1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why is SLi not working?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Willicus, May 11, 2012.

  1. Willicus New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    oh nevermind, its just because one of the cards isn't detected. Yeah i think the card is just super dead. Thanks for all of the help all.
     
  2. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,995 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,655
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I should have remembered, the second card has an error in Device Manager so SLi can't work to begin with.

    I would personally yank them out if you can and try each one in the first PCIe slot. Shut down your PC, flip the power switch on the back of the Thermaltake PSU to "off" but leave it plugged into the wall (keeps the system grounded). Carefully unplug and remove both cards, and insert the card that the monitor was not plugged into first. If that card does not work, or works in Windows but crashes in games, but the other one by itself exhibits no issues, then your card is probably dead.

    That's really the easiest way to find out if it's broken or not. I had 2 9800 GTs, one I bought new in early 2009 and one used from 2008. The new one died by the end of 2009 and the used one died in early 2010, so many of these cards can have shorter lifespans than normal. I still have a 7800 GS and a GeForce4 MX440 working after many years.

    Since you have an NVIDIA chipset based motherboard, that motherboard can even be subject to failure via the same issue.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,789 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    695
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    You "absolutely" need to yank the cards to test this.
    Pull them one at a time. First remove the bottom card only.
    Then test it with just the top card in.
    Then remove the top card and place the one that was out, in the top slot.

    I promise you it is extremely simple.
    Turn off the PC and unplug it.

    Open the case and look at it from the side. A screw should be attaching it to the case, remove that one screw.

    Put a light on the graphics card and at the top, front side, you'll see a tiny lever, that is holding it in place. That is the only thing holding in your graphics card now.
    The lever is part of the mobo pci slot.

    Push down on that lever and pull gently on the graphics card.
    It will slide out of the pci slot. Expect a little bit of resistance.

    Putting it back into place is simple. Just make sure you line up the gap.
    Push it into place firmly but gently, until it locks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Willicus New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Come back! It magically recognized my second video card... the D3 gods have spoken.

    Is there anything I need to do now, or do you assume that SLI will do its thing automatically?
     
  5. Willicus New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nevermind.. my computer froze, turned on and off a bunch of times, and now its not working once again. i felt the power for a brief moment..
     
  6. Slizzo

    Slizzo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    790 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    323
    Try reseating the cards in their PCI-E slots (remove both cards with PC powered off and unplugged from power, then reinsert both and give them a good shove when seated to ensure they're all the way in the slot) then re-seat the SLI bridge and boot up.


    Otherwise, the G92 GPU (that you have on those video cards) was known to have a manufacturing flaw. You probably just ran the course and it finally gave up.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)