• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does the GPU-Z show that my graphics card is fake?

Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,517 (0.25/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 5950X
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF 3090 / Titan V
Storage 1TbSamsung Evo M.2/ 2TbSamsung QVO/ 1TbSamsung Evo780/ 120gbKingston Now
Display(s) LG 65UN85006LA 65" Smart 4K Ultra HD HDR LED TV with Google Assistant & Amazon Alexa
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse M65 RGB Elite
Keyboard K95 RGB Platinum
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
@W1zzard thanks for the effort, gpu-z has been a great little tool over the years! much appreciated buddy!:toast:
 

Ryan Liu

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2018
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Thanks for testing in private. This is fixed now and the fix will be included in next release
I am sorry that I did not reply in time. And it seems this issue has been fixed.
Thanks all your guys to help me to find out the reason. Especially for @W1zzard and @maxslo.
I am worried that it may be a fake card. Then there would be tons of shit discussions between me and the seller.

@W1zzard, why do u bother with that function at all? nvida put stop on fake bios flashes nowdays, and amd too i think, only older cards can be manipulated but who cares, in few years no1 gonna use em anyway, let alone buy.
Used does not mean useless. I build a $70 PC for my grandapa. All parts are used except a new ssd. He just want to surfing internet and watching videos. I think it is the best for him.
My grandpa care about TV series more than which is the best graphic Titan or 2070Ti.:)
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Good morning,
I am posting in this thread on 'FAKES' videocards, one year later.

Here is a 3 x NVS300 setup. All FAKES?!
The first shown is actually HP branded; the other two are NVIDIA.

No one of them shows any 'Vulcan': 'Device not found'.

 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,531 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Looking at the NVS300 specs, it is specified to have 16 CUDA cores, and is based on GT218.

Your card reports 24 cores and is based on GT216 even though its device id (10D8) says it is a GT218 GPU. This is what triggers the fake detection in GPU-Z.

Given that your card seems to have a better spec than the original, I'm not sure if it really is a fake, or just some kind of rebrand.

Where did you buy those cards?
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Thank you for your reply!

All of the three videocards have been bought on eBAY from differend sellers.
Surely the 1st of 3 videocard is a re-brand: clearly is visible 'HP' as subvendor and even marked physically on the card.

But the other two NVS300s (2nd and 3rd) are "Nvidia":



So Nvidia produced better specs than... Nvidia?

All three videocards show:



Or actually a bug has been introduced in GPU-Z creating the false positive. Look at this old 2.9 GPU-Z release I downloaded back one year ago:



Ditto for the two other 'Nvidia' NVS300s:



The NVS300 cards have been detected correctly with GPU-Z 2.9: GT218 and 16 shaders either for the 'HP' and 'NVIDIA' models. No traces of GT216 or 24 cudas.
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,531 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Look at this old 2.9 GPU-Z release
The fake detection wasn't part of GPU-Z back then.

Good observation about the shader count, I checked around a bit and your cards seem genuine indeed, it's just an edge case where NVIDIA is internally using a different GPU for their manufacturing.

Next version of GPU-Z will no longer flag this card as fake.
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
I think there are two different sides: one is the previous GPU-Z release did not detect fake detection feature; the second aspect is the 2.9 detected a GT218 while now it is being reported as GT216.
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
A final clarification W1zzard, please: the GPU-Z dropdown sequence of those videocards, reflects the physical sequence of the motherboard PCI-E slots? So the first NVS300 is on PCIE1, the 2nd is on PCIE3 and the 3rd NVS300 is on PCIE4? :rolleyes:

 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,531 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
A final clarification W1zzard, please: the GPU-Z dropdown sequence of those videocards, reflects the physical sequence of the motherboard PCI-E slots? So the first NVS300 is on PCIE1, the 2nd is on PCIE3 and the 3rd NVS300 is on PCIE4? :rolleyes:

They should be sorted by PCI bus number, most motherboards number their slots from top to bottom, some number them differently.

Stop the fans with your finger for a moment and watch the reported fan RPM in GPU-Z sensors. Should be obvious then.
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Unfortunately I can't stop the fans because those cards are fanless.
PCIE2 is a x1 slot. So what you called sortering according to PCI bus number would be PCIE1, PCIE3, PCI4 sequence in my case? Should GPU-Z show that PCI bus number under the Advanced tab?
What I know for sure is the Bus ID for the 1st card (HP subvendor) is 4, while the other two NVS300s are 7 ad 8 bus ID#.
So PCIE1 is Bus ID4, PCIE3 is 7 and PCIE4 is 8? :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,531 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
The card name tooltip shows the PCI bus location. Good suggestion for advanced, will add in next release
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Running tooltip over which button/label should show the PCI Bus location, please? :confused:
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,531 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Ok, thank you. This confirm what I wrote above:
"What I know for sure is the Bus ID for the 1st card (HP subvendor) is 4, while the other two NVS300s are 7 ad 8 bus ID#."

Now, again, I will try address myself the question referring to the above scheme:
"Is PCIE1 slot linked Bus ID4, PCIE3 to 7 and PCIE4 to bus 8?" Again, I can't stop fans that do not exist as workaround.
Then will post the topic of my question in a proper thread (one of those 3 cards is systematically lazy on clock, even if the temperature is low)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.71/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Ok, thank you. This confirm what I wrote above:
"What I know for sure is the Bus ID for the 1st card (HP subvendor) is 4, while the other two NVS300s are 7 ad 8 bus ID#."

Now, again, I will try address myself the question referring to the above scheme:
"Is PCIE1 slot linked Bus ID4, PCIE3 to 7 and PCIE4 to bus 8?" Again, I can't stop fans that do not exist as workaround.
Then will post the topic of my question in a proper thread (one of those 3 cards is systematically lazy on clock, even if the temperature is low)

Physically pull them if you can

Or go to device manager and disable them or check their "hardware properties"
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,531 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
Yeah +1 on physically removing or swapping cards
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2018
Messages
278 (0.19/day)
Looking at the NVS300 specs, it is specified to have 16 CUDA cores, and is based on GT218.

Your card reports 24 cores and is based on GT216 even though its device id (10D8) says it is a GT218 GPU. This is what triggers the fake detection in GPU-Z.

Given that your card seems to have a better spec than the original, I'm not sure if it really is a fake, or just some kind of rebrand.

Where did you buy those cards?

Most certain they were the most common card shipped with HP Z400 workstations. I have personally went through at least 5 of these cards that came in the Z400's
I resold some also on Ebay with 1 return. The buyer claimed the card was defective but I worked fine when I retested. If I remember correctly
he was saying something about the CU not matching up or something. But its funny, you would think 24 CU vs 16CU would be a celebration like you stated....

Side note; why are you running 3 NVS300's like that? multiple screens?
Depending on motherboard, it may drop you down to 8x, 4x, 4x PCIE lanes instead of the normal x16 x8 x8..
Not that a NVS300 would bottleneck the PCI-e Bus or anything...just simply curious......
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Sure, it is because of multiple screens setup. Scaling down to 8x or 4x is not a problem for office use. no 3D is involved with such a videocards... ;)

Or go to device manager and disable them or check their "hardware properties"

@eidairaman1: are you actually being able to find the PCI-E slot involved looking at Device Manager hardware properties for your videocards? Not sure which of those dropdown menus show that detail
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,418 (6.71/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Sure, it is because of multiple screens setup. Scaling down to 8x or 4x is not a problem for office use. no 3D is involved with such a videocards... ;)



@eidairaman1: are you actually being able to find the PCI-E slot involved looking at Device Manager hardware properties for your videocards? Not sure which of those dropdown menus show that detail

Right click on the cards and look, sometimes things are in hexadecimal or decimal.

Showing hidden or non present devices helps too
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,531 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Thank you but - again, as referred in posts #35, #39 and 43 - the issue is not getting the Bus ID# that clearly are available under GPU-Z too, but the PCI-E Slot ID# , in other terms how the Bus ID# are associated with PCI-E slots, since stopping the fan (that does not exists) is not a possible workaround. Out of note, a further complication is the the GPU-Z dropdown sequence of the three NVS300 cards is different than Windows Control Panel/ Device Manager: I got a Bus ID 4 - 7 - 8 vs 4 -8 - 7 respectively.

@juiseman : 6 screens.
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
24,531 (3.65/day)
Processor Core i7-8700K
Memory 32 GB
Video Card(s) RTX 3080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 10 64-bit
how the Bus ID# are associated with PCI-E slots
I don't think this can be read via software. Try: Motherboard manual, ask the vendor support, or just keep swapping devices and try to figure it out.

4 - 7 - 8 vs 4 -8 - 7
It sorts cards with connected output further to the top, so basically you have two groups that each are sorted by pci bus number
 

karl53

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2019
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Next version of GPU-Z will no longer flag this card as fake.
Good morning W1zzard,
Just to let you know that even with the latest v 2.34 the FAKE status appears. :)
No drama! Just a feedback.

 
Top