• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why is SLi not working?

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
I am running two NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTs. I purchased this computer from 'a guy' so I know very little else about the setup but am not too inept to navigate system settings and hardware.


Anyway, under device status, one of the 8800s says this: "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)"

Is it potentially infinitely complicated to try to deal with this on my end? I know very little and any lmgtfy's aren't going to do the trick because they seem to be calling up motherboards and catalysts, things with which I am completely not familiar.

Is it enough that my rig identifies the second card? Is a fix likely simple? Likely complicated?

I could really use some advice.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#2
Well it's SLI not crossfire on nvidia cards and Nvidia control panel, not "Catalyst" you should have.
"IF" you are sure you are running nvidia"..
Uninstall catalyst drivers, then download and install nvidia drivers.
http://www.nvidia.com/Download/index.aspx?lang=en-us

We need to know your system specs please. We may have problems without that info.
What processor are you using?
What Operating System?
What motherboard?

Do you have the SLI bridge attaching the two cards? There should be a small, plastic "bridge", between both cards.
Like this:

http://www.google.com/imgres?q=sli+...88&start=30&ndsp=36&ved=1t:429,r:4,s:30,i:149

Hope he didn't hit you to hard for the 8800's.
 
Last edited:

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#3
Okay, we're getting somewhere - I do have Nvidia control panel. I also updated the drivers for both cards recently, so I don't know if that is the issue.

Is there anything I should be doing with the nvidia control panel for this problem?

(apologies for being so ignorant about this stuff)
 

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
oh, i didnt see the second part of your post.

We need to know your system specs please. We may have problems without that info.
What processor are you using?
Intel core tm2 quad cpu q6600 @ 2.4 ghz 2.4 ghz

What Operating System?
Windows 7 64-bit


Hope he didn't hit you to hard for the 8800's.
Why do they suck?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#5
oh, i didnt see the second part of your post.

We need to know your system specs please. We may have problems without that info.
What processor are you using?
Intel core tm2 quad cpu q6600 @ 2.4 ghz 2.4 ghz

What Operating System?
Windows 7 64-bit


Hope he didn't hit you to hard for the 8800's.
Why do they suck?
Depends what you want to do with them. They are a bit dated at this point.
They also tend to run hot and heavy on power drain.

Do you have the SLI bridge attaching the two cards? There should be a small, plastic "bridge", between both cards.
Like this:

http://www.google.com/imgres?q=sli+...88&start=30&ndsp=36&ved=1t:429,r:4,s:30,i:149

I would take one card out and boot the system with one card at a time.. Just to make sure both cards are functioning properly.
 

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#6
Yes there is an SLI bridge.

I just want to play diablo 3 :( do you think running just one of them versus the getting the second running will be a large difference?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#7
Yes it would be a large difference. I just want to make sure they both work. Did you do something, then after you did that, they stopped working? Have they ever worked for you? If not, I'd contact the guy.

Check in device manager to see if there is a device conflict or error mesage.
Start/control panel/ system and security/ device manager.
Any yellow exclamation marks you see in there? See what they say if so.

Also the 8 series, does not support dx 11. So you won't be able to use any of those features.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#8
What type of Motherboard you got?
It may not support SLI?
 

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#9
Dude I think I just blew it. I was already at device manager, under advanced - it showed two line for my two cards - one of them working fine and the other with an exclamation mark.

I went to advanced for the second and it says this device is not working properly. I thought it would be a good idea to uninstall it and reinstall it. Apparently uninstall went ahead and uninstalled both cards. Now my resolution on my 22 inch is like 540x480 (kind of funny looking).

While I figure out the reinstall, yes there is a "Code 43" windows error message on one of the cards.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#11
I think my motherboard is nforce 780i SLI..? thats what I can see through the casing
If that what is writing on the Mobo then you're fine it should works
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#12
I think my motherboard is nforce 780i SLI..? thats what I can see through the casing
Mobo is fine.. Reinstall the drivers. I posted the link you need to find your drivers up top. Just fill in the blanks, very easy..
Just test one card at a time..
I suspect one is dead..
Maybe not..
 

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#13
OKAY! back to normal, I got it back to the original place after fking everything up. Still, under my hardware one is displaying "Windows has stopped this device because it has reported problems. (Code 43)" and the other is "This device is working properly"
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#14
Mobo is fine.. Reinstall the drivers. I posted the link you need to find your drivers up top. Just fill in the blanks, very easy..
Just test one card at a time..
I suspect one is dead..
Maybe not..
Yeah! either one is bad or your PSU is not strong enough for both cards , maybe?

What is your PSU?
 

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#15
Mobo is fine.. Reinstall the drivers. I posted the link you need to find your drivers up top. Just fill in the blanks, very easy..
Just test one card at a time..
I suspect one is dead..
Maybe not..
I think you might be right about one being dead.

I'm pretty apprehensive about pulling one out, is there any other way to test them individually?
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#18
You should probably pull them out and try individually. Did you just buy this PC? Hopefully you didn't pay a lot as this PC is probably a good 3-5 years old.

GeForce 8 through 200 cards had solder problems that prematurely killed the cards. Wouldn't surprise me if the guy pawned off his PC on you with dying cards.
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2009
Messages
1,528 (0.49/day)
Likes
324
Location
Canada/Québec/Montreal
System Name Main PC
Processor PII 925 @3.724GHz (266x14) 1.525v NB 2660 1.425v
Motherboard Gigabyte AM3 GA-890XA-UD3 (790x+SB850)
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2 rev.B
Memory Hyperx 8GB (2x4) 1600@1418 8-7-7-20-27-1t
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6850 Stock (Max Overclock 1030/1200)
Storage 1x1TB WD Green / 1x1TB Seagate
Display(s) LCD Samsung 24" 16:9
Case Cooler Master HAF 912
Audio Device(s) On-Board HD
Power Supply CM 750w GX |3.3v@25a|5v@25a|12v@60a
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Benchmark Scores later...
#19
Can you be more specific? Like total ram? Sorry, I just am not too familiar with the mechanics of a computer
It's a little square box in your Case with wires & a fan lol!
Should be a sticker on it with numbers & bran we need those ;)
 

Attachments

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#20
He probably did, I bought this in 2010 at the latest, maybe 2009. I paid 700 for it at the time. If I got robbed, so be it.

I'll probably end up trying them individually a little later today, if that is the case.

Think the driver update will mean anything? Perform a clean installation of them? Or is that all cosmetics and I am probably stopped by pure mechanics at this point?
 

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#21
It's a little square box in your Case with wires & a fan lol!
Should be a sticker on it with numbers & bran we need those ;)
Eh sorry I am so bad at this stuff. Would "Thermaltake" be my psu? Thermal take 850W is the one attached to the back/port area of the box and another thermaltake fan is directly pointed at the motherboard.

I sound like a child describing a salvador dali painting, sorry guys. I promise im rull smert in uther stufz
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.49/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#22
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#23
Not so bad if you bought it 2-3 years ago. I'm inclined to think the card might have died, but since you don't seem comfortable with computer hardware I'd probably try wiping and updating the drivers.

If you disable SLi and plug your monitor into the other card, does it display anything?
 

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#24
Hm, this may be an expedient answer - you talked about soldering problems with the cards..? I had heating problems with it about a year ago - I had to figure a bunch of stuff out and have someone reinstall some cooling devices. Do you think its possible the card died in that time? If so, then I'll just cut this hunt short.

How do I disable SLi? Yank it out? Somewhere in advanced system settings?
 

Willicus

New Member
Joined
May 11, 2012
Messages
17 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#25
Huh.. Under my Nvidia control panel, there seems to be no path for "set SLI configurations" under the 3d settings. (i saw a picture of the control panel with that slot and noticed it missing on mine). There is a "set physx configuration" but no SLI on the control panel.

Does that mean my sli bridge is not installed?