• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why is this DDR2 AMD Only?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#1

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#2
i used my Intel extreme dominators in my AMD 965 rig the whole time and got better clocks than i do now. i think they just do it for marketing
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#3
I've been under the impression that it's marketing for a while but the page for the memory in the OP says it will only work with an AMD CPU.
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2009
Messages
644 (0.20/day)
Likes
129
System Name StealthX
Processor Intel i7 2700k
Motherboard Asus SABERTOOTH z77
Cooling Prolimatech Genesis
Memory CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 960 2GB black edition
Storage CORSAIR FORCE GT 120GB SSD + Samsung Spinpoint F3 (1TB + 2 x 500GB)
Display(s) Acer G235H 23" (1920 x 1080)
Case Silverstone Raven RV02
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Seasonic x650 GOLD
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#4
i used my Intel extreme dominators in my AMD 965 rig the whole time and got better clocks than i do now. i think they just do it for marketing
+1 ... its pure marketing ... i've seen a lot of SLI/crossfire labeled RAMs .. they work on all motherboards that support DDR2 with matching speed/specs ...
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#5
yea AFW, I had a set of OCZ SLI DDR2-800 set and it would work on any board i put it in. just a marketing hype
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#6
That seems to make sense since the DDR2 and DDR3 standards are developed independently (not by AMD or Intel) but I wondered if there was some issue with different memory controllers.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#7
That seems to make sense since the DDR2 and DDR3 standards are developed independently (not by AMD or Intel) but I wondered if there was some issue with different memory controllers.
Shouldnt be unless its a voltage issue.

like my Intel Extreme dominators are rated for 1.9v instead of the X58 platforms 1.65v max

so you see it wouldnt be cool to run these at full potential.

I run them at about 1200+ @ 1.65v
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#8
I do beleive there is something with AM2, and the bits it can address...I seem to recall something about an additional 8-bits than can be addressed that Intel cannot...I'll see if i can find all the info...

144-bit DDR2 SDRAM controller operating at frequencies up to 533 MHz
With 11 column address bit support by the AM2 memory controller, the number of addresses in each row or page can be as high as 2048 individual entries for a page size of 16kbit. Unlike modules based on standard 10-bit column address chips with an "8k" page size, the new Titanium AM2 Special modules take advantage of the AM2 controller's feature set and provide a single rank solution with 2GB density using 16k pages. This allows the controller to stay in page twice as long compared to standard memory architectures, thereby achieving unparalleled performance.
http://www.ocztechnology.com/products/memory/ocz_ddr2_pc2_5400_am2_special_high_density_kit-eol
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#9
Thanks cadaveca. So does that mean that modules like that can't even be used (in "regular" mode) by non-AM2 memory controllers?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#10
Possibly. I don't know if this memory is as that OCZ stuff is...mushkin has some of this "extra address" ram as well, and I'm fairly certain Corsair does too.

That just popped into my head as soon as I saw the thread title...only reason that I can think of why it would only be good for AM2..
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#11
Looking over at the Mushkin support thread, they have replied not to use i5/i7 ram for AMD. They never got into specifics, but I assume they advise against it for a reason versus making money selling you that kit;)

Could be as simple as the wrong sub-timings, but I bet cadaveca's addressing comment plays into it as well.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
868 (0.30/day)
Likes
160
Location
Toronto, ON. Canada
System Name Gamers PC
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965 BE @ 3.80 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 AM3
Cooling Corsair H50 Cooler
Memory Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2GB) DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2 x WD Caviar Green 1TB SATA300 w/64MB Buffer (RAID 0)
Display(s) Samsung 2494SW 1080p 24" WS LCD HD
Case CM HAF 932 Full Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI TITANIUM -PCIE x 1
Power Supply Corsair TX Series CMPSU-650TX (650W)
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#12
They are calling it AMD DDR2 memory because AMD stuck with DDR2 for a long while where as Intel switched to DDR3. If it wasn't for AMD sticking it out with DDR2, it would have died off fast just like DDR has. Now what AMD is with DDR3, we will see DDR2 die off soon after.
IMO
 
Joined
May 19, 2009
Messages
1,088 (0.35/day)
Likes
232
Location
Latvia
System Name Personal \\ Work - HP EliteBook 840 G1
Processor i7-4790K \\ i7-4600U
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 7
Cooling Intel stock for now
Memory Corsair Vengeance Pro 32GB 2400 MHz \\ 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) ASUS 290X DirectCU II OC \\ Intel 4400 HD
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB, WD Black 2 TB \\ Micron 256GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ XL2411Z \\ FullHD + 2x HP ZR2440w external screens via docking station
Case Fractal Design Define Arc Midi R2 with window
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 with Logitech Z323
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Software Windows 10
#13
Since RAM is made by unified standarts some products not working on Intel or AMD mobo will mean deviation from them. I doubt someone will realy make such RAM. Marketing hype is something other, of course, there you can write all kinds of BS... :D
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2008
Messages
2,184 (0.64/day)
Likes
1,027
Location
Minnesota, USA
System Name TIGRAlpha4
Processor i5 750 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard ASRock P55 Deluxe
Cooling S1283 + FFB1212VHE
Memory 16GB DDR3 1800, 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) 560 Ti
Storage 128GB Kingston SSD + 16TB RAID 6
Display(s) Dell P1130 + Samsung 275T
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Power Supply Silverstone OP1000-E
#14
Deviation from RAM standards is the status quo though, as we often see in voltages and timings.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2015
Messages
2 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#15
This is an old thread, but there is a serious lack of concrete answers to this question.....so please read on before slam-dunking this post

I too have come across ddr2 ram labelled as AMD....and there seems to be a lot of ambiguity about what works where....

So a bit of research was the order of the day.

See section 5 of this excellent article http://www.ocfreaks.com/ram-overclocking-guide-tutorial...

To summarize:

1) An industry standard DDR2 module must ship with an SPD chip to be compliant. (SPD = serial presence detect)

2) The SPD chip contains JEDEC information which identifies the RAM module to the PC bios .

3) The SPD chip may also include additional information to help the BIOS configure optimal memory settings.

4) Intel call this extra information XMP

5) AMD call this extra information EPP

6) If the PC bios cannot understand EPP or XMP is falls back to the JEDEC information.

7) All PC bios systems can understand JEDEC, irrespective of what other config data is on the SPD chip.

7) So, an industry standard DDR2 module could in theory contain JEDEC, XMP and EPP configuration data.

8) Which means (in theory) any DDR2 PC bios can at least recognize the installed DDR2 module. (compatible ram timings or not)

9) It is an entirely separate issue if the RAM module timing specs are incompatible.(i.e. CL4 RAM in a "CL6 only" PC)

Example 1:

I own an Intel PC that needs CL5 ram modules. I purchase an "AMD" CL5 ram module and install it. BIOS cannot read the AMD EPP info on the SPD but can recognize the CL5 timing info in the JEDEC data table. PC BIOS auto configures for the AMD ram module and boots normally.

Example 2:

I own an AMD PC that needs CL6 ram modules. I purchase an "INTEL" CL6 ram module and install it. BIOS cannot read the INTEL XMP info on the SPD but can recognize the CL6 timing info in JEDEC data table. PC BIOS auto configures for the AMD ram module and boots normally.

Example 3:

I own an INTEL PC that needs CL6 ram modules. I purchase an "AMD" CL4 ram module and install it. INTEL BIOS cannot read the AMD EPP info on the SPD but can recognize the CL4 timing info in JEDEC data table. PC BIOS recognizes module timings as incompatible and refuses to boot.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#16
Could you not necro threads?
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
50 (0.03/day)
Likes
17
System Name No Idea
Processor Core i7 6800K
Motherboard Asus Strix X99 Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400Mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GeForce Titan X
Storage SSD 256G x2 + 1TB MHDD
Display(s) DELL U2312HM 23"IPS x2
Case RUSTY Case
Power Supply CORSAIR RM750
Mouse Old Microsoft mouse
Keyboard Cherry G80-3000 Red
Software Windows10 64bit
#18
As i understand, those AMD only memory use memory chips recycled from some Ram that use on workstations, the DRAM standard is different, so it wont work on Intel CPUs. However, seems AMD build their CPUs with some workstation CPU tech, so they can use those Ram that build from workstation Ram chips. they often come with lower prize. And DDR3 also have some Ram use only on AMD CPUs(AM3 only, not AM3+), and they wont work on AMD's APUs. Those memory are often seen in China.
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
9,950 (2.25/day)
Likes
2,309
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
#19
Dear god its like you guys are breeding.


None of that is even close to true, do you get paid to post this shit?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,381 (1.96/day)
Likes
6,500
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#20
The actual issue here is whether the memory is high density (which AMD DDR2 era stuff could usually handle, intel not so much) or not.

This is what I was led to believe at any rate, I have not verified it.

That said someone get the necro out of here. /thread.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,381 (1.96/day)
Likes
6,500
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#22
Joined
Dec 18, 2008
Messages
1,833 (0.56/day)
Likes
523
System Name Computer
Processor 1700X
Motherboard CH6
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory G.Skill 32GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070
Storage 500GB Samsung 850 Evo Msata
Display(s) LG 23" IPS
Power Supply Seasonic 760 Platinum
Software Windows 8.1 64-Bit
#23
Necro again I think this thread needs closed
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,240 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,817
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#24
http://www.buy.com/retail/product.asp?sku=213570567&listingid=65261156

Just curious what it is that makes some memory AMD-only. I see other kits that say they're optimized for AM3 or i5 or i7 ... how much of it is marketing hype and what are the real compatibility issues for memory between AMD and Intel?
Why Bring Up questions about antiquated memory?

This just means it was Tested on that particular motherboard and is guaranteed to work with it, it could have AMP too.

I'm using DDR3 that is rated for 2133 at 1.6V and has 4 XMP profiles. Yet it is OC to 2400 with timings of 10-10-12-20-20 1T at 1.7V (be on safe side with tighter times). Look at my system specs.

I just caught it was a dead thread.

@DarthDigital your post has been reported for closure on this thread. Do not write in threads older than 1 week from the day you are on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.