• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why Is My Ping So High?

Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
1,561
Likes
207
Location
Poland,Slask
System Name HAL
Processor Core i5 2500K
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro Rev3.1
Cooling stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600Mhz Blu
Video Card(s) Asus 560Ti DirectCuII TOP
Storage Kingston 120 3K SSD,WD Black WD1502FAEX
Display(s) LG 1440x900
Case Chieftec Mesh Midi
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750V2
Software w8
#51
Still the things I wrote should be done to trace the problem.
 

Cooldog

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
128
Likes
16
Location
USA California
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9500
Motherboard MSI MS-7374
Cooling 1 Fan on back of case, cpu fan, power supply fan, and video supply cooling
Memory 2xKingston 2048MB 400 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cach
Case Apex PC-302 System Cabinet - Tower 1 x Switching Power Supply 300W 6 x External, 4 x Internal
Power Supply 650W
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional
#52
Well now my internet is going out around 12:00 AM, so its most likely it my isp, right?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,086
Likes
357
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#53
i assume if you're behind a router you have more pc's connected at the same time?

if yes leave only your and check a speed;is normal to have a fluctuating ping and speed if other pc's behind the same router use bandwidth and you don't know about it.

it was asked in post no.14 if other computers from your local network (connected to router) has the same behaviour but you didn't answer .

i made my home network also with a router and when i'm using 80% of my bandwidth the other 2 connected has a high ping and low speeds.

you can use software to manage the router bandwidth like:http://www.desksoft.com/BWMeter.htm

also if your router has QoS options you can shape bandwidth but i don't know exactly how because i don't need it...
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,008
Likes
63
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#54
Road Runner (Cablevision/Comcast) loves to overload junction boxes, they are only supposed to have 15-20 houses per junction, but sometimes they load it up with around 50 or so, just call and complain and they should be able to hook you to a less used junction...

I know this as a fact since my co-worker worked for their tech-support for 5 years and saw this issue all the time. Also when you call hook directly into the modem since they will try to pass the blame on any aftermarket router/switch.

I'm sure around 5PM you will notice the internet starts to drag ass. That's because all your neighbors have just gotten home from work and they're browsing the net.

Ive noticed in my area that since cable has been advertising like crazy the inter speeds have dropped dramatically hence why i switched to FiOS.
 
Last edited:

Cooldog

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
128
Likes
16
Location
USA California
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9500
Motherboard MSI MS-7374
Cooling 1 Fan on back of case, cpu fan, power supply fan, and video supply cooling
Memory 2xKingston 2048MB 400 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cach
Case Apex PC-302 System Cabinet - Tower 1 x Switching Power Supply 300W 6 x External, 4 x Internal
Power Supply 650W
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional
#55
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,086
Likes
357
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#56
Joined
Nov 27, 2007
Messages
2,228
Likes
374
System Name HOMECOMPUTER
Processor Intel I7-4790k @ 4.8Ghz 1.30v
Motherboard Gigabyte z97 gaming 7
Cooling ek supremacy evo full nickle, xspc megarad
Memory 16GB Corsair ddr3 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire r9 Fury Tri-x @ 1200/500
Storage 2x samsung 840 evo in raid 0
Display(s) LG 35", LG 27"
Case Thermaltake Core x5
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pcie
Power Supply Corsair 1000watt
Mouse Zowie FK1+
Keyboard Corsair Strafe rgb silent
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores i'm working on that
#57
i would chalk this up to faulty modem/router on your end. Honestly the way his multiple speedtest's behave doesn't say much for his hardware, i would use driver cleaner and ccleaner clean off all the junk, run a virus scan/spyware scan and reinstall all drivers, make sure all windows updates are installed and start with router and 2 computers, ping each one and see how it looks then hook up the modem, ping the modem and see how that goes, then ping something like nvidia where they have an insane amount of bandwidth and see where the fault lies. I've had this problem and it turned out to be a short in a cable that had no television hooked up to it and yes i had just had my cables redone.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,086
Likes
357
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#58
i would chalk this up to faulty modem/router on your end. Honestly the way his multiple speedtest's behave doesn't say much for his hardware, i would use driver cleaner and ccleaner clean off all the junk, run a virus scan/spyware scan and reinstall all drivers, make sure all windows updates are installed and start with router and 2 computers, ping each one and see how it looks then hook up the modem, ping the modem and see how that goes, then ping something like nvidia where they have an insane amount of bandwidth and see where the fault lies. I've had this problem and it turned out to be a short in a cable that had no television hooked up to it and yes i had just had my cables redone.
i compared the posted results and seems he have a 512 kb upload subscription now this is not enough to play when all the local network computers use from it.

cooldog shut down all other pc's from network and make some tests alone;i;m sure it will work
 

Cooldog

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
128
Likes
16
Location
USA California
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9500
Motherboard MSI MS-7374
Cooling 1 Fan on back of case, cpu fan, power supply fan, and video supply cooling
Memory 2xKingston 2048MB 400 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cach
Case Apex PC-302 System Cabinet - Tower 1 x Switching Power Supply 300W 6 x External, 4 x Internal
Power Supply 650W
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional
#59
OK, i ran the spyware checks and virus and everything, and i will check if its better tomorrow, but i have another question, could the internet slow down games, not ping wise.:confused: or would be my comp be slowing down the game. cuz diff people have been saying both.:ohwell:
 

Cooldog

New Member
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
128
Likes
16
Location
USA California
Processor AMD Phenom X4 9500
Motherboard MSI MS-7374
Cooling 1 Fan on back of case, cpu fan, power supply fan, and video supply cooling
Memory 2xKingston 2048MB 400 MHz
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cach
Case Apex PC-302 System Cabinet - Tower 1 x Switching Power Supply 300W 6 x External, 4 x Internal
Power Supply 650W
Software Microsoft Windows XP Professional
#60
Joined
Aug 24, 2012
Messages
3
Likes
0
#61
I think then problem may be in game server.You can try playing another online game.If the same problem occurs.Reset the Modem ....Un plug the connections,then plugin.You can check the ping using the methods below before playing the game and while playing the game...sure you can find is the problem in connection or in the website.You can check the Ping of the Internet Connection easily...To check Local LAN Connection Ping by using the Following method
GO to start->run->cmd->Ping ip-address
 
Last edited by a moderator: