1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

why does my screen sometimes get black when playing ?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by johnslash, Jun 23, 2012.

  1. johnslash

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hello Guys, I'm with that problem, I installed GTA IV today, and When i'm playing then screen stand refreshing with a black screen and then comes back, i'm very pissed about this, I thought was overclocking settings but I went to BIOS and let the BIOS stock config, I don't know what to do now.
    Please anyone could explain what that happens ?

    FX-4100 3.6GHz@3.8 Boost
    4GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz
    GA-78LMT-S2P REV 5.0, updated bios
    PSU : Corsair CX430 V2
    HD Samsung 500GB
    DVD RW+/R Sony
    Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    GPU PCI-E : HD 6770
    GPU Onboard : HD 3000


    One more thing, my graphics is in a little Overclock, and my Onboard graphics is activated too
    Seems the driver get desactivated and then get activated again.
    It's weird.


    Sorry about my english i'm not a native speaker.
     
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,892 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,161
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    On first look it seems like its the video card drivers crashing. Might want to make sure your video card drivers are up to date and try running the GPU at stock speeds.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. johnslash

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks for Reply.

    My drivers are up to date, i'll test the graphics card in stock clock.

    You guys don't think might be the chipset graphic ?

    Because it is activated too, it might be warming too much and causing this problem.
     
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,892 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,161
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    That could be a possibility. Drop to stock clocks on the graphics and see if the problem is still there. If so, disable the onboard and check again.

    I had an onboard GPU get too hot on an AMD board I owned in the past and it did not black out- it just up and died, permanently.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. johnslash

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    75 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4

    THaaaaaaaaanks so much my friend, I solved the problem by reset stock GPU clock, i'm not even needded to disable onboard card, Thank you so much.
     
  6. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,892 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,161
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    No problem, enjoy your game.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)