1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will a PCI-e x4 or x8 SAS RAID controller card work in x16 slot?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by KBD, Sep 24, 2008.

  1. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Basically, i need to know if it will work. Someone i know wants to get a SAS RAID Controller card and some drives for a workstation or server, his board only has a spare PCI-e x16 slot and some PCI. He prefers a PCI-e card, but he'll take a PCI-X as well, i heard those work in a conventional PCI slot, correct?
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,021 (5.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,978
    Yes, PCI-E slots will accept lower cards. A PCI-E x16 slot will accept pretty much any PCI-E.
     
    KBD says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  3. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,438 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    yep... i run my PCI-E X1 asus Xonar D2X soundcard in a pci-e X16 slot perfectly ;)
     
  4. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Pci-X wont work in a pci slot though.
     
  5. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    thnx guys.

    :toast:



    I don't know, niko, you sure? I heard otherwise. Take a look at this Adaptec card at egg, it says it supports both PCI-X and PCI 33/66:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816103038

    I assume it depends on the card, is that right?
     
  6. Fastmix

    Fastmix New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    627 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    115
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Heaven
    Offcourse, it's backwards compatible.
     
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,021 (5.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,978
    It depends on the card, some PCI-X cards work in PCI slots, some don't.
     
    KBD says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  8. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    Thats what i thought, thnx!
     
  9. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
  10. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    SAS for performance and then bottlenecking it with a PCI slot. That's brilliant.

    Anyway, PCI-e cards go in PCI-e slots, that's all there is to it. You can also put a x16 card in a x1 slot and vice versa. Just have to cut away the back plastic of the slot or cut in the card.
     
    KBD says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    It works just fine. At 133MB/s.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Aw, well that's not too bad, is that combined total then?
     
  13. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Combined?

    PCI = 133MB/s for the whole bus. ie a set of two SAS disks will be severely bottlenecked already. A single disk could even be bottlenecked if there are more PCI devices on the bus. Only a *insert mean word* would buy an expensive controller, expensive disks and then put it in a PCI slot.
    For instance, in ATTO I can reach 277MB/s read, if I put my controller in a PCI slot that's gonna be ~120MB/s. Quite a difference I'd say.
     
    KBD says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Ya sorry that's what I meant, a total of 133MB/s.

    And ya, you would have to be pretty "something" to buy SAS drives and a hot controller and then cut it short.....

    I was personally thinking about buying a pci-e x1 controller for a 2x drive stripe and changed my mind real fast.
     
  15. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple


    Thank you for your explanation. Like i said he prefers PCI-e not PCI-X, i'll have to explain to him that he shouldnt save money and buy a PCI-X one but go straight for PCI-e. He already has the drives but his budget is not huge thats why he looking to get a used card on ebay. Anyway, you guys were very helpful as usual. :)


    Anyway, can someone recomend a good SAS controller card from experience? Not many reviews out there.
     
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I have always had great luck with Adaptec controllers, but you kinda pay for them too..

    I have heard good things about highpoint and 3com.
     
  17. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,365 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    986
    His options are PCI-X or PCI-e. He should not go PCI. That is what people are saying. PCI-X is OK in theory, since PCI-X (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI-X) has plenty of bandwidth for a dual SAS setup. But a PCI-X card in a PCI slot is as bad as just a simple PCI card. So NO unless you have a genuine PCI-X slot.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple

    Thats what i told him, Adaptec and Areca (its way too expensive). He is also looking at LSI. Any specific model numbers someone can offer? I told him it will cost him to get a good one, he looked at online stores but right now looking on ebay there are some relatively inexpensive ones there.
     
  19. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Does he want full hardware with a processor and ram on the card, is he going to run raid, if so what setup?
     
  20. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    he already has all the hardware, from what i understand he's using his own desktop PC and tranforming it, i dont even know what hardware he has. I know he got no PCI-X so i assume just a plain desktop board most likely SLI or Crossfire with dual x16 slots.
     
  21. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Hold on, this guy wants SAS drives for his Desktop????

    *sounds like more money than brains*
     
  22. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    lol, actually hes not rich, i beleive he is tranforming it into a server or a workstation.

    Besides, having SAS drives on a desktop would rock! Unfortunately no desktop board suppports em. Im actually getting 2 74Gb Veloci for RAID 0 soon, if i could plug those new 15.6K Cheetahs in my mobo i'll def get them instead.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008
  23. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,637 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Although I can understand the massive speed, its just such a waste...
    Go skulltrail while your at it I mean..
     
  24. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    well, it depends what you are using the system for i guess. i certainly wouldn't find lightning speeds, to each is own i suppose.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)