• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will a Corsair 1600 Watt power supply rated for 200-240 Volts A.C. input work on 120 volts A.C.

Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,028 (4.67/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
I know what 3 phase is, but what is 2 phase?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
13,209 (4.76/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
I wouldn't expect any problem unless the situation was reversed, running a 120V PSU on 240V. :roll:
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,416 (4.71/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
You would need a dual phase outlet to run that psu, single phase is no go
Nah, no need for two phase.

I know what 3 phase is, but what is 2 phase?
Two ~120v phases running 180° apart. Most homes in the US are connected to 2 phase power, each phase provides 120v when connected to neutral. But you get 240v if you connect across the phases.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
816 (0.15/day)
Location
Hampton Roads
Processor Xeon 5650
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx1060
Storage small ssd
Display(s) Dell 2001F, BenQ short throw
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software Mint 19.2
Benchmark Scores not so fast...
You would need a dual phase outlet to run that psu, single phase is no go
Thats what I dont understand about two hots vs hot and neutral. I understand hot and neutral (black and white, respectively) give 120, two hots (black and red) give 220, and two hots and a neutral give 220 and 120 separately. So, if you give that PSU two hots, it will allow full output...otherwise, hobbled output?

Edit

I gurs wurt im asking is whats the difference between USA 220 and rest of world 220?
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,210 (3.25/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
I gurs wurt im asking is whats the difference between USA 220 and rest of world 220?
Only frequency: 60Hz USA, 50Hz most other places.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
17,711 (3.28/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB (4 x 16GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Micron E-Die, dual rank sticks)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE Mechanical KB w/ Cherry MX Green switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
You would need a dual phase outlet to run that psu, single phase is no go
Not really. A 15 amp single phase can just barely deliver around >1600W, but your pushing it pretty hard. And I doubt the cables included are of sufficient gauge for more than 1300W, as mentioned.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,416 (4.71/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I gurs wurt im asking is whats the difference between USA 220 and rest of world 220?
Most of the world uses a single phase 240v. So you have a single 240v wire and a neutral at 0v. Electricity is all about voltage differences. So if you connect a 240v wire to a 0v wire, you get 240v. If, for example, you had a 240v wire and neutral was actually at 15v for some reason, connecting them would give you 225v.

The US uses a split-phase(or two phase) 120v system. You have one phase at 120v, one phase at -120v, and a neutral at 0v. If you connect either one of the phases to neutral you get 120v. But if you connect one phase to the other you end up with 240v difference.

Obviously AC means the the phases are alternating. So the rest of the world the phase flips from 240v to -240v. In the US the phases flip between 120v and -120v, but they are always opposite of each other, so they is always 240v difference.

Only frequency: 60Hz USA, 50Hz most other places.
It's more than just frequency.

Not really. A 15 amp single phase can just barely deliver around >1600W, but your pushing it pretty hard. And I doubt the cables included are of sufficient gauge for more than 1300W, as mentioned.
Then there is the fact that 20A circuits exist.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
939 (0.35/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz screens
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
Thats what I dont understand about two hots vs hot and neutral. I understand hot and neutral (black and white, respectively) give 120, two hots (black and red) give 220, and two hots and a neutral give 220 and 120 separately. So, if you give that PSU two hots, it will allow full output...otherwise, hobbled output?

Edit

I gurs wurt im asking is whats the difference between USA 220 and rest of world 220?
the rest of the world is 240 v (single) phase to ground whereas the US is 240v phase to phase (180 degrees) which makes it sketchy that it would work. was told by a licensed electrician it wouldn't with a ATX PSU. sorta like a sine wave issue if i recall right,(?)
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,210 (3.25/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z (144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
17,711 (3.28/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard GIGABYTE X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory Crucial Ballistix 64GB (4 x 16GB) @ DDR4-3600 (Micron E-Die, dual rank sticks)
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova T2 Titanium 850W
Mouse Razer Deathadder v2
Keyboard WASD CODE Mechanical KB w/ Cherry MX Green switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
the rest of the world is 240 v (single) phase to ground whereas the US is 240v phase to phase (180 degrees) which makes it sketchy that it would work. was told by a licensed electrician it wouldn't with a ATX PSU. sorta like a sine wave issue if i recall right,(?)
Electrically the end result is the same as far as the PSU is concerned.

I ran several mining european psus this way back in the day off my USA dual phase, and compared it to standard 120v USA. Anyone remember my article?
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
939 (0.35/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz screens
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
Electrically the end result is the same as far as the PSU is concerned.

I ran several mining european psus this way back in the day off my USA dual phase, and compared it to standard 120v USA. Anyone remember my article?
well thank you. no kidding you're the first person i've heard/known that actually did it. (of course i'll take a frog's word for it, when has a frog ever lied?) i myself thought it possible until my aforementioned conversation.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
1,302 (4.70/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Crucial Ballistix c16 B-die 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 11Pro
It might be that the PSU can run 120v but if they labeled it as such they couldn't class it at that efficiency rating.

Either way testing or no testing I would still prefer to get direct confirmation from Corsair that way they cannot void the warranty in the event of failure.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,416 (4.71/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Available power?
No, the end result is basically the same as far as electrical devices are concerned, but how it is achieved is different. The US 240v doesn't have a neutral.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
1,302 (4.70/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Crucial Ballistix c16 B-die 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 11Pro
The US 240v doesn't have a neutral.
Wait what? How does that work alternating phases? Without a neutral there is no supply of electrons.
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2019
Messages
156 (0.17/day)
System Name A bomb
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Plus
Cooling Corsair H115i PRO + 4x Noiseblocker eLoop push-pull
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill TridentZ 3600MHz 19CL @ 16-20-20-36
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1060 3GB Gaming X
Storage Intel 660p 1TB QLC NVMe SSD (yeah, it's really that slow) + Seagate Exos 10TB HDD
Display(s) AOC C24G1 24" FullHD 144Hz VA
Case Phanteks P400S + P400A mesh panel + 2x140mm & 1x120mm be quiet! Shadow Wings 3 + 1x120mm Noctua NF-F
Audio Device(s) Corsair HS50
Power Supply Corsair RMx v2 (2018) 750W
Mouse Corsair Harpoon RGB Wireless in wired mode (wireless mode is bugged ...)
Keyboard A4Tech generic-ish membrane office keyboard (yikes)
Software Windows 10 x64 1909
Benchmark Scores OVER 9000
I wouldn't expect any problem unless the situation was reversed, running a 120V PSU on 240V. :roll:
Not now it works. There are 230V only PSUs for a reason. Lower voltage puts more stress because for the same power you need higher current. There are no 120V only PSUs, if it works in US then it's full range and works worldwide.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
1,302 (4.70/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Crucial Ballistix c16 B-die 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 11Pro
The US 240v doesn't have a neutral.
Just looked it up it does have a neutral plus two alternating phase 120v live wires so including a ground that would make us 240v a 4 wire system though I'm not sure how the 60hz would affect a PSU, frequency is important with motors but PSU's I'm not sure.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
939 (0.35/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz screens
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
Wait what? How does that work alternating phases? Without a neutral there is no supply of electrons.
each one takes turns being the other's neutral ever have to wire a 240v outlet for an appliance?
each phase being 180 so -180 +180 = 0 however the potential is still 240v.

what your'e talking above is for RV's:
figure_4.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
1,302 (4.70/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Crucial Ballistix c16 B-die 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 11Pro
each one takes turns being the other's neutral ever have to wire a 240v outlet for an appliance?
each phase being 180 so -180 +180 = 0 however the potential is still 240v.

what your'e talking above is for RV's:
View attachment 221554
Screenshot_20211020-104652.png

This makes more sense to me
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
35,885 (6.59/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,416 (4.71/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Wait what? How does that work alternating phases? Without a neutral there is no supply of electrons.
The electrons come from whichever phase is currently in the negative section of their sine wave.
Just looked it up it does have a neutral plus two alternating phase 120v live wires so including a ground that would make us 240v a 4 wire system though I'm not sure how the 60hz would affect a PSU, frequency is important with motors but PSU's I'm not sure.
The neutral is only there for devices that use both 240v and 120v(yes those exist). The neutral is actually for the 120v part of the device, and there are also devices that have no neutral at all just 3 pins on the plug, one pin for each 120v phase and one for ground. My electric cloths drier is 240v, for example, and has no neutral at all.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
35,885 (6.59/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Thats what I dont understand about two hots vs hot and neutral. I understand hot and neutral (black and white, respectively) give 120, two hots (black and red) give 220, and two hots and a neutral give 220 and 120 separately. So, if you give that PSU two hots, it will allow full output...otherwise, hobbled output?

Edit

I gurs wurt im asking is whats the difference between USA 220 and rest of world 220?
Yup only half output, you would need an outlet in a us home that can put out 208-250VAC (Reserved for Electric Dryers, Ovens, Microwaves, Air Conditioners, Electric Heaters).

It all deals with magnetic poles and their spacing.

2 phase is 180°- 2 waves being transmitted at 180° from eachother, 3 phase power is 120°, 4 phase is 90°, 6 phase is 60°. 8 phase is 45° Aka full circle or AC, AC is a full sinusodial wave, DC is half that.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
1,302 (4.70/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Crucial Ballistix c16 B-die 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 11Pro
Do I have to watch videos?

Im guessing it must work the same as 3wire delta just shocked me that you would use a phasor L1/L2 system in a home.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
35,885 (6.59/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Do I have to watch videos?

Im guessing it must work the same as 3wire delta just shocked me that you would use a phasor L1/L2 system in a home.
Its split phasing,homes here get 208-250VAC and then they shunt it with a neutral to get half of that.

Ive had to replace the main breaker in a home before (old n worn out), disconnected the Wattmeter to do it.

Ive had to hook generators directly into the breaker panel while having the main off during the 2021 South Freeze and then a Hurricane Last Month...
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
1,302 (4.70/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Crucial Ballistix c16 B-die 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 11Pro
So all homes are supplied with 240 phasor for cost saving and efficiency then it's split via neutral In the home so you lower efficiency and consume more power. Ok I understand now.
:laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,028 (4.67/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 11 Pro 64-bit
Two ~120v phases running 180° apart. Most homes in the US are connected to 2 phase power, each phase provides 120v when connected to neutral. But you get 240v if you connect across the phases.

Ah, so it looks exactly the same as single phase 240V

The split system is dangerous in that a bad connection can result in 120V appliances receiving more than 120V.

Power surge due to an open neutral wire. - Bing video

It is a way used to get 110V from 220V and is not done in the UK, so while in the US a bad neutral can result in a lot more than the working voltage (110V), a bad neutral in the UK will not give rise to more than the working voltage (240V).
 
Last edited:
Top