• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why is GPU-Z power consumption absent?

Shohidul

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hi

Could anyone please help me, why TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.6.7 cannot show power consumption option under Sensors tab?

My GPU is NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560.

It is very necessary for my research.
Thank you in advance for your time.

Shohidul.
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#2
Was it showing in previous versions?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,887 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
It might be that it doesn't work with that card. Doesn't show with my GTX 550 Ti either.
 

Shohidul

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#4
@ Maban: Prior version TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.6.6 does not show either.
@ Frick: Thanks much. Could you give any alternative idea?

How can I measure GPU power consumption?

Somebody use NVIDIA inspector tool for it. But I cannot find the power option there as well.

Any method is okay for me.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#5
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,700 (0.76/day)
Likes
1,364
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor Intel Core I7-3930K
Motherboard EVGA X79 Classified
Cooling Corsair H80
Memory 16GB GSkill Trident X
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 0
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD 598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 850W G2
Mouse Razer Naga 2014
Keyboard Gigabyte Osmium Cherry MX Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Your card likely doesn't have the necessary components to monitor power consumption. Apart from buying one of them Kill A Watt or similar device, there's nothing cheap(ish) you can do about it.
 

Shohidul

New Member
Joined
Feb 6, 2013
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
#7
@ Naki: Thank you for your reply. I installed the software but it does not show power level, even if there is a field to show power. I attached the image that contains details info.

I still have no solution for it. But badly looking for an way to measure GPU power consumption!
 

Attachments

Joined
Jul 23, 2011
Messages
1,555 (0.66/day)
Likes
1,459
Location
Kaunas, Lithuania
System Name Eternal WIP ][ HP ProLiant server blade
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.4/4.1 GHz ][ 2x Intel Xeon L5520 @ 2.27GHz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V Formula-Z ][ -
Cooling Corsair H55 ][ Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston HyperX Genesis @ 1866MHz ][ 4x4 GiB Hynix @ 1333 MHz; ECC on
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GeForce GTX 770 DirectCU II OC ][ None
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Green + 750GB Samsung + 64GB OCZ Agility 4 ][ 3x 1 TB Hitachi
Display(s) Asus VG278H + Asus VH226H ][ None
Case Antec Nine Hundred ][ it's a server blade, lol
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II (Integrated); Using optical S/PDIF output ][ none
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i ][ [stock]
Software Gentoo Linux ][ Linux Mint 16
Benchmark Scores 65970 BogoMIPS. Ha. Ha. Ha. >=|
#8
IIRC, HWMonitor could show my GPU power readings while other programs could not. Give it a shot - might work for You.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2011
Messages
501 (0.21/day)
Likes
61
Location
Botevgrad, Bulgaria, Europe
System Name Main PC/OldPC/3rd PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge/Core i5-3470 Ivy Bridge/Core i3-4330 Haswell
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-V/ASRock Z68 Pro3 Gen1/ASUS H81M2
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance/32GB ADATA/16GB ADATA
Video Card(s) SAPPHIRE R9 290 Tri-X OC 4GB/MSI RX 480 8GB/SAPPHIRE R9 390 8GB
Storage 2xCorsair SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/2xIntel SSDs in RAID0+3 HDDs/Intel 480GB SSD+5+3TB HDDs
Display(s) Philips 274E5QHAB@HDMI + Philips 273EQH@DVI (both 27")
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Titanium
Audio Device(s) Kenwood Mini HiFi system/Microlab speakers/Philips HDMI (main)+LG TV monitor HDMI + Apple headphones
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent ProM 600 W (modular)
Mouse Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)@Razer Goliath mousepad (Medium speed)
Keyboard Microsoft Ergonomic Sculpt Desktop 2.0 (combo)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit Ver.1709 Fall Creators Update (Build 17025.1000, Insider Preview)
#9
@ Naki: Thank you for your reply. I installed the software but it does not show power level, even if there is a field to show power. I attached the image that contains details info.

I still have no solution for it. But badly looking for an way to measure GPU power consumption!
You are trying to run MSI Kombustor!
I suggested MSI AfterBurner - these are two DIFFERENT apps, so please try that instead. :)
Another app you can try is EVGA Precision.
 
Last edited: