• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will a Corsair 1600 Watt power supply rated for 200-240 Volts A.C. input work on 120 volts A.C.

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
17,623 (3.22/day)
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K @ 4GHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB Corsair Vengeance Black DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080 SUPER Gaming X Trio
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Black 4TB | WD Blue 6TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG Strix XG27UQR (4K, 144Hz, G-SYNC compatible) | Asus MG28UQ (4K, 60Hz, FreeSync compatible)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair AX1600i
Mouse Microsoft Intellimouse Pro - Black Shadow
Keyboard Yes
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
No, the end result is basically the same as far as electrical devices are concerned, but how it is achieved is different. The US 240v doesn't have a neutral.
Oh yes, I saw a video on America's electrical system a little while ago and very interesting it was too. It showed how most homes actually had 240V power as a split phase, with the centre tap forming the neutral side. God help you if that centre tap wire breaks...

This is that video:

 
Joined
Jun 22, 2021
Messages
52 (0.10/day)
So i've asked Jon (Corsair PSU dept. head).
View attachment 221511
Hi, Thank you for clarifying this issue. At least it seems that I should be relatively safe in running this in Canada since I very much doubt my system will come close to running this power supply at its full potential. The original reason I wanted this was to have a healthy safety margin for the 18 core cpu I will be running.

Is the extra cable they supplied sufficient for 13A?
The extra cord for 120 volt is noticeably thicker than the 240 volt cord that came in the original box, of course I have no way of telling if just the insulation or the actual current carrying wires are thicker or not but I must assume they are.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,799 (4.46/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Oh yes, I saw a video on America's electrical system a little while ago and very interesting it was too. It showed how most homes actually had 240V power as a split phase, with the centre tap forming the neutral side. God help you if that centre tap wire breaks...

This is that video:


Unless you have devices that are good to 240V, but it would still blow all the surge protectors.

What I think of as split phase (Split-phase electric power - Wikipedia) some people seem to call 2 phase; I can see why, but it can be confusing. The original 240V is single phase and then split; real 2 phase is something different, and obsolete.

Two-phase electric power - Wikipedia

Technology can be complicated; guess that is why we have this forum.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
10,259 (1.72/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Only frequency: 60Hz USA, 50Hz most other places.
Huh? What do you mean "only frequency"?

60Hz is the only frequency used in the US but for sure, many other countries use 60Hz too. All of North America (Canada, Mexico, and the USA), most (I think all, actually) of South America including Brazil (the 5th most populous country in the world) use 60Hz. Saudi Arabia, South Korea, parts of Japan, and all of Taiwan do too - just to name some of the larger countries. There are many others.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,463 (4.57/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Ah, so it looks exactly the same as single phase 240V

The split system is dangerous in that a bad connection can result in 120V appliances receiving more than 120V.

Power surge due to an open neutral wire. - Bing video

It is a way used to get 110V from 220V and is not done in the UK, so while in the US a bad neutral can result in a lot more than the working voltage (110V), a bad neutral in the UK will not give rise to more than the working voltage (240V).
Yes, that is one of the many down sides.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
10,259 (1.72/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
It should be noted while there is the potential for a dangerous situation the way it is done in the US, it is extremely rare. I mean it is so rare, I have never heard of anyone getting accidentally zapped with that scenario. I am not saying it is not possible or that it never has happened. I am just saying it most likely was due to careless negligence by someone who had no business being anywhere near those exposed wires in the first place.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
466 (1.12/day)
Location
People's Republic of Banania
Processor R7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3733 (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GAMING X
Storage Crucial MX500 500 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic G225fB
Case Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z SE
Power Supply be quiet! Pure Power 11 700W
Keyboard IBM F122
Software I use Arch btw
most (I think all, actually) of South America including Brazil (the 5th most populous country in the world) use 60Hz.
Well, yes, and no. There's both 50 and 60 Hz mains because... reasons, there's also 127, 200, 220 and 240V, I was in Brazil once and they have both 127 and 220 volts at 50 or 60 Hz depending on the region/state, it's odd.

My country uses 50Hz because power was brought by the British in the early 20th century and they used 50, no reason to change it now. Voltage depends on the supplier, my town -and house- gets 240/400V but for instance the next town gets 220/380 because it's wired to a different local grid. Plugs and sockets are also different.

About the power supply... if Jon says it works it works, the guy designed it.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
10,259 (1.72/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
There's both 50 and 60 Hz mains because... reasons, there's also 127, 200, 220 and 240V,
I was going by this chart. There may be both, but the different voltages is not the reason why. The two (voltage and frequency) are not related.

The reasons are simple - grids were built years ago in different regions of the country. At the time, there were no national standards so each region built their own.

This happens a lot throughout history. Another common example is railroad gauge sizes. Railroads were built in one country or one region of country with this gauge, and other railroads where built in other areas using other gauges. The result for traveling through different regions is for passengers and cargo to physically move from one train running on one set of tracks, to another train on a different set of tracks.

And you are right about plugs and sockets. There are dozens of "standards" used around the world. :(
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,799 (4.46/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
About the power supply... if Jon says it works it works, the guy designed it.

Jon Gerow is a very talented guy, but he did not design it.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,463 (4.57/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Jon Gerow is a very talented guy, but he did not design it.
At the time the AX1600i was in development he was managing Corsair's PSU engineering department. He was literally in charge of the team that designing it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
37,699 (6.69/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
So all homes are supplied with 240 phasor for cost saving and efficiency then it's split via neutral In the home so you lower efficiency and consume more power. Ok I understand now.
:laugh:
No certain outlets get 120, others get 240, its for "safety"
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,799 (4.46/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
At the time the AX1600i was in development he was managing Corsair's PSU engineering department. He was literally in charge of the team that designing it.

I believe they modify existing designs.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.37/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
I believe they modify existing designs.
yes, OEM's will modify existing designs to suit the project manager's design but . . even w/o switching the OEM but the budget or price point changes . .
Although we honestly expected that the AX1600i would be just a small update of the AX1500i, that could not have been further from the truth. The AX1600i practically is an entirely new platform. The OEM of the power supply is Flextronics, the same company behind the AX1500i, but the AX1600i is drastically different.

aris's teardown for entertainment value:
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,680 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
So all homes are supplied with 240 phasor for cost saving and efficiency then it's split via neutral In the home so you lower efficiency and consume more power. Ok I understand now.
:laugh:
It's mostly because Tommy Edison terrified everyone of high voltage AC. 120V at the outlet was viewed as some sort of "safe compromise" from using idiotically inefficient DC.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
466 (1.12/day)
Location
People's Republic of Banania
Processor R7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3733 (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GAMING X
Storage Crucial MX500 500 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic G225fB
Case Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z SE
Power Supply be quiet! Pure Power 11 700W
Keyboard IBM F122
Software I use Arch btw
Jon Gerow is a very talented guy, but he did not design it.
At the time the AX1600i was in development he was managing Corsair's PSU engineering department. He was literally in charge of the team that designing it.
So Flextronics did?

One more thing, if the C14 inlet was designed for 10A at 240V wouldn't running the PSU at 120V be bad?

It's mostly because Tommy Edison terrified everyone of high voltage AC.
Heh. There's still a couple Edison wall sockets at home, with "deadly" high voltage AC. It's a cruel world.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
55,609 (8.38/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800x3D (Undervolted, 4.45GHz all core)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling Alphacool Apex UV - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3866 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V Hynix MJR - SoC 1.175V)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Underclocked to 1700Mhz 0.737v (375W down to 250W))
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 70Hz + Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Fractal Ion+ 2 860W (Platinum) (This thing is God-tier. Silent and TINY)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S + Quest 2
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS) OpenRGB - ditch the branded bloatware!
It's already been covered, but basically its a modern 100-250V capable PSU, but it's efficiency sub 200V didnt meet the 80+ standards they wanted to advertise it as
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,799 (4.46/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
One more thing, if the C14 inlet was designed for 10A at 240V wouldn't running the PSU at 120V be bad?

Doesn't it used a C20 connector?
 

Attachments

  • C20.jpg
    C20.jpg
    106.9 KB · Views: 26
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
466 (1.12/day)
Location
People's Republic of Banania
Processor R7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock X570 Phantom Gaming 4
Cooling be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3733 (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon RX 5700 XT 8GB GAMING X
Storage Crucial MX500 500 GB
Display(s) ViewSonic G225fB
Case Antec 302
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z SE
Power Supply be quiet! Pure Power 11 700W
Keyboard IBM F122
Software I use Arch btw
Doesn't it used a C20 connector?
Yeah but refer to #23, that confused me a bit, it says CP- units come either with C20 or 14 inlet, OP's unit is rated for 200-240, so it'd make sense if it had the C14... maybe I'm overthinking it.
 
Joined
Mar 21, 2021
Messages
2,799 (4.46/day)
Location
Colorado, U.S.A.
System Name HP Compaq 8000 Elite CMT
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550
Motherboard Hewlett-Packard 3647h
Memory 16GB DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030 GDDR5 (fan-less)
Storage 2TB Seagate Firecuda 3.5"
Display(s) Dell P2416D (2560 x 1440)
Power Supply 12V HP proprietary
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Nice catch; perhaps the OP can tell us what he has.

10A at 100V and including inefficiencies would mean maybe 800-900W; almost half the rated value.
 

Attachments

  • Jon Gerow.png
    Jon Gerow.png
    129.1 KB · Views: 18
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,463 (4.57/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
It's mostly because Tommy Edison terrified everyone of high voltage AC. 120V at the outlet was viewed as some sort of "safe compromise" from using idiotically inefficient DC.
Topsy the elephant would like a word.

So Flextronics did?
Flextronics built it. Corsair designed and specced put the platform.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,680 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,463 (4.57/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
18,680 (3.34/day)
System Name Pioneer
Processor Ryzen R9 5950X
Motherboard EVGA X570 FTW Wifi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (4 x 8GB SR Samsung B-Die) @ DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce RTX 3090 Ti FTW3
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 2TB PCIe 4.0 NVMe SSDs
Display(s) 55" LG 55" B9 OLED 4K Display
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) TOSLINK->Schiit Modi MB->Asgard 2 DAC Amp->AKG Pro K712 Headphones or HDMI->B9 OLED
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850W T2
Mouse Steelseries Prime Wireless
Keyboard WASD CODE v3 Keyboard with MX Cherry Green Switches
Software Windows 11 Enterprise (yes, it's legit)
And some are even 20A.
should've said "at least."

But that was Edison saying "look how dangerous AC is".
Indeed. My point. Edison also botched the execution of a human with AC current. He was more into making dramatic shows there than actually having a point.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 27, 2015
Messages
1,065 (0.37/day)
System Name loon v4.0
Processor i7-11700K
Motherboard asus Z590TUF+wifi
Cooling Custom Loop
Memory ballistix 3600 cl16
Video Card(s) eVga 3060 xc
Storage WD sn570 1tb(nvme) SanDisk ultra 2tb(sata)
Display(s) cheap 1080&4K 60hz
Case Roswell Stryker
Power Supply eVGA supernova 750 G6
Mouse eats cheese
Keyboard warrior!
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/spy/21765182 https://www.3dmark.com/pr/1114767
Nearly all non-lighting circuits stateside are 15A.
some TN local code:
210.52(B)(3) Kitchen Receptacle Requirements. Receptacles installed in a kitchen to serve countertop surfaces shall be supplied by two or more 20 AMP small-appliance branch circuits, and each such circuit shall supply not more than three receptacle outlets.

. . . .

220.10 General. Branch-circuit loads shall be calculated as shown in 220.12, 220.14, and 220.16. Branch circuit load calculations shall be provided as part of or prior to the "Rough Electric" inspection.

Exception: In one- and two-family dwellings the branch-circuit load calculations are not required if wired according to the following:

1) No more than 16 convenience outlets, single or duplex, shall be connected on any circuit and no single circuit shall supply an area of more than 750 sq. ft. Receptacle circuits shall be wired with a 12-gauge wire and protected by a 20-ampere over-current device. Not more than 12 outlets connected to any circuit where lighting and receptacle outlets are combined on one 20-ampere arc-fault protected over-current device.

2) At least one lighting circuit shall be installed for each 750 sq. ft. of floor area or fraction of this area. Not more than 12 lighting outlets shall be connected to any one lighting circuit. Lighting circuits may be wired with 14-gauge wire and protected by 15-ampere over-current devices.
as a home owner myself - but din't bookmark my local; everything but lighting goes on 20amp for space heaters, vacuums, power tools - that draws a higher load. lighting fixatures; esp ceiling fans, having smaller than 12 gauge wire and may cause a fire from the high load being on the circuit.

idk about you western beatniks though . . .
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
1,302 (2.76/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Crucial Ballistix c16 B-die 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 11Pro
The UK probably has the biggest difference, sockets are supplied by a 32 amp MCB running a ring circuit in 2.5mm twin and earth, lighting is fed via 6 amp MCB anything other than that tends to be individual circuits powering space heaters ,water heaters and so on.

Safety is dealt with via RCD so earth is important, code states Zs should be below 0.35-0.8 ohms depending on the supply and many many other regulations, so much so that when taking a test on regs it's nothing to do with knowing them but more about being able to read the book effectively.
 
Top