• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Will my q6600 with PCI 2.0 support GTX 670 2GB or 4GB

Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#1
Hey Guys....

Here is my PC specs:
Processor & mobo : Intel core 2 quad Q6600 @ 2.4GHz / DG33FB
RAM : DDR2 Kingston 2 GB
HDD : 250GB WD
Graphic Card : XFX Geforce 9600GT 512MB

I was thinking about upgrading to i7 3770K with p68 mobo... but along with gtx670 it cost like hell....

So I was thinking if I could just Upgrade my Graphics now then maybe a few months later will buy a new processor & MOBO ..
If I cant use GTX 670 or higher... then what highest quality Graphic card is compatible with my system.....

Also I have a power supply of corsair 500W v2

And if I can use 670 is it worth the money... or should i go for 680 or 690?? I think 690 would not work on my mobo....
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,802 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,576
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#2
they should all work in ur mb, depends on ur psu ofc, if u don't got enough juice there u will run into problems ^^

maybe takes the GTX 670 bcs of the price and if u buy one with a custom pcb u can oc a little or get a factory overclocked card ^^
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
Your mobo can handle them all, but your psu can't I would go for the 670.
Of course they all will be bottle-necked until you upgrade your proc/mobo.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#4
thanks for replying so fast....

So what will be the ideal power requirement for GTX 670 with my specs instead of 9600GT....

In nvidia website Power req for 670 is 500W and for 9600GT it is 400W(Recommended is 600W)..... So will it cause overheating of my proc and mobo and card??
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#5
Don't cheap out on the psu, it is the building block of your computer, and will allow for future upgrades. Make sure it is an 80+ certified unit, very important. I would start with at least a 650w unit, but a bigger unit will allow for more expansion. It's your choice of course. Spend a bit of money up front, and you won't have to worry for years... get something like this:
http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=58382&vpn=CMPSU-750TXV2&manufacture=Corsair
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#6
i bought my PSU only about a month or 2 ago because my UPS was 600VA o/p...
If my PSU is going to be a problem then i can upgrade my proc & mobo first as i have Graphic card...

So any suggestions as far as proc & mobo are concerned??
I would go for best proc(not extreme edition) & mobo..... and then upgrade my PSU and Graphic card later on....
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,129 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,210
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#7
Well I'm sure people can give you specific recommendations, but generally, I'd say a 2500k sandy bridge cpu and a compatible motherboard. It'll blow away what you have now. Don't forget to add DDR3 ram to that as well.
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2011
Messages
619 (0.27/day)
Likes
479
Location
Where the hand of man has never set foot
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 965
Motherboard ASUS M4A79T Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus with 2x SickleFlow 120 2000 RPM
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1333MHz CAS7
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon HD 6870 (Baked 3 Times and Heat Gunned Once)
Storage Crucial MX100 512GB
Display(s) LG Flatron W2453V
Case Xigmatek Midgard-W
Power Supply Thermaltake TR2 RX 750W
Mouse HP VooDooDNA
Keyboard Corsair K60
#8
The GTX 670 should be ok with your PSU.

If you o/c your CPU to at least 3GHz you'll be fine with only a little bottleneck.
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
Well for the PSU no lower than 550W but I would go for 650w+

This would be my suggested upgrade path.

Also what is your current case? From the mobo you suggested I'm guessing maybe a pre built Dell or some other brand?

EDIT:Here is what I can do in less than 5min. If you need to save more money I can check every combo to find good deals.
EDIT2: I just noticed your from India I'm not for sure what places to buy from there, but if you can find these parts thats what I would even buy(I'm also on the Q6600 as it does everything I need it to do)


 
Last edited:

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,285 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,387
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#10
Assuming when you say "Corsair 500w v2" you mean a CX500 V2, your PSU would have no problem handling a GTX670 with the rest of your system. The CX500 V2 is actually a pretty decent PSU, it has a very strong 12v rail. The 12v rail on the CX500 is 34A, I've seen 600w units with only 24A on the 12v rail, so don't let the 500w rating decieve you, the CX500 is a damn powerful unit.
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2011
Messages
4,335 (1.87/day)
Likes
3,020
Location
Mexico
System Name STEAMBOX | GAMECUBE | EQC (Everyday Quad Core)
Processor i5 4590@3.7Ghz |i7 3770K@4Ghz -|- Athlon 5350@2.52Ghz
Motherboard GA-B85N PHOENIX | Asrock Z77E-ITX | Asus AM1I-A
Cooling Stock | Antec Kuhler 620 | Reeven Vanxie
Memory 2x4GB ADATA XPG 1600Mhz | 2x4GB Kingston 1866Mhz -|- 2x4GB Crucial Ballistix@1920Mhz
Video Card(s) RX 480 Nitro | Sapphire RX 480 w/Accelero Mono Plus | HD 8400 @ 720Mhz (IGP)
Storage LiteON 128GB mSATA+3TB Seagate | Seagate 1TBxSamung 64GB SSD (Intel RST) | Kingston v300 240GB
Display(s) Daewoo 49" 1080p | ASUS PA248Q 1920x1200 IPS
Case Corsair 250D | CoolerMaster Elite 110 | Acteck Fiji
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 | Silverstone SFX-450 | 200w mini FLEX PSU
Software Windows 10 64bit
#11
Just go with a 660ti. If you were happy with a 9600GT until now then the 660 wil blow you away while staying cooler and saving you money compared to the 670.

500w is plenty nowadays. I don't see the need to upgrade your PSU right now unless you have like 6> hard drives and a ton of fans. I used to power a QX6700@2.93, HD3850 @ 811/1200, 4GB DDR1 (2.5v), a PPU, sound card, SATA card, Firewire card, 5 fans and 3 HDDs with a 500w ST50FES (specs similar to those of the Corsair CX500).

You could breathe some more life into your rig if you get a cheap (<$150) Q9550 but for your next upgrade you should consider a new build.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#12
Assuming when you say "Corsair 500w v2" you mean a CX500 V2, your PSU would have no problem handling a GTX670 with the rest of your system. The CX500 V2 is actually a pretty decent PSU, it has a very strong 12v rail. The 12v rail on the CX500 is 34A, I've seen 600w units with only 24A on the 12v rail, so don't let the 500w rating decieve you, the CX500 is a damn powerful unit.
are u absolutely sure that 670 will not bottleneck my system??

So if i go for 670 what cooling system should i use.... right now there are only 2 fans 1 on Mobo and another on PSU.....
I noticed that 670 is only about 50-70$ cheaper than 680... So should i go for 670 or 680
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#13
Well for the PSU no lower than 550W but I would go for 650w+

This would be my suggested upgrade path.

Also what is your current case? From the mobo you suggested I'm guessing maybe a pre built Dell or some other brand?

EDIT:Here is what I can do in less than 5min. If you need to save more money I can check every combo to find good deals.
EDIT2: I just noticed your from India I'm not for sure what places to buy from there, but if you can find these parts thats what I would even buy(I'm also on the Q6600 as it does everything I need it to do)


http://img.techpowerup.org/120901/Capture157.jpg

Thanks for the detailed info... thanks a lot!!
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
are u absolutely sure that 670 will not bottleneck my system??

So if i go for 670 what cooling system should i use.... right now there are only 2 fans 1 on Mobo and another on PSU.....
I noticed that 670 is only about 50-70$ cheaper than 680... So should i go for 670 or 680
Thanks for the detailed info... thanks a lot!!
Whats your budget? I can suggest better stuff, but I'm trying to keep it cheap.(I'm more in to $2,500+ builds)

An Corsair H100 or H80 is nice to give your computer a basic watercooling. It depends on your case to what we can fit in it.
And yes your current PSU can run the 670, but its getting close to its limit I always try and leave 100w of spare room

Time for bed for me its 12:30 AM, will be back later.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#15
Whats your budget? I can suggest better stuff, but I'm trying to keep it cheap.(I'm more in to $2,500+ builds)

An Corsair H100 or H80 is nice to give your computer a basic watercooling. It depends on your case to what we can fit in it.


And yes your current PSU can run the 670, but its getting close to its limit I always try and leave 100w of spare room.
I bought Corsair CX 500W v2 just a month ago.. So i will not be able to spend on it...
will H100 or H80 be compatible with my mobo DG33FB?? i could not find it listed as compatible in this link...
http://www.flipkart.com/corsair-h80...CREQ&ref=e28ed797-88b4-40bd-91f8-c2d9cfbca729
 
Joined
May 21, 2008
Messages
4,090 (1.17/day)
Likes
766
Location
Iowa, USA
System Name FUTURE CUBE!
Processor intel Core i5 6600k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE BK
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 3000 Mhz C15 32GB 2x16GB
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus 1080 Ti
Storage 2x M.2 Samsung Evo 250GB/500GB / WD Blue 500GB / 2x RAID1 Toshiba P300 3TB
Display(s) Samsung C24FG70 1080p 144hz Quantum Dot/ASUS VH226H 1080p 21.5"
Case "THE CUBE" Custom built, pure Red Alder wood
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Core3D/ Logitech Z-2300 200 watts/ Beyerdynamic DT 880
Power Supply Seasonic X Gold 650W
Mouse Logitech G700
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
Its should be compatible with any LGA 775 motherboard. But I would get it when you get your nice new mobo. plus for those coolers you will need a case that can support either 120 or a 240 radiator. Whats your current computer case??
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#17
Its should be compatible with any LGA 775 motherboard. But I would get it when you get your nice new mobo. plus for those coolers you will need a case that can support either 120 or a 240 radiator. Whats your current computer case??
So i cannot use it on my mobo ....
can i operate 670 on my current sys.. without any other cooling sys.. other than my psu and cpu fan?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
You should DEFINITELY have some fans on your case. Bare minimum if possible an Intake at the front to suck in cool air and an Exhaust fan on the back of the case to suck warm air out of your case. I would not be putting a 670 in a case without proper ventiliation/cooling.

What case are you using and do you have the option to add fans to it? Your current "fans" are there to cool what they are attached to(CPU and PSU) They aren't for cooling your case.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#19
You should DEFINITELY have some fans on your case. Bare minimum if possible an Intake at the front to suck in cool air and an Exhaust fan on the back of the case to suck warm air out of your case. I would not be putting a 670 in a case without proper ventiliation/cooling.

What case are you using and do you have the option to add fans to it? Your current "fans" are there to cool what they are attached to(CPU and PSU) They aren't for cooling your case.
The name on the case says UMAX.

What kind of cooling system can my mobo support?? (DG33FB)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#20
It's not your motherboard cooling that is the concern. It's getting some fans in your case. The Mobo has fan headers so that's not an issue.

Could you possibly find me a link or picture of your case?

The only MoBo cooling to consider would be a better CPU cooler if you had planned to overclock your CPU(If your BIOS allows it) You would be looking for a Socket 775 compatible cooler.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
120 (0.06/day)
Likes
13
#21
It's not your motherboard cooling that is the concern. It's getting some fans in your case. The Mobo has fan headers so that's not an issue.

Could you possibly find me a link or picture of your case?

The only MoBo cooling to consider would be a better CPU cooler if you had planned to overclock your CPU(If your BIOS allows it) You would be looking for a Socket 775 compatible cooler.
http://www.umaxindia.in/powercasecasing.html

All the casings are same except for design... Mine is exactly similar to this ... Full Tower cases...
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#22
Which model? I just get a list there.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
497 (0.20/day)
Likes
114
#23
Razer, get a 660Ti and save for a complitely new build. Your current system is about 5 years old so i'd just upgrade the graphics card now and when your budged allows, start a complitely new build (motherboard/cpu/ram and maybe a new case). The 660Ti is pretty the 670 but doesnt cost as much. And im quite certain it will be plently of horse power for what ever your gaming needs are. Its certainly quite a leap from the 9600gt
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,382 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,512
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#25
every cabinet is the same just different design... mine is similar to it... its 5 years old.. so not in production..
Well those pictures weren't really that much help anyway other than to establish it's a "standard" case.

Maybe you could take the side panel of your case and take a few pictures. I mean I can "assume" it will have a place at the back for a 120mm fan(but could be 80mm) There "may" be somewhere in the front of the case for an intake fan. But that's just guessing ;)