1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will my custom PC run well?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Exrotz, Jul 10, 2012.

  1. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I earlier decided that I wanted to make a custom PC, so looked around for some nice things.

    MEMORY : http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B003EVO878/?tag=tec053-21
    £33.54 Total Price 2x

    CASE : http://www.mavit.co.uk/advance-neox...sh-and-futuristic-design-the-advan-1260-p.asp
    £40.69 Total Price

    HARD DRIVE : http://www.waeplus.co.uk/product/173515/Western-Digital-Caviar-Black-WD5002AALX
    £62.29

    POWER SUPPLY : http://www.jamdup.com/corsair-cmpsu-600cxv2uk-power-supply-unit.html
    £50.21

    MOTHER BOARD : http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005THXZDS/?tag=tec06d-20
    £77.36

    PROCESSOR : http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B002SRQ214/?tag=tec053-21
    £79.80

    DVD DRIVE : http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B003SM3HH0/?tag=tec053-21
    £15.56

    GRAPHICS CARD : http://www.amazon.co_uk/dp/B0047ZH7FU/?tag=tec053-21
    £87.95

    SCREEN : AOC n950Sw 18.5" LCD VGA Monitor | Ebuyer.com
    £62.09

    Are these any good?
    Is there anything I can get for a better price, which is better?

    I'd like to run games like Skyrim on Ultra without noticeable lag.


    Another question.. Will all these be compatible?
    Thanks.
     
  2. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,798 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,536
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Um, no.

    The ram is incompadible. You are making a desktop. You listed laptop memory. I also wouldn't buy an OLD AMD CPU look at Intel Sandy Bridge and Ivy Bridge LGA1155 chips and Z68/Z77 motherboards. I also would get a different video card that is not made by XFX.
     
  3. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sorry.
    I'm new to this. :L
    Any suggestion on what to get? Links would help.
     
  4. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sorry.
    I'm new to this. :L
    Any suggestion on what to get? Links would help.
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,798 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,536
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  6. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I don't have a set budget.. I just want the cheapest of good things i can get.
     
  7. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,798 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,536
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
  8. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    is there not something.. Cheaper I can get?
    What about for a budget of £600?

    Edit :
    Case looks plain.
    :C
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,798 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,536
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Its also a better case. Not so much cheapo plastic.
     
  10. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    313 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    intel g620 or i3 2100 + a b75 motherboard + 4gb 1333/1600 + nzxt source 210 + 400w psu + 1x optical drive + 1tb wd black + any gpu within your budget .

    Oh this are cheap stuff and they are not high end but they are good enough for the games you play. If you go for a (K) Processor get a z77 or z68 board .
    ⎝⏠⏝⏠⎠
     
  11. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Is all the stuff I put down rubbish then? D:
     
  12. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    313 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    go for what intelnvidia suggested . But if you dont plan to Over clock anything you can get lower end components
     
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    I wouldn't touch a dual core if you paid me. I would rather take a slower AMD quad core or hexacore and not feel bad when the frostbite engine cries, or stomp up the money for an i5.

    Also I wouldnt buy components from Amazon, you'll get better support when things go wrong with a specialist like Ebuyer, Novatech, Scan etc.


    Not really. It was actually pretty well spec'd, other than the incompatible RAM and old processor.
     
  14. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So, If I got a new processor, and compatible ram I'd still have good specs, and wouldn't need to update for a while?
    What's the cheapest processor I could get, which is good? :L
     
  15. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    What is a while? I only understand durations. A while to you might be 5 years, a while on an enthusiast forum might be 1 year.

    The system you spec'd would play Skyrim at ultra. You are only running a 18.5 screen at 1366 x 768 so you don't need anything spectacular. Me personally, for that AMD build I wouldn't go for anything less than the Phenom II X6, Bulldozer X6 or X8.


    AMD FX-6 6100 Black Edition 6 Core 3.3Ghz Socket A...
    AMD Bulldozer FX-8 8120 3.1Ghz Socket AM3+ 8MB L3....

    But as other suggested you might be able to build an Intel rig for a similar price which is what I'd recommend for you. Either go i5 or go home. Don't be swayed into buying a dual core i3. i5 or don't bother.

    Intel Core i5 3550 3.3GHz Socket 1155 6MB Cache Re...
     
  16. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,305 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,761
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA

    dent I am sorry but you are TOTALY wrong when it comes to intels new DC with HT! I had a 2120 and it rapped AMD quads in gaming.
     
    Dent1 and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    11,798 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,536
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    ^^THIS

    yeah the new i3s are pretty damn god for the price when it comes to gaming.

    something like this

    Intel Core i3-2100 Sandy Bridge 3.1GHz LGA 1155 65...

    However when it comes to skyrim, it does like Less cores and more core speed. You will get better FPS in skyrim with a dual core at 4GHZ then a quad core at 3.3GHZ
     
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Yes, but you always are going to be worry about how well is that new BF4 in 2015 going to scale on two cores. Or is my CPU usage going to be at 95% for that 2016 game. Will I need to upgrade to quad core now university requires me to do encoding and rendering.

    I'd rather just get the i5 or any AMD hexacore or octocore just for peace of mind.

    But £40 more gets you an i5 which is better equipped for upcoming titles and software in general. If you are dropping £600 on a new rig £40 more is a drop in the ocean.

    Edit:

    Exrotz, I would reconsidering the HDD capacity. 500GB is small these days. You can get a 1TB HDD for that price or 2GB HDD for about £20 more elsewhere.
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
  19. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ... Confused as to what I should get now.
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,305 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,761
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    313 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    sorry but amd fanboy will always be amd fanboy XD obvious is obvious :laugh:
     
  22. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,415 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,068
    Fanboy? So why did I recommend him the Intel i5?


    If anything I'm an Intel fanboy.
     
  23. Exrotz New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
  24. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    313 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    i3 2100 is already good enough for gaming. When a comparison is done with an i3 and a high end gpu the game runs better . With an i5 and a middle end gpu the i3 is the better option , i have seen reviews i know what im saying the g620 is not really recommended as it lacks some instruction sets if the i5 was within his budget then sure but saying i3 over that amd proc u suggested when it comes to price - performance ratio amd looses . Not gona troll you or add more fuel to your bazooka but amd is great !
     
  25. Elmo

    Elmo

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    313 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Malaysia
    Do you have an operating system already? ANd amd motherboard wont work with an intel cpu try a z68 or z77
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)