• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Will it fit

Joined
Feb 6, 2011
Messages
3
Likes
0
#1
Hi, after upgrading my i3 socket 1156 processor to an i5 i obviously have a perfectly good processor left, can it be fitted into a socket 1155 motherboard which are cheaper as the 1156 boards seem to be rising in price and are hard to find with I/O back plates.
I have a blown 1155 processor and a good 1156 processor in front of me and they both look the same but that's as far as i dare go.
Thanks
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369
Likes
18,017
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
No, they are not compatible.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397
Likes
5,475
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#3
No, they are not compatible.
I feel like Google might have an answer as well. I don't think much more can be said beyond what erocker said, unless you want to see smoke. :rolleyes:
 
Joined
May 9, 2011
Messages
1,877
Likes
878
Location
Mainland Britain
System Name H2o Box
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 4820k @ 4.40 GHz
Motherboard MSI X79A-G43 Plus (MS-7760) v3
Cooling CPU EK Block and 360RAD H2o
Memory Gskill RipjawsZ 16Gb 9-10-9-28 3T @ 2021Mhz
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080ti AMP EXTREME, EVGA GTX 980ti FTW
Storage HyperX Fury 120GB & Savage 480GB SSD, Seagate 250GB,250GB 7200rpm Kingston 64GB SSD
Display(s) Panasonic GT30 46'' 1080p 3D HDTV [Custom Resolution 3200*1800]
Case Corsair O-800D
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro
Power Supply Be Quiet! [Dark Power Pro 11] 1200W CM replaced [7-4-2017]
Mouse Asus ROG
Keyboard Microsoft Digital Media 1.0A
Software Win 10 Pro 64Bit v 1703 / OS[build 15063.13]
#4
Hi

no their different designs... the 1156 cpu wont fit in the 1155 socket and vise versa.

i'm just curious as to why
Edit: core architecture, socket notches and pinouts

atb (all the best)

Law-II
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2011
Messages
3
Likes
0
#5
one more

Thanks erocker, can you tell me why they are not compatible or is it easier to just leave it at No, i'm just curious as to why, i blame Sheldon Cooper for that.
Thanks to all, i'll leave it i think
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397
Likes
5,475
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#6
Thanks erocker, can you tell me why they are not compatible or is it easier to just leave it at No, i'm just curious as to why, i blame Sheldon Cooper for that.
Thanks to all, i'll leave it i think
What Law said. Also if the socket isn't the same and it's an Intel processor, don't even try. Only with AMD on AM3 in AM2/2+ and AM3+ in AM3 sometimes works depending on the motherboard, otherwise if the socket is different, it usually won't fit, might use different voltages, different signaling and the pins could just be different or in difference places.

Across the board, a "no" should suffice, but the real reason is because the motherboard is not built for that particular CPU and the socket changed to accommodate the new design which is different from the old one.
 

InnocentCriminal

Resident Grammar Amender
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
6,477
Likes
844
System Name BeeR 6
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K*
Motherboard ASUS Maximus V Gene (1155/Z77)
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Samsung Green 1600MHz DDR3**
Video Card(s) 4GB MSI Gaming X RX480
Storage 256GB Samsung 840 Pro SSD
Display(s) 27" Samsung C27F591FDU
Case Fractal Design Arc Mini
Power Supply Corsair HX750W
Software 64bit Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores *@ 4.6GHz **@ 2133MHz
#7
Thought you might like a picture of the sockets...

 
Joined
Feb 6, 2011
Messages
3
Likes
0
#8
Thanks

Ok, i often swap Intel chips in laptops for Intel duel core's, and same with AMD, AMDx2 and so on, never really touched PC's so thought i would dip my toes in gently, thanks to all who replied.:respect:
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,743
Likes
6,001
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#9
Thanks erocker, can you tell me why they are not compatible or is it easier to just leave it at No, i'm just curious as to why, i blame Sheldon Cooper for that.
Thanks to all, i'll leave it i think
Number of pins, die size and layout are different which is why they have different designations to make is simpler for consumers to understand socket compatibility.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,397
Likes
5,475
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10
Number of pins, die size and layout are different which is why they have different designations to make is simpler for consumers to understand socket compatibility.
AM3 processors sometimes have a larger die than AM2+ processors and AM3 has one more pin (similar to how 1155 has one less pin than 1156) but they can still put used in an AM2/2+ board. It depends on how it's implemented. I agree though that it is easier if you keep the same name for the same level of compatibility. The backwards compatibility on various AMD rigs is nice for us "not so inept computer users" though. :toast:
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,743
Likes
6,001
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#11
AM3 processors sometimes have a larger die than AM2+ processors and AM3 has one more pin (similar to how 1155 has one less pin than 1156) but they can still put used in an AM2/2+ board. It depends on how it's implemented. I agree though that it is easier if you keep the same name for the same level of compatibility. The backwards compatibility on various AMD rigs is nice for us "not so inept computer users" though. :toast:
Yes..... but AMD is not Intel :D he is talking about an Intel CPU, my reply therefore was aimed at that manufacturer.