• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

why is windows so slow these days

Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
41
Location
Raleigh, NC
#1
its so slow. it takes about 5 minutes for any computer to load yahoo, nevertheless this techpowerup forum. and it takes about two times longer for me to post anything new on this stuff.
 

Ehstii

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
607 (0.16/day)
Likes
33
Location
The Shore, New Jersey
System Name Betty
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz @ 3.16(weak i know, waiting on better HSF)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA69G-S3H AM2 690G HDMI
Cooling Standard heatsink
Memory A-DATA 2GB(2x1GB dual channel) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 7900GS 256MB
Storage 2x250GB Seagate SataII, 2x250GB Maxtor SataII, 1x120GB Maxtor SataII
Display(s) 22" Widescreen Acer LCD Flat Panel Monitor
Case AMS CF-6129BKS Black w/Silver bezel Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Rosewill RP550-2-S ATX12V v2.01 550W Power Supply
Software Windows XP SP2, Adobe Master Collection CS3, WoW, COD4, Cubase LE, Office 2007, Bit Comet, & more...
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 4710
#2
uhh, windows has nothing to do with the speed of your internet.

try a diferent ISP or pay more with your current ISP for faster speeds.
 

bruins004

New Member
Joined
Sep 27, 2005
Messages
2,479 (0.55/day)
Likes
74
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3200+ (939)
Motherboard MSI Neo K8n Neo4-F with Nforce 4
Cooling ThermalTake Venus12 + 3 case fans + PCI slot cooler for GPU
Memory 2x 512mb Kingston PC-3200
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7800GT
Storage Western Digital 160GB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2025WM
Case Logisys Dracula Case (Black)
Audio Device(s) Onboard Sound, Logitech X-530 Surround Sound Speakers
Power Supply OCZ PowerStream 520W
Software Window XP Pro, Office Suite, Tons of Games
#3
its so slow. it takes about 5 minutes for any computer to load yahoo, nevertheless this techpowerup forum. and it takes about two times longer for me to post anything new on this stuff.
You never know it could also be a Trojan or some adware on your computer.
Do a scan using Sbybot or Adaware
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
2,570 (0.65/day)
Likes
92
Location
Ohio
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Black Edition
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA770-DS3
Cooling Tuniq Tower 120 (with Scythe SFF21E)
Memory 2x1GB Corsair XMS2 DDR2-800 CAS4 DHX
Video Card(s) PALiT 9800GTX 512MB PCI-E
Storage WD2500AAKS, WD1600YS, WD1200JD, WD400EB
Display(s) LG L1920P, Viewsonic VA520
Case Lian-Li A05b (with two 120mm Yate Loon D12SM)
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Vista Business 32-bit/XP Pro 32-bit dual-boot
#4
Why are threads so vague these days? And in the wrong subforum.
 

Ehstii

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
607 (0.16/day)
Likes
33
Location
The Shore, New Jersey
System Name Betty
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz @ 3.16(weak i know, waiting on better HSF)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA69G-S3H AM2 690G HDMI
Cooling Standard heatsink
Memory A-DATA 2GB(2x1GB dual channel) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 7900GS 256MB
Storage 2x250GB Seagate SataII, 2x250GB Maxtor SataII, 1x120GB Maxtor SataII
Display(s) 22" Widescreen Acer LCD Flat Panel Monitor
Case AMS CF-6129BKS Black w/Silver bezel Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Rosewill RP550-2-S ATX12V v2.01 550W Power Supply
Software Windows XP SP2, Adobe Master Collection CS3, WoW, COD4, Cubase LE, Office 2007, Bit Comet, & more...
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 4710
#5
run some scans.

or reformat and see if it makes a diference.

if it does, then its not your ISP.
 

3991vhtes

New Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2007
Messages
2,785 (0.71/day)
Likes
107
Location
My house.
Processor AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice 2.4GHz
Motherboard ASUS A8V-VM SE
Cooling Stock
Memory 1GB DDR400
Video Card(s) DiamondViper Radeon X1650PRO 512MB PCI-e
Storage Seagate 250GB SATA
Display(s) Acer AL2002W 20" LCD Widescreen
Case cheap
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster
Power Supply 500 watt
Software Vista Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 4.1 Vista index
#6
my windows isn't slow. my yahoo! messenger takes about 10 seconds, and it takes a total time of 45 seconds to boot. what are your system specs?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
41
Location
Raleigh, NC
#7
watcha mean? its regular charter, not special in any way. my dad has a wireless router that connects his computer to the internet. my router that connects me to the internet works best if the whole cable is loaded directly into the router. my friends think that something in between the base lines and my house is malfunctioning... so far the service will be free if they dont come into my house. if they come in, it will cost quite a bit of money. but the router sometimes starts blinking simultaneously, which, im supposing means that the internet is completely off. everyonce in a while, all but one of the lights will go off. my dad's router always becomes solid, but the two endlights are supposed to be blinking all the time. i have also reformatted at least fifteen times within the past week or so. there are no trojans or spybots, otherwise my computer will immediately seek and destroy. i added a bit of my custom spyware that goes through my own computer and cleans out anything that is stray or unclean. my computer is also set to run scans everytime i turn the computer on.
 
Last edited:

Oliver_FF

New Member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
544 (0.13/day)
Likes
65
Processor Intel q9400 @ stock
Motherboard Lanparty P45-T2RS
Cooling Zalman CNPS-9500
Memory 8GB OCZ PC2-6400
Video Card(s) BFG Nvidia GTX285 OC
Storage 1TB, 500GB, 500GB
Display(s) 20" Samsung T200HD
Case Antec Mini P180
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
Power Supply 700w Hiper
Software Ubuntu x64 virtualising Vista
#8
have you tried borrowing your dads router? it's not unheard of for a router to die, especially a cheap tacky one :p
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,377 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,786
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#9
my windows isn't slow. my yahoo! messenger takes about 10 seconds, and it takes a total time of 45 seconds to boot. what are your system specs?
Probably yahoo and all there added BS lol. Use a 3rd party or some thing hehe.

You could try 3D Traceroute that will show you were the bad server(s) are.
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.89/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#10
watcha mean? its regular charter, not special in any way. my dad has a wireless router that connects his computer to the internet. my router that connects me to the internet works best if the whole cable is loaded directly into the router. my friends think that something in between the base lines and my house is malfunctioning... so far the service will be free if they dont come into my house. if they come in, it will cost quite a bit of money. but the router sometimes starts blinking simultaneously, which, im supposing means that the internet is completely off. everyonce in a while, all but one of the lights will go off. my dad's router always becomes solid, but the two endlights are supposed to be blinking all the time. i have also reformatted at least fifteen times within the past week or so. there are no trojans or spybots, otherwise my computer will immediately seek and destroy. i added a bit of my custom spyware that goes through my own computer and cleans out anything that is stray or unclean. my computer is also set to run scans everytime i turn the computer on.
Well the scan is why it takes so long to boot. Don't do that. And you never answered our question about your hardware. What are your hardware specs? If you're trying to run XP SP2 on a 500Mhz PIII with 128MB of SDRAM, it's gonna be slow no matter what you do.
 
Joined
Jun 4, 2007
Messages
1,050 (0.27/day)
Likes
114
Location
indiana
Processor c2d e8400@ 3.8ghz 24/7
Motherboard Abit IP-35e 80$ lol
Cooling zalman cnps9700 led
Memory 2 x 2 gig patriot viper
Video Card(s) evga Gtx 285 oc
Storage 2 x 300gig sata seagate 7200.10 in raid 0/ 1.5TB for backup
Display(s) acer 24" TFT LCD AL2416WBSD
Case Antec 902
Audio Device(s) XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro series
Power Supply ocz gamextreme 700w
Software windows 7 ultimate
#11

JacKz5o

New Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
477 (0.12/day)
Likes
99
Location
New Jersey
Processor Intel Q6600 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard XFX nForce 780i
Cooling Ultra 120 eXtreme (lapped)
Memory 4GB G.Skill PC2-8000 PQ
Video Card(s) eVGA GeForce 9800GTX
Storage 640GB + 250GB + 2x500GB (external)
Display(s) Samsung 216BW 21.6"
Case CoolerMaster Cosmos S
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W Silencer
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
#12
Could it be your internet thats slow? Definitely try scanning for some spyware, AdAware and SpyBot are the best. Make sure to get a firewall too if you don't have one currently. ZoneAlarm has some free firewalls that work pretty well.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,162 (3.86/day)
Likes
1,419
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
#14
reinstall time
 

d44ve

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2007
Messages
2,520 (0.64/day)
Likes
299
Processor Intel E6600 @ 4.2GHZ Wo0t!
Motherboard ASUS Striker Extreme & eVGA 680i A1
Cooling Phase Change !!
Memory OCZ SLI 1066MHZ (2GB)
Video Card(s) EVGA 8800 GTX
Storage Western Digital 320 GB
Case Antec 900
Power Supply Lian-Li V2000
Software Vista Ultimate
#15
watcha mean? its regular charter, not special in any way. my dad has a wireless router that connects his computer to the internet. my router that connects me to the internet works best if the whole cable is loaded directly into the router. my friends think that something in between the base lines and my house is malfunctioning... so far the service will be free if they dont come into my house. if they come in, it will cost quite a bit of money. but the router sometimes starts blinking simultaneously, which, im supposing means that the internet is completely off. everyonce in a while, all but one of the lights will go off. my dad's router always becomes solid, but the two endlights are supposed to be blinking all the time. i have also reformatted at least fifteen times within the past week or so. there are no trojans or spybots, otherwise my computer will immediately seek and destroy. i added a bit of my custom spyware that goes through my own computer and cleans out anything that is stray or unclean. my computer is also set to run scans everytime i turn the computer on.




Wow... it took you almost 3 months to reply to your original thread!??!?!

That is a slow computer! :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
41
Location
Raleigh, NC
#16
oh crap.
read this:

http://www.americanchronicle.com/articles/viewArticle.asp?articleID=12963

Spyware can:

1. Monitor your keystrokes for reporting purposes.

2. Scan files located on your hard drive.

3. Snoop through applications on our desktop.

4. Install other spyware programs into your computer.

5. Read your cookies.

6. Steal credit card numbers, passwords, and other personal information.

7. Change the default settings on your home page web browser.

8. Mutate into a second generation of spyware thus making it more difficult to eradicate.

9. Cause your computer to run slower.

10. Deliver annoying pop up advertisements.

11. Add advertising links to web pages for which the author does not get paid. Instead, payment is directed to the spyware programmer that changed the original affiliate’s settings.

12. Provide the user with no uninstall option and places itself in unexpected or hidden places within your computer making it difficult to remove.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,377 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,786
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#17
oh crap.
read this:

http://www.americanchronicle.com/articles/viewArticle.asp?articleID=12963

Spyware can:

1. Monitor your keystrokes for reporting purposes.

2. Scan files located on your hard drive.

3. Snoop through applications on our desktop.

4. Install other spyware programs into your computer.

5. Read your cookies.

6. Steal credit card numbers, passwords, and other personal information.

7. Change the default settings on your home page web browser.

8. Mutate into a second generation of spyware thus making it more difficult to eradicate.

9. Cause your computer to run slower.

10. Deliver annoying pop up advertisements.

11. Add advertising links to web pages for which the author does not get paid. Instead, payment is directed to the spyware programmer that changed the original affiliate’s settings.

12. Provide the user with no uninstall option and places itself in unexpected or hidden places within your computer making it difficult to remove.
You been living under a rock ?.

You could try using a differant browser like firefox Mozilla SeaMonkey All so in stall Ad-aware S&D Search and Distroy and System machanic for a default windows spyware which the other 2 don't see.

Get rid off yahoo and reinstal;l it with out all it's rubbish that is more likley to help too.
 
B

bassmasta

Guest
#18
i've found that some of the new windows updates have cut my internet connection's speed in half. it's a driver conflict, but you should look into it.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,830 (1.00/day)
Likes
281
Location
Netherlands
System Name HP z800 workstation
Processor Intel Xeon X5687 3,60ghz 12mb cache x2
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case HP z800 workstation case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP z800 1100 watt
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15601
#19
or get some more ram if every thing is slow...
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
41
Location
Raleigh, NC
#20
i found out that my dad's internet has to be disconnected in order for my internet to work at all. and my computer has to be directly connected to the tv cable. my dad's internet doesnt work ninety percent of the time even if it is hooked up. so what is going on?
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
41
Location
Raleigh, NC
#21
well, i've found out two reasons why. first of all, my computer is always on hibernate or standby, which considerably slows down the computer, then the second thing is that the receiver is getting old a crappy and slow.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2007
Messages
3,830 (1.00/day)
Likes
281
Location
Netherlands
System Name HP z800 workstation
Processor Intel Xeon X5687 3,60ghz 12mb cache x2
Motherboard HP Z800
Cooling all on air
Memory 24gb ecc ram 1333mhz
Video Card(s) sapphire pulse RX 580 8gb
Storage 300gb harddisk and 1tb harddisk 128gb ssd OS 160gb pci-e ssd Fusion io drive
Display(s) Acer KA210HQ
Case HP z800 workstation case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply HP z800 1100 watt
Mouse Drakonia Black
Keyboard Xtrust nameless?
Software Windows 7 ultimate 64bit, Luxion Keyshot 5, 3ds max 2016, fusion 360
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 11 p15601
#23
Buy a new computer ! lol
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
2,576 (0.64/day)
Likes
510
Processor Mysterious Engineering Prototype
Motherboard Intel 865
Cooling Custom block made in workshop
Memory Corsair XMS 2GB
Video Card(s) FireGL X3-256
Display(s) 1600x1200 SyncMaster x 2 = 3200x1200
Software Windows 2003
#24
Whois syker? Seems like a friendly guy...
 

syker

New Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
83 (0.02/day)
Likes
2
#25
Syker was a Civil War general. i dont remember exactly, but i think he was a union general. he helped defeat general lee's troops with general ulysses s. grant at... i think it was Pickett's Charge. very smart general. too bad that history has nearly deleted him from the text books.