• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

why is my 3dmark score so low

Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#1
It seems to my my 3dmark score should by more than this...wait I KNOW it should be more than this, because one time i got it too ~13200. I have actually oced the RAM more since then too.
Could it be a heat issue?
 

Attachments

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#3
It seems to my my 3dmark score should by more than this...wait I KNOW it should be more than this, because one time i got it too ~13200. I have actually oced the RAM more since then too.
Could it be a heat issue?
If it did, in fact, get lower with a higher ram clock, that means something isn't 100% stable. Either your ram wants more voltage, or if that doesn't work, your NB wants more voltage. Remember, the further you push the ram, the harder the NB has to work, too.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#4
If it did, in fact, get lower with a higher ram clock, that means something isn't 100% stable. Either your ram wants more voltage, or if that doesn't work, your NB wants more voltage. Remember, the further you push the ram, the harder the NB has to work, too.
i raised the NB voltage .04 and heres what happened...


edit: sorry i thought it uploaded the first time
 

Attachments

Last edited:

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#5
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#6
i edited it:toast:
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#7
i raised the NB voltage .04 and heres what happened...


edit: sorry i thought it uploaded the first time
Definitely a step in the right direction. Adding any more voltage help? And did you try to bump the ram voltage up a notch?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#8
ill run some test and post some pics tomorrow, since its getting late here in NC. sound good?
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#9
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#10
well i tried raising the NB votage to 1.33 nothing
tried raising DRAM voltage .5 nothing
got the timings down to 55514 @1104mhz still @ 12080

anyother thoughts? maybe try another driver for my GPU?

PSU needing more juice?
 
Joined
May 30, 2006
Messages
7,626 (1.81/day)
Likes
855
Location
TX, USA
Processor Intel i7 4770K
Motherboard Asrock
Cooling Water
Memory Team Xtreem LV 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) EK Full WB HD7970
Display(s) CROSSOVER 27Q LED-P 27"
Case Danger Den Torture Rack
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR Professional Series Gold AX1200
Software W 10 Pro
#11
might be the driver the highest in 3dm06 was with 7.9 but its with ati you might want to try an older one, are you on the same one when you got 13k ?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#12
im using 7.15.11.6925, had it since 12/11/07. cant remember exact date of 13000 score though.

try a 7.9?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#13
:confused:

Your 3dmark06 score is very OK for your hardware. :ohwell: Actually, you're getting 13K because of the processor. It's not normal that for a 8800GTS 640 one gets such a high score. One would be expecting a lower score actually.

Why are you worrying? Have you been comparing? To what?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#14
:confused:

Your 3dmark06 score is very OK for your hardware. :ohwell: Why are you worrying? Have you been comparing?
yeah...:eek:

really i just want to know why it was at 13500 once and the rest of the time it was 12000
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#15
Maybe your proc was oc'd? Same thing for ram? Or maybe you had oc'd your 8800GTS 640MB?

Or maybe you ran the benchmark using a clean boot?

Or maybe you had different settings in your nvidia control panel? Like override options for AA? Or supersampling instead of multisampling?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#16
i dont know, your right i shouldnt be freaking out about it. ill just leave as it is.
im pretty sure i have gotten all i can out of what i got. thanks for your help
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.33/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#17
Well, I don't want you to give up!

Go into the nvidia control panel. Make sure if you have AA on there at least turn it to multi sampling. Or turn AA off altogether.

Otherwise put all global changes to the minimum - no AA, no AF etc etc.....

Then run 3dmark and see what you get.

If you still cannot reach 13K marks, go here and follow the instructions
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353

Then run the benchmark, check your score.

(It might as well be that you turned your settings up for better graphics in some game, and then those same game settings which you turned globally would be directly affecting your 3dmark06 score).
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#18
i turned the AA off and got 12887