1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will my little 500 watt PSU be enough?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by satindemon4u, Jan 14, 2011.

  1. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Ok right now i have a 500 watt PS running the following:

    6 gigs of ddr2 ram
    AMD Phenom II quad core
    DVD Drive
    Video card that requires at least a 300 watt PS
    Couple of usb items

    My question is, if i get a new video card that takes a minimum of a 450 watt PS, will my 500 watt be able to handle it? Don't want to HAVE to get a bigger one but, well you all know....

    THANKS!
     
  2. sliderider

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    274 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    500W is good for up to HD6950 (unlocking and overclocking may increase the power draw) on the AMD side. nVidia recommends a 500W for GTX570. Beyond that you'll need something more powerful.
     
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,239 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,163
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I would personally recommend that anybody running a system with a decently clocked quad core and a high-end GPU should be running a quality 650W+ PSU. I would call high-end GTX 570+, or 6950+. Again, I am not saying you NEED that, but that's what I personally recommend. Better safe than sorry with PSUs in my mind.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Well darn. Have been looking on newegg and prices arent great. Well they are i suppose but i hate to drop even more cash. Will look around ebay as well as here i suppose.
     
  5. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    What PSU is it? A quality one would be fine, but if it's a cheap one, I'd say no.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,517 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    hard to say without knowing how the 12v rails are... for example... my 400watt Antec SmartPower had 2 12v rails, 12v 14a, 12v2 15a. whereas my Antec TrueBlue 480watt psu has a single 12v 22A which is less total power than the 400watt as far as the 12v rails go.

    for reference... the 400watt wasn't enough to power a GTS450, but I think that was due to the way the rails were set up. I think if it were a single rail it would have been fine.
     
  7. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Well my friend gave me this psu a while back. He took it from...either his ibuypower pc or his emachines. Either way, its a little dusty.
     
  8. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,517 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    756
    if it was from an emachines i'd say no... the ibuypower... maybe. can you take a pick of its stick that lists the voltages?
     
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (5.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,258
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    Definitely not if it's from an eMachines...if it's from an iBuyPower, maybe. Either way, I'd still get a new one to be safe
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    i think im just going to get the 650w that new egg is having a sale for right now.
     
  11. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    13,349 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,308
    Which 650W? The good ones can do that and more, the really bad ones can put out about 450W before failing, permanently.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,024 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
  13. Akumos

    Akumos

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    552 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Birmingham, England...
    Try a PSU Calculator.... Corsair have one!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)