• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why would my UPS turn off while under minimal load?

Joined
Dec 12, 2018
Messages
1 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
#1
I have a Cyberpower UPS model BRG1500AVRLCD, 900 watts. Currently I have my desktop, monitor, and Router (TpLink AC3150, 60 watts) plugged into this. With my desktop, monitor and Router running my UPS has an estimated run time of 70 minutes. I have fiber based internet with it's own battery that lasts about 24 hours and doesn't require constant building power. Not too long ago we had a blackout that lasted several hours. My desktop and monitor were turned off and only the Router was running.

The router would run for about 20 minutes and then the UPS would shut down. The front screen said it had an estimated run time of 120 minutes, but would shut down after about 20. I could restart it and it would run fine for right at about 20-25 minutes again before shutting off. It seemed, although I didn't do actual testing, that if I was loading pages or streaming something it seemed to delay the shutdown. So it seemed like the UPS was shutting down when there was only a tiny power draw but not when it had an actual power load.

The Cyberpower web site doesn't mention anything and google only returns 20 pages of people asking why their UPS is beeping. I have the Powerpanel software installed and I don't see any settings that could effect this behavior. Any ideas why the UPS would shut off despite having plenty of power left and is there a way to stop this?
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
10,459 (2.51/day)
Likes
9,437
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i9 9900k
Motherboard ASRock Z390 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) LG 32GK850G-B 1440p 32" AMVA Panel G-Sync 144hz Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Transluscent Keycaps
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSext/TS: FSext 10770:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/17394505 TS 8140:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/5371816
#3
It probably can't detect a load that low, and shuts down to attempt to preserve the battery.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,992 (2.67/day)
Likes
6,228
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
#4
I know my Cyberpower UPS has two options to set. Shut off after running for XX minutes and shut off with xx minutes remaining. It's a 1000PFCLCD from about 3 years ago iirc.

What are your settings in the CyberPower PowerPanel?

I'd suggest performing some more testing too, pull the power from the wall and do a rundown test with different loads (router only, router + PC + monitor, PC + monitor). Do they all exhibit the same results that you're reporting here?

I've seen more UPSes stay on in the event of a low load with no wall power rather than turn off, unless they were configured to do so or had a circuitry or battery cell issue. Those usually exhibit different symptoms as well. I suggest starting with verifying how PowerPanel is configured and load testing via software and manually.

How old is this unit? May still be under warranty. Says 5-year warranty here: https://www.cyberpowersystems.com/product/ups/brg1500avrlcd/
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
23,860 (6.36/day)
Likes
12,996
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos 12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
1) Verify that everything is plugged in correctly. By that, I mean battery stuff in battery outlets and non-battery stuff into surge outlets.
2) Do you have CyberPower PowerPanel installed on the computer? If you do, it can be telling the UPS to go off after x minutes without power. By default, that's two minutes. Check its settings.
3) Most CyberPower UPSs have two separate circuits: battery which is controlled by the power switch and surge which is always on (uneffected by the power switch).
4) The time estimate is only accurate while there is no mains power and it is drawing on the battery. 20 minutes may be all the charge it's good for. Hard to say.
5) That particular UPS is a simulated square sine wave UPS. It's possible that the transformer for the router decided to turn off for some reason because of that (overheated, inadeuqate power, hard to say).
6) AFAIK that UPS doesn't have any kind of power saving sensing. Either it's on or it is off.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2017
Messages
134 (0.26/day)
Likes
47
Location
Russia
Processor FX 8320 @4.2 | i7 2600 @3.8 | Xeon W3670 @ 3.6
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth R2.0 | Asus P8Z77-V Deluxe | Gigabyte X58-UD7
Cooling Zalman Performa 10+ | Zalman Performa 11+ | Zalman Performa 10+
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport XT 32GB @ 1866 | Corsair Vengeance 32GB @1866 | Samsung 24GB @ 1600
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 390x | Zotac GTX 1070 AMP Extreme | Zotac GTX 980 AMP Extreme
Storage Intel SSD / SAS 15k Fujitsu | Intel SSD / Velociraptors / Hitachi 2TB | Intel SSD / Samsung 1TB
Display(s) Samsung 245T | HP ZR30w | IBM 20" 4x3
Case Chieftec | Corsair Graphite 600T | Thermaltake Xaser IV
Audio Device(s) SB Titanium HD | SB Titanium HD | SB X-fi Elite Pro
Power Supply Thermaltake 875W | Corsair 850W | Thermaltake 1500W
Mouse Logitech | Logitech | Logitech
Keyboard Mitsumi Classic | Microsoft |Microsoft
Software W7 x64 | W7 x64 |W7 x64 / XP x32
#6
Just replace batteries, they already damaged.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
23,860 (6.36/day)
Likes
12,996
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos 12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#7
Could be a manufacturing defect with the batteries, yeah. Usually if it is a dead cell, it's pretty consistent when it goes off relative to estimated time remaining. PowerPanel has a battery self test option if you haven't tried that yet.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
4,897 (1.07/day)
Likes
3,263
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
#8
First, kudos for using a decent UPS. I wish every user would use them.

How old is this UPS - or rather, how old are the batteries? They generally have to be replaced every 3 - 5 years. Some times, they will last longer if not heavily used frequently.

Also, get a AC Outlet Tester to ensure your outlet is properly wired and grounded. I recommend one with a GFCI (ground fault circuit interrupt) indicator as it can be used to test bathroom and kitchen outlets (outlets near water) too. These testers can be found for your type and voltage outlet, foreign or domestic, (like this one for the UK) at most home improvement stores, or even the electrical department at Wal-Mart. Use it to test all the outlets in the home and if a fault is shown, have it fixed by a qualified electrician.

Many UPS will shutdown if not properly grounded.

Also, if there is a fault in the connected components, (the PC's PSU, for example) any good UPS will shut down to protect itself, and the other connected devices.

FTR, I never, as in NEVER EVER buy replacement batteries from the UPS maker. They always cost way too much. I always shop around and buy my UPS batteries from Apex, BatteryWholesale, Battery Mart, or Batteryplex, or Amazon depending on who has the best price at the time (factoring in shipping, which can be significant, but sometimes free).

For example, the 6 year old ( :)) old batteries I had in my APC SmartUPS I got last time from Battery Mart finally died a few weeks ago. APC wanted over $100 for the replacement cells, plus $20 for shipping. But as seen here, I was able to get 4 new cells for less than half of that. In many cases, I have peeled off the APC, Cyberpower, or Tripplite lables on the original batteries to see they are the exact same batteries as found at these outlets. APC, Cyberpower, Tripplite are UPS makers, not battery makers.

I have never been disappointed using 3rd party SLA batteries in the 25+ years I have used UPSs.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
4,796 (1.51/day)
Likes
2,062
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 500GB Samsung 850//2TB WD Black
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Windows Server 2012 x64 Standard
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
#9
You might need to do the following:

1)unplug everything from the UPS and unplug the UPS
2)removing the battery
3)hold down the power button for 30 seconds.
4)re-insert the battery
5)power the UPS on with it unplugged from the wall, pay attention to the beep codes and check what they mean
6)if it's all good then plug everything back in.
 
Top