1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why I might not go with Asus motherboards again.

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by tepabajo, Feb 16, 2006.

  1. tepabajo New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a K8N-E Deluxe 754 socket mobo and am disappointed for three reasons:
    1) They can't offer bios updates where the basics are consistant. For example, some of their bios updates for the same mobo offer 400mhz memory clk speed and some don't, it's a crap shoot. To get the 400 speed you have to go back to 1009 or later. This is unacceptable!
    2) They have trouble with the USB signal and there are several bios updates addressing it. The problem is that it's not fixed yet and I am running revision 1011. So you ask why don't I switch to 1012 beta? See issue #3.
    3) They provide little or no information regarding the fixes contained within each bio update, i.e., 1012 beta version.

    For these reasons I will probably go with another manufacturer like MSI, Gigabyte, DFI or maybe even ASRock. Has anyone else had a similar experience?

    Just my humble opinion.

    Tepabajo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. mmx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Europe
    Well its your choise, i had a problem whit a MSI mobo and from now on MSI is off my shopping list. Now my mobo is Asus A8N-E and the bios is 1010 and works fine...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. gygabite

    gygabite New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    486 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Aschaffenburg,Germany
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,458 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I've also had bad experiences with MSI boards so they're last on my list too. Been pleased with my ASUS K8N - only problem is that it won't run at 400MHz RAM with more than one stick...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Aevum

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    642 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    and im quite pleased with my neo4 platinium MSI, its an issue of tastes and needs,

    if the makers idea of a bios or a motherboard dosnt fit yours, dont buy
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,480 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,382
    Currently have 2 asus boards running, love them both. They're a PCH-DL and a PC-DL. The only downside is that Asus won't release an official BIOS with Nocona support. Then again they'll kill their NCCH-DL board if they do it so it's understandable.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. SMJ-G New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Tepabajo if you want the best mobo for your AMD the “LANPARTY UT nF3 250Gb” is the best, there like ASUS were 5 years ago full of innovation and exciting thoughtful mobo design .Yes I have gone OFF ASUS TOO. The reason is that, no matter to what extent of doing/attempting something with there mobos everything went to the point of no return and that is what ever I did nothing worked or the mobo just Shits Its Self and gives me black screens and lockups.......

    I am specially talking about the LGA775 P5LD2-Deluxe that I specially build for my personal computer and this was 5 months ago when I first took it out of the box!......I have had this mobo replaced twice and then the third mobo did the same thing........but with all due respect I just got it back from ASUS service and the last BIOS update 0506 has worked wonders for this mobo......but it took close to 6 months to get this setup right.........and its not only me that is/was having this and many other problems, see the P5LD2-Deluxe and all the LGA775/SLI forums......

    I have been building computers for 17 years and using ASUS from the slot A days AMD Athlon, but I just for the life of me cant understand why ASUS releases stuff that is not proven before attempting new technologies ......e.g. LGA775 & SLI......so this is what I am talking about and if you want to scratch your head and wonder with the P5N32-SLI Deluxe go ahead be my guest........JUST READ THIS FORUM OF ALL THE PROBLEMS……...

    The P5LD2-Deluxe should NEVER have been allowed to be released and put on the retail shelves as should the P5N32-SLI Deluxe.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,651 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    I had a friend that had to RMA an ASUS motherboard three times, he is on his fourth and it still has some problems. Right now my favorite brand for most motherboards is Abit, most of there boards are extremely feature rich and stable. Although I do like the DFI Lanparties; never used one personally, but they sound excellent. Most of the other DFI boards scare me though. They just seem a little cheap.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. MDK22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    165 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Never had a problem with my asus board it really comes down to tons of research and knowing exactly what you want and how much u are willing to spend.

    Then the toss up factor lol.

    Its the same with maxtor hard drives.

    A guy once said, "Computer parts are like a box of chocalotes you never know whatcha gunna get."
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,651 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    400
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Yeah. There are some really good ASUS boards out there, that are reliable and work well. Then again there are some ASUS boards that are really feature rich, but aren't vary reliable. You just have to know what your getting into before you get it. Just read some reviews, if there are a bunch of people who seem to know what they are talking about, complaining about a specific board, maybe you might want to consider an alternative.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. SMJ-G New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Well I never had a problem with ASUS too until the LGA775 P5LD2-Deluxe……..have you tried the LGA775 mobos from ASUS? and I am saying this after probably building at least 250 computers with the Slot A, Socket A, 462, 745 & Socket 478, and in the majority of these computers I used ASUS mobos and other components. With there latest LGA775 mobos I have had lots of problems……..don’t ask me why because I have done everything right and followed all installation procedures the way that I have done before…….but I think its got lots to do with there BIOS and PS problems for these mobos that are really feature rich as Thermopylane 480 said and lots of us are still using the PSU’s from previous sockets …….

    What I’m trying to say and specially outline to others who are contemplating on buying LGA775’s, SLI’s & CrossFire’s is that they should really way up and definitely not accept as describe by MDK22……."A guy once said, computer parts are like a box of chocolates you never know whatcha gunna get." ……..All these component manufacturers should do there research, testing prior to releasing and advise us consumers of all compatible hardware that should be used with the new sockets, D CPU’s etc., specially now with SLI and CrossFire that requires a totally different outlook and hardware setup to be used. And this applies a specially to ASUS who prides its self of being the BEST and brags about it too? This is not acceptable to the consumers who I think have always been used as there guineapigs on testing the new technologies, it also happened with the early socket 478’s.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. naseltzer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    72 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i just got my new Asus A8N-E in the mail, all set up now. So far I like it. The only thing, though, i can't seem to adjust the cpu fan speed. Aren't any of the fanspeeds adjustable on this one??
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. sefu

    sefu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    I had some problems too with mi mobo P5ND2 SLI Deluxe, with the original bios 0802 dont save my overclock setings, i have update tu 0905 and 0906 bios from another sites than Asus, and then the real problem start was working lige a pentium II, now i'm with 0905 beta from asus web site, but now this bios is not avalaibele anymore, but this is working fine now, y had a very bad exeprience with MSI P4N Diamond, was dead after 2 days of hard testing, so no more MSI in my pc, before this i had Asus P4P800 E-Deluxe, Asus P4GD1, Abit IS7, and Abit AG8, al work fine, sow for me are only 2 motherboard on the market, Abit and Asus.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. MDK22 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    165 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    Wel my mobo is an ASUS LGA 775 however mine is an older one.

    You have to realize that most companies arent going to test their mobos with the s*** out there. They build it, test it with a few things, and it works. Think about how much it would cost to test it with all the stuff out there. Not to mention the speed for releasing new products its just inefficent.

    You have to realize that asus isnt just norm mobo they are built for the more high end stuff so they require high end brands cause thats all they test it on. As for PSU i have heard that they are a little picky but u put a good PSU in you wont have a problem.

    Its really not all that hard to know what will work in what you just have to do alot of research which is what you shoud do before you start any build.
     
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. ReconCX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    400 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    California
    DFI definately way to go.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. sefu

    sefu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    42 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    Yes for AMD is the best solution if you are a tweker or overclocker but for regular people DFI is too much so Asus is a god choice then.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Yeah well i own almost every board u can name excepte like some really randome ones like from China or well wtv you get the point.. What i am trying to say is that my DFI LP nf4 Expert board kicks major @SS!!! I also happin to have the P5LD2 board just bought it 5 days ago. So far i have gottin my Free 2.8gHz (520) running 3.6gHz with a Vcore of 1.38 totaly stable on that board. I am also running a X1600pro and 1Gb (2x 512) of G.Skill DDR2 witch is over clocking like a beast at a 1:1 ratio... SO i would have to say that this board is doing really well for a little over 100 bucks. The only thing that kinnda made me mad was the IDE ports.. they tryed to incorperate RAID into the IDE with poor options and a lack of explinations in the manule.. So i dont find your big biff over this board, maby theres just some hardwaer comflicts.. but mine works great!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. SMJ-G New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Mdk22 I don’t agree with you, why shouldn’t these companies’ advice consumers? Especially as you say that ASUS is at the so called high end? There are only a few high end components out there and if there in that category then they should advice consumers so that we wont and don’t pull our hair out with components that are of near to high end……e.g. I used the COOLMAX 550B that is a great PSU but it didn’t cut it with the setup on the P5LD2-Deluxe, I then put the Antec TP-II 550 and also updated to the latest BIOS 0506 and now all seems great as FLY3R says with his P5LD2, but FLY3R you must remember that you bought this mobo only 5 days ago and not 6 month ago as I did when things were a bit different with the ASUS BIOS for this mobo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. SMJ-G New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    28 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Yes FLY3R my Antec Performance One 180, Antec TP-II 550 PSU, LANPARTY/nF4/SLI-DR / AMD ATHLON 64X2 4400+ / Sapphire X1900XT / 2x Corsair TwinX1024-4000PT DDR kicks ass too……and I haven’t even overclocked any of these components up, but we are in a totally different league here these are TOP END and not so called top end….
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. armentage New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm having memory-clock problems with my ASUS K8N as well. It refuses to see my memory as 400mhz DDR. I manually set the internal clock to 200mhz, but when I boot it blurts out "Memory speed is 333mhz".

    System runs solid, but performance is very bad in memory tests. I upgraded recently to the rev11 BIOS. I might try downgrading to rev10 to see if it makes a difference.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,458 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    This is the only complaint I have about my board - there are a few users with this problem. I'm assuming that you are running 2+ sticks of RAM. Afraid downgrading the bios won't help, I've used all of them since rev3. I overclock to get my speed back, but if you only have one stick it should work at 400MHz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,528 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    i had the same problem with my abit board.. it worked okay at memory set at half speed dual channel.. full speed single channel but wouldnt even make windows at full speed dual channel..

    and contrary to whats been said.. the mobo makers dont test with all high end memory.. they test with something like nanya oem memory.. thats is pretty much guaranteed to work with any machine on the planet.. contrary to popular belief its the expensive fast timing brand name stuff thats likely to cause problems.. he he he

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. armentage New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well it might be the "only" complaint you have, but it's a helluva complaint!

    How exactly did you overclock it to get the speed back?

    I have 3x 512mb DDRs (Kingston HyperX PC3200)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. FLY3R New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2006
    Messages:
    395 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41

    Yeah i know... I have tried different bios with it, i even went back a few bios and had no problems with it. I find this board to be soild. I do agre that there were some good fixes in the bios but also rember that he is going to be buying a mobo recently not one from 6 months ago that had a bunch of problems acording to you.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. mmx New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Messages:
    339 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Europe
    Three times you say??? Do you think that there might be another problem, not just the mobo?? Maybe the PSU.:D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)