• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does techpowerup not review so many gpu's with 3/4 gb vram?

Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
701 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Processor Ryzen 5 1600 3.9ghz vcore on aut with offsett +
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-PRO
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 hyper led turbo 750 rpm, noctiu NF-P12PWM
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC - 8GB
Storage 1x1tb samsung 850 evo,1x 525gb Crucial MX300 m.2 ssd (games) 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 1 Acer predator x34 and 1 Dell U2515H as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r5
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Razer deathadder 2013
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Karspersky internet security
#1
I have problems with my screen calibration with my asus hd 7970 dcuii top, the performance is very good, i can't complain, but the red and blue colors are to bright and intrusive.

Dispite the fact that i like the performance of my hd 7970 i have looked at other gup's, i use techpowerup alot, but theres one thing that wonders me, and that is all top 20 gpu's based on scores, but also in general, is cards with max 2gb vram (no hd 7970,7950 or gtx 2gb + in top 20).

I know there is gtx 660 mabye also gtx 660 ti with 3 gb vram, gtx 670,680 with 4 gb vram, and the new gtx 760,770 you can get with 4 gb vram as well as the hd 7950,7970 with 3gb vram and the new amd radeon high end gpu's also have minimum 3gb vram.

Test's,reviews has shown that bf 4 uses more then 2gb vram and using 2 full hd screens i thing it's good to have more then 2 gb vram.

Why isn't techpowerup reviewing more 3/4gb gpu's?

What's the point of not reviewing gpu's with 3/4gb vram? Theres no 4gb gtx 760 wich i wan't if i am going back to nvidia (msi gaming, a gtx 770 is much more expensive then the asus hd 7970 i have)

Does nobody need more then 2gb vram when gaming on 1 full hd, 2560x1600 screen, using 2-3 full hd or 2x 2560x16000 screens for non gaming?
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.08/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#2
I have problems with my screen calibration with my asus hd 7970 dcuii top, the performance is very good, i can't complain, but the red and blue colors are to bright and intrusive.

[...]
LOL

Dude, that's not the videocard making red and blue too bright, it's your monitor. Set CCC at default and calibrate the monitor. If its a crappy monitor with crappy controls, set it to default and calibrate in CCC. However anyway, you cannot blame the videocard for how the colors look.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#3
most because the 3/4GB cards are

A: rare, with just one or two models that actually exist (brands dont change much)

B: they're usually the slower cards, with more ram which doesnt actually help. you said it yourself - at the moment the 2GB cards dominate.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,173 (3.48/day)
Likes
6,825
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#4
:rockout: More reviews :p

Thank you for what you already do
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.08/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#5
most because the 3/4GB cards are

A: rare, with just one or two models that actually exist (brands dont change much)

B: they're usually the slower cards, with more ram which doesnt actually help. you said it yourself - at the moment the 2GB cards dominate.
The HD7970 (which as you might know have 3 GB) can hardly be considered "slower", and 3 GB is golden for games that use more than 2 GB VRAM amongst them BF4, BF3? (i don't play them) at highest / ultra settings on the larger resolutions/3 screen Eyefinity. In crossfire it's front power.

But those cards are all covered in the TPU reviews...
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
more ram doesnt meant faster. you're talking about 'golden' but that just means you're incorrect if the reviews disagree with you.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#7
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,808 (1.06/day)
Likes
1,579
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#8
so the only places more vram works is screen resolution and games like skyrim that r memory hungry ***** i guess :roll:
 
Joined
Aug 31, 2010
Messages
274 (0.10/day)
Likes
85
Location
Unknown
System Name ASAS
Processor Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4.2 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3-B3
Cooling Scythe Ashura
Memory Patriot 2x4GB DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24 T1 @ 1.5V
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce GTX 770 2GB Gaming
Storage Samsung 830 256GB + Samsung Spinpoint T133 HD400LJ 400GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster EX1920
Case Bitfenix Ghost
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-620 Bronze 620W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1
#9
Some food for thought. One year difference between 1GB and 2GB performance:


It should take a year or two for 3-4GB to be saturated. Unless in 4K or multi-display configs, of course.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#10
so the only places more vram works is screen resolution and games like skyrim that r memory hungry ***** i guess :roll:
not even normal skyrim. only skyrim with uncompressed texture mods, which is something no real game developer would due, due to the performance hit that doesn't provide any benefit worth it
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
701 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Processor Ryzen 5 1600 3.9ghz vcore on aut with offsett +
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-PRO
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 hyper led turbo 750 rpm, noctiu NF-P12PWM
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC - 8GB
Storage 1x1tb samsung 850 evo,1x 525gb Crucial MX300 m.2 ssd (games) 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 1 Acer predator x34 and 1 Dell U2515H as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r5
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Razer deathadder 2013
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Karspersky internet security
#11
LOL

Dude, that's not the videocard making red and blue too bright, it's your monitor. Set CCC at default and calibrate the monitor. If its a crappy monitor with crappy controls, set it to default and calibrate in CCC. However anyway, you cannot blame the videocard for how the colors look.
I have colors to bright since i switched to amd, i can't get the colors as good as when i had nvidia.

Adjusting gamma with amd's software dosn't just have the same positive effect as using nvidias's software
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
701 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Processor Ryzen 5 1600 3.9ghz vcore on aut with offsett +
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-PRO
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 hyper led turbo 750 rpm, noctiu NF-P12PWM
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC - 8GB
Storage 1x1tb samsung 850 evo,1x 525gb Crucial MX300 m.2 ssd (games) 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 1 Acer predator x34 and 1 Dell U2515H as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r5
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Razer deathadder 2013
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Karspersky internet security
#12
I am not talking about fps like 2gb vs 4gb how much there is.

I have seen many on youtube who has at least 2 screens or 1 with full hd + resolution that needs 2 gb of vram.

Also if there are any noticeable difference og 2 cards where the main difference is the amount of vram, of course a comparising of vram at high resolution would also be intereisting if it's the exactly same card except for the difference of vram
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
17,166 (3.43/day)
Likes
18,136
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#13
there is no noticeable difference in anything (other than modded skyrim) that you can actually use (at playable framerates)
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,381 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,103
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#14
I have colors to bright since i switched to amd, i can't get the colors as good as when i had nvidia.

Adjusting gamma with amd's software dosn't just have the same positive effect as using nvidias's software
Adjust it straight from your monitor then
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
701 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Processor Ryzen 5 1600 3.9ghz vcore on aut with offsett +
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-PRO
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 hyper led turbo 750 rpm, noctiu NF-P12PWM
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC - 8GB
Storage 1x1tb samsung 850 evo,1x 525gb Crucial MX300 m.2 ssd (games) 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 1 Acer predator x34 and 1 Dell U2515H as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r5
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Razer deathadder 2013
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Karspersky internet security
#15
Adjust it straight from your monitor then
Have tried alot, windows software,amd's and my screens.

It's like having some speakers with a bright sound or ferquency's that are to intrusive, even when you try to adjust it, it never get's perfect (the way you like it)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,308 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#16
I have colors to bright since i switched to amd, i can't get the colors as good as when i had nvidia.

Adjusting gamma with amd's software dosn't just have the same positive effect as using nvidias's software
Hmmm, that's weird. Personally, I've been using AMD since I replaced my GTX280 SLI set up. I have used 4 different monitors since then, a 22" 1680*1050 Samsung(don't remember the model number), a SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200, a Samsung 305t 30" 2560*1600, and my current HP ZR30w 30" 2560*1600. Whether using a single 5870, a pair of 5870 in crossfire, a single 7770 or a single 7970, I have had zero issues with the colors not being right.
 

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,406 (5.42/day)
Likes
9,579
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#17
Hmmm, that's weird. Personally, I've been using AMD since I replaced my GTX280 SLI set up. I have used 4 different monitors since then, a 22" 1680*1050 Samsung(don't remember the model number), a SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200, a Samsung 305t 30" 2560*1600, and my current HP ZR30w 30" 2560*1600. Whether using a single 5870, a pair of 5870 in crossfire, a single 7770 or a single 7970, I have had zero issues with the colors not being right.
Going from Triple 570 SLI to 7950 Crossfire I noticed an obvious difference between the hue of colours being shown on my monitor. Neither looked wrong, but I noticed the change, and didnt really care. Then when I moved to the 780 (I've used 3 different 780 cards now, 2 reference and one custom), there was no difference in colour from 7950 crossfire to any one of them. Perhaps It's down to random cards, but in any case, the change in colour portrayal didn't make anything look worse. I just got out the Spyder4Elite and recalibrated everything.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,665 (3.96/day)
Likes
8,246
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#18
more ram doesnt meant faster. you're talking about 'golden' but that just means you're incorrect if the reviews disagree with you.
cards that have twice the memory of the "normal" version, do not see any performance advantage. so manufacturers do not like to sample them because the review will say "there is no point to the extra memory"

http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Point_Of_View/GeForce_GTX_680_TGT_Ultra_4_GB/31.html

end of that page
I supposes that technically they're "faster" if you could somehow arrange a suitably artificial situation where the 2GB card had run out of ram and was swapping data with main memory while the 4GB version didn't have to do it. However, you'd probably be looking at performance numbers like 6fps and 10fps, which is unusable anyway and hence the extra ram remains pointless.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (0.99/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#19
i've never understood why lower end cpu's didn't get a quick review. like the g1610 that i have. believe it or not, its a great little chip and for what i paid i can't complain. However I do remember having to google for hours till i found a review :( TPU for once failed me.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2009
Messages
248 (0.08/day)
Likes
46
Location
Netherlands
Processor i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900-A LED
Memory Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 (4x4 Gb)
Video Card(s) 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 [Ref] -(crossfire) [out via DVI-D]
Storage 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX
Display(s) Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 [in via DVI-D]
Case Coolermaster Stacker STC T01
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro [PCI-E]
Power Supply Corsair AX 1200W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1
#20
more ram doesnt meant faster.
Noone claimed that.
you're talking about 'golden' but that just means you're incorrect if the reviews disagree with you.
No idea what you're trying to say there. :confused:

You claimed A. "3 GB cards are rare". Wake up: it's been standard on Radeon HD 7970/50 cards since their release december 2011.
You claimed B: "they're usually the slower cards,". The 6th and 5th place from the top (see the pictures in Ghost's post) is hardly "slower" category.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,204 (9.52/day)
Likes
13,692
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#21
Noone claimed that. No idea what you're trying to say there. :confused:

You claimed A. "3 GB cards are rare". Wake up: it's been standard on Radeon HD 7970/50 cards since their release december 2011.
You claimed B: "they're usually the slower cards,". The 6th and 5th place from the top (see the pictures in Ghost's post) is hardly "slower" category.
if i reply to something you said, and use your own words - try taking it in that context.


these 3/4GB cards could be tested with 2GB and get the same results - its got nothing to do with them having more ram and EVERYTHING to do with them being faster cards.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,177 (1.97/day)
Likes
1,721
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#22
This of course will all change once 4k gaming becomes more popular. The 7970s pretty much mostly come with 3GB VRAM standard though, and TPU HAS reviewed them, so I don't know what you're on about there.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2012
Messages
1,712 (0.79/day)
Likes
602
System Name msdos
Processor 8088
Motherboard mainboard
Cooling passive
Memory 640KB + 384KB extended
Video Card(s) EGA
Storage 5.25"
Display(s) 80x25
Case plastic
Audio Device(s) modchip
Power Supply 45 watts
Mouse serial
Keyboard yes
Software disk commander
Benchmark Scores still running
#23
I have colors to bright since i switched to amd, i can't get the colors as good as when i had nvidia.
DVI or analog connection? (Drum roll ...)
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2012
Messages
701 (0.34/day)
Likes
43
Processor Ryzen 5 1600 3.9ghz vcore on aut with offsett +
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-PRO
Cooling Cooler master Hyper 212 hyper led turbo 750 rpm, noctiu NF-P12PWM
Memory 2x8gb G skill flare x 3200mhz cl 14
Video Card(s) ASUS GeForce GTX 1070 Strix OC - 8GB
Storage 1x1tb samsung 850 evo,1x 525gb Crucial MX300 m.2 ssd (games) 1x2000gb wd green
Display(s) 1 Acer predator x34 and 1 Dell U2515H as accessory monitor (music,tv,videos,film)
Case Fractal design define r5
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Lightning iTrack Solo
Power Supply Evga supernova 650watt p2
Mouse Razer deathadder 2013
Keyboard Logitech G710
Software Windows 10 64 bit, Karspersky internet security
#24
dvi