• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

why does XMP decrease voltages and uncore multiplier?

Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
193 (0.07/day)
Likes
37
Location
lol
System Name BrighTaloN
Processor 980X
Motherboard DX58SO2
Cooling Corsair H100 dual cougar 12cm pwm fans
Memory CMZ16GX3M4X1600C9G
Case Haf X
Power Supply Toughpower Grand 750
Software 7 Proff 64-bit
Benchmark Scores never did atm
#1
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#2
Hi

The memory kit you refer to [corsair •1600MHz•1.35V•9-9-9-24] in your post is a quad channel kit, the XMP [extended memory profile] was tested on the x79 chipset. *you will need to set this up manually on the x58 chipset as it has a Tripple channel memory controler embeded in the CPU; the tolerances are different

Example below taken from one of my other post's

Ram is now sold as dual or quad channel due to support intel built into their new line up of CPU's

Socket 1366 CPU's have an intergrated tri channel controller

What happens if you put quad channel memory into an x58 mobo? good question; I have just done this as you will see from my system specs.

Step's I took; updated my bios as the rating for the memory modules was not natively supported, manually setup the timings and voltages; Update; had to settle for timings 16Gb 8-10-9-26 2T @ 1901Mhz as opposed to XMP 9-11-10-28 2T 2133Mhz 1.65v

Note: asus rampage extreme -II option "C" allows 4x memory modules in Tri Channel; however if I set the XMP the PC would boot but only in dual channel recognising 8Gb of the 16Gb and was not stable with the XMP @ 2000Mhz or 2133Mhz [this memory is designed for the x79 boards and dose a super job]

Edit: when I used 3x memory modules in Tri channel 12Gb the system was not stable using the XMP profiles @ 2000Mhz or 2133Mhz 1.65v [this memory is designed for the x79 boards and dose a super job]
atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
193 (0.07/day)
Likes
37
Location
lol
System Name BrighTaloN
Processor 980X
Motherboard DX58SO2
Cooling Corsair H100 dual cougar 12cm pwm fans
Memory CMZ16GX3M4X1600C9G
Case Haf X
Power Supply Toughpower Grand 750
Software 7 Proff 64-bit
Benchmark Scores never did atm
#3
Hi

The memory kit you refer to [corsair •1600MHz•1.35V•9-9-9-24] in your post is a quad channel kit, the XMP [extended memory profile] was tested on the x79 chipset. *you will need to set this up manually on the x58 chipset as it has a Tripple channel memory controler embeded in the CPU; the tolerances are different

Example below taken from one of my other post's



atb

Law-II
Hi

The memory kit you refer to [corsair •1600MHz•1.35V•9-9-9-24] in your post is a quad channel kit, the XMP [extended memory profile] was tested on the x79 chipset. *you will need to set this up manually on the x58 chipset as it has a Tripple channel memory controler embeded in the CPU; the tolerances are different

Example below taken from one of my other post's



atb

Law-II
in my case, should I increase my voltage to 1.5v?

[/IMG]

I increased the uncore multiplier to 24x by bumping up the NB voltage a little to 1.25 as opposed to the stock 1.20v

oh and I also have tested the kit with memtest86+ 4.20 overnight and I found it back to pass 2 in the morning:eek: strange as it was pass 3 the last time I saw it before I went to bed:confused:

any clue?
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#4
Hi

I increased the uncore multiplier to 24x by bumping up the NB voltage a little to 1.25 as opposed to the stock 1.20v
keep an eye on your NB temps, make sure you have good air flow over this area in your case

in my case, should I increase my voltage to 1.5v?
If the memory is running at 1.350 V try 1.400 V see how stable it is; if it is still unstable you can then try upto 1.50 V

nb: I do not use memtest86+ 4.20 so cannot answer that question

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,404 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,482
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#5
JEDEC specifies 1.5v at 1600, where XMP doesn't. It's just specifications that conflict, hence why XMP exists in the first place.
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
193 (0.07/day)
Likes
37
Location
lol
System Name BrighTaloN
Processor 980X
Motherboard DX58SO2
Cooling Corsair H100 dual cougar 12cm pwm fans
Memory CMZ16GX3M4X1600C9G
Case Haf X
Power Supply Toughpower Grand 750
Software 7 Proff 64-bit
Benchmark Scores never did atm
#6
temps:
[/IMG]
strange because haf-x is my case:wtf:

reseating the ram sticks was such a pain in the rear, took about half an hour end up bending one of the ram's heatspreader :(

@Law-II: what program do you use to test RAM, bud?
 
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
193 (0.07/day)
Likes
37
Location
lol
System Name BrighTaloN
Processor 980X
Motherboard DX58SO2
Cooling Corsair H100 dual cougar 12cm pwm fans
Memory CMZ16GX3M4X1600C9G
Case Haf X
Power Supply Toughpower Grand 750
Software 7 Proff 64-bit
Benchmark Scores never did atm
#8
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,878 (0.78/day)
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#9
@Law-II: what program do you use to test RAM, bud
Hi

I only use prime95 and coretemp for stability testing and some basic knowledge of the ram timings [e.g; using one stick at a time], I never run mem tests. I have had memory modules fail in the past and had to replaced them.

Edit +1 LDNL - are your memory modules happy at vcc 1.354 V?

nb: your temps look fine to me

Just for info - http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/dx58so2/sb/CS-031871.htm take a look at the DX58SO2_TechProdSpec.pdf page 15 system memory

atb

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
497 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#10
memtest86 can not be run as a program in windows if im not mistaken and needs a usbdrive. The one I linked is a more simple way of doing things. Just open 2-3 times. Enter how much ram its gonna use for example I have 4gbs of ram and right now im using 1.4gb at idle. So I would open 2 memtests and enter 1800 and another 1800 and since im already using 1400 at idle that sums 4000 which is 4gbs

edit: Ohh and the maximum ram tested per program is 2000 (2gbs) so open another if you need more tested
 
Last edited: