4x, and a few more too. I'm not too familiar w/ AGP.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,692 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#7
Well the card you tried is backwards compatable so sounds like a bios update at the least . You didnt list your PSU and you did say all met spec but sounds PSU'ish . Or maybe your mobo is shot and possibly killing graphic cards.
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2006
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
@ Azn : I'm not sure what you mean by what "type" ?

@ DRDNA : Where could I find PSU info? >_> And I dunno about my mobo being shot , it's possible I guess. Any way I could find out for sure?
 
Last edited:

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.81/day)
Likes
102
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
#9
well your comp is reallly old.i would just leave it for a new system. much less headache and muuuuch better performance
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#10
The bad news is I cant find that mobo or chipset combo used on pcchips website. The good news is it seems unlikely a 3.3v AGP slot would of been used on that board as the SiS 730S chipset had AGP 2.0 specification support, which was AGP 4x era. However AGP 4x also did support the 3.3v AGP slot as well as the AGP 1.5v standard of the time. It seems your mainboard also has intergrated graphics as well, enter your bios and check for any options for this and disable it. The final bit of good news is I found what seems to be a rather late revision of the boards bios so should hopefully fix your problems. Due to the age of this board I deffinately wouldnt get anything more expensive than a used 9600XT off ebay. make sure the XT is using BGA memory (little black squares) instead of TSOP memory (rectangular black shapes) though.

The final bit of bad news is TPU zip limits are a bit too small to attach the bios file :banghead: so if u pm me with ur email ill email u it.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
6,111 (1.38/day)
Likes
881
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 7700K at 4800 mhz.. vcore 1.280 volts..
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z279F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Super Jetstream 1070 x 2..
Storage Three.. all solid state 128 Transend.. 1 T Sandisk.. 1 T Transend.. plus USB external..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and not really big enough for what is inside..
Audio Device(s) USB Sound blaster Roar 2 all in one unit with bluetooth
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores 3Dmark Firestrike Ultra 8542.. Timespy 10508.. everyday settings..
#11
i think its the power supply on the edge and simply cant handle any grfx card.. i cant think of any other reason other than a knackered mobo..

if it has agp slot u should be able to put something in it.. its what its there for.. he he

trog
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.65/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#13
if this bios dont work then yeah, coz it is pretty old :p but nothin quite like breathing new life into an old dog ;)
 

regg187

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2005
Messages
152 (0.03/day)
Likes
3
Location
Ariz- USA
#14
Is it possible that this board has on board gfx that need to be disabled first before a gfx card can be accepted. Had an old HP that had a jumper on the board to enable or disable the OB gfx.
 

BigD6997

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2005
Messages
890 (0.20/day)
Likes
9
Processor e8400 @ 4ghz 1.344v
Motherboard EVGA 780i
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-Ex lapped
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 2GB (3-5-5-17) @ 450mhz
Video Card(s) 8800gts
Storage 200G WD
Display(s) 23in samsung lcd hdtv
Case stacker 831
Power Supply OCZ stealthxstrem 600watt
Software Xp-Pro
#15
u can build a pritty decent buget system with good performance for around $500-600
 
Joined
Jun 9, 2006
Messages
38 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
I can almost guarantee you its a powersupply problem.

I wouldnt be suprised if an ancient system like that had a 200 watt.
 

tofu

New Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2006
Messages
483 (0.11/day)
Likes
12
Location
GTA
System Name Dinosaur
Processor 939 Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2.64GHz
Motherboard Sapphire RD580
Cooling OCZ HDT-S1284
Memory Corsair XMS 2x1GB CE-6 DDR480 2.5-3-2-8
Video Card(s) Zotac GTS 450 1GB 850/1700/1850
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 60GB + Hitachi 320GB + Seagate 1TB
Display(s) 2x Samsung 740B 17" LCD
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) ALC880
Power Supply Antec Truepower New 650
Software W7 Pro X64
#17
KoncreteAngel said:
I can almost guarantee you its a powersupply problem.

I wouldnt be suprised if an ancient system like that had a 200 watt.
I would have to agree. Mobos being shot and killing AGP cards is a rare case.