1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why doesn't the 'black' sata pin works? the red one works fine?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by vbx, Jun 20, 2009.

  1. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Connected my SATA DVD drive to the black sata pin on the mobo, but it wont detect the DVD drive?

    I have 3 red Red SATA plugs and 2 Black plugs. But the black ones don't work? Do I have to enable it or what?

    ASUS P5N7A-VM LGA 775 MOBO.
     
  2. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    2 black ones are probably for raid
     
  3. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Ok that sucks, that means I cant add an extra HD... All 3 red ones are used.

    1: WD drive
    2: Front Panel ESATA
    3: DVD Drive
     
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,429 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,063
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    unplug the esata.. unless u use it
     
  5. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    I would do that
    you have some on the I/O of the mobo anyways
    --------------
    this is weird because on my am3 boards i have the hdd connected on 2/4 whites ( has 6 blue) and they work just fine

    let me check on your mobo's bios real quick
     
  6. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I just checked the manual. It says the black SATA 5 & 6 only suport ACHI and Raid mode only.
     
  7. Assassin48

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,459 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
  8. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,268 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    You should be using AHCI mode anyway so your drives can take advantage of native command queuing. Assuming they support it of course. The DVD drive might not, but if you bought your hard drives in the last few years they should.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,250 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    438
    This man knows his stuff.
     
  10. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I see. I'll check it out later today. Thanks
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,047 (9.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,702
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the black ports are a different SATA controller. you need to make sure its enabled in the BIOS, and then make sure the drivers are installed for it.

    edit: asus website says


    Southbridge
    5 xSATA 3 Gb/s ports ,1 xExternal SATA
    Support RAID 0,1,0+1,5,JBOD
    JMicron® JMB368 PATA controller
    1 xUltraDMA 133/100 (RED)

    I'll see what the manual says.

    [​IMG]

    VBX is correct. Its a weird setup, but at least it will work in AHCI mode with normal hard drives.
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. vbx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    720 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    I'm using Win7 32bit and their stupid CD won't run in win7. (not compatible).

    I do have vista 64, but my belkin wifi device won't install because the stupid drivers isn't "verified" or something.

    I'll look at their site for a driver.
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,047 (9.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,702
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    anyone who installs drivers from a CD, needs to wake up. those things are months old when the motherboards are new - and usually years old when you go to use them.

    1. AHCI drivers wont install unless your BIOS is set to AHCI mode already
    2. vista drivers will work
    3. get them from nvidia, they made your chipset and they will be more updated than asus.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)