• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Will Q6600 be ok with GTX 295?

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#1
Hi guys thought you might give me a bit of help here. I have looked in other section to find the answer to this question. I have a Q6600 OC to 3.0Gz it wont go more because my FSB is only 1333Mhz. Will this processor hold back a GTX 295 too much? I do not really want to spend more money of cpu and mobo uprade it is either that or the GTX 295 not both. Thanks for your help. By the way I am currently running a GTX 260 216
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#2
I honestly dont think it will hold it back at all really
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#3
You'll definitely get some sort of bottleneck but it won't be as extreme as it could be. Really unless you just want the best there is, there's better set ups for the money.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.08/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#4
I think you should be fine. If you getting a gtx 295 then you better be gaming at high resolutions. And if your gaming at high resolutions than games are more gpu limited than cpu limited. I got a q6600 at 3.0ghz and its a beast. I have no plans to upgrade any time soon.
 

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#5
Thanks guys that puts my mind at rest. Sorry I did not mention my res is 1680x1050 but I like to have everything on max
 
Joined
Mar 2, 2008
Messages
1,645 (0.46/day)
Likes
217
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
System Name Current
Processor i5 2500k @ 4.5
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling Xigmatek Gaia
Memory 2x4G G-skill Sniper
Video Card(s) GTX 680
Storage 128 Crucial M4, 1 TB Seagate Baracuda
Display(s) Shimian Achieva 27"
Case Corsair 400R
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsais HX-620
Software Windows 7
#6
Honestly if you game at 1680x1050, currently the only thing I can't play maxed is Crysis.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,954 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,074
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#7
Wow at that resolution that card should last you a very long time, I have no issues with games at the same resolution using a Q6600 @ 3.6ghz (1600fsb, which is an intel standard on some Extreme Core CPU's) and a GTX 260 Core 216 65nm. For gaming applications you'll be just fine as-is, if you get into benching, you won't be quite up to par with simlar builds with higher CPU OC's...if that doesn't matter, then game on!

:toast:
 

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#8
Yes I want the system to last a fair while. I know that 1680x1050 is not high but like Kurash said it will last me a long time. Very happy with the Q6600 best proc I have had so far
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#9
Honestly if you game at 1680x1050, currently the only thing I can't play maxed is Crysis.
without overclocking, I ran crysis and all high settings i think 4 or 8 AA or something like that res at 1680x1050 its kinda surprising that you cant with your card and overclock
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,954 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,074
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#10
Yes I want the system to last a fair while. I know that 1680x1050 is not high but like Kurash said it will last me a long time. Very happy with the Q6600 best proc I have had so far
You should be pretty well set for quite a while man. I am figuring I might replace my 260 by mid-summer...maybe later, we'll just have to see what's out and if my GTX isn't keeping up with my games. If you do decide you need more from that q6600, there's not many out there that can't hit 3.6ghz...but 3ghz should be sufficient for gaming. Another plus is if you get a higher res monitor, say 1920x1080/1200 you'll have enough grunt to do so pretty damn easily for quite a while too...definately another plus!

:toast:
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#11
Hi guys thought you might give me a bit of help here. I have looked in other section to find the answer to this question. I have a Q6600 OC to 3.0Gz it wont go more because my FSB is only 1333Mhz. Will this processor hold back a GTX 295 too much? I do not really want to spend more money of cpu and mobo uprade it is either that or the GTX 295 not both. Thanks for your help. By the way I am currently running a GTX 260 216
right now my gaming rig (as seen in my specs) is a Q6600 @ 3ghz with a GTX295 oc in a pci-e 1.1 slot, and I enjoy an incredible gaming experience.

having recently come from cards like a 8800/9800GTX, HD 4870's and a GTX260, this card still whips them all, it will definitely have room to flex its muscles i'll say that much.

Also, welcome to TPU, good to see another Aussie user Bro :toast:
 

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#12
Great! Thank you all for your assistance. I will order the card next week. Our prime minister Kevin Rudd (Australia) is giving all of us taxpayers $900 AUD. So I should thank him for the upgrade. In Aus it cost between $770 and $950 for a GTX 295
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2006
Messages
2,266 (0.56/day)
Likes
192
Location
Houston
System Name mult1kill
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard GA-AX370-GAMING 5
Cooling Cryorig H7
Memory G.Skill DDR4 16GB 3000mhz
Video Card(s) XFX R9 390 DD XXX OC
Storage Seagate 3TB+ Corsair 120GB SSD+120 ssd smansung
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 220WM/ Benq 144hz
Case NZXT S340
Audio Device(s) Q701 + Schiit Vali+ Modi 2
Power Supply Corsair 650w (one of the originals!)
Mouse WMO
Keyboard Ducky Shine 3
Software Windows 8.1
#13
Great! Thank you all for your assistance. I will order the card next week. Our prime minister Kevin Rudd (Australia) is giving all of us taxpayers $900 AUD. So I should thank him for the upgrade. In Aus it cost between $770 and $950 for a GTX 295
awww you lucky ass,lol
 

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#14
Thanks wolf I also wondered about the PCI-E 1.1 as my board is not PCI-E 2
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#15
Great! Thank you all for your assistance. I will order the card next week. Our prime minister Kevin Rudd (Australia) is giving all of us taxpayers $900 AUD. So I should thank him for the upgrade. In Aus it cost between $770 and $950 for a GTX 295
I have to ask, what games will you be playing? 1680x1050 won't unleash the potential of this card and I almost feel like its overkill. YES it will last a long time, but my 8800gts g92 plays everything I play maxed just fine. Don't want you to waste your tax rebate entirely on a gfx card. :p
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2009
Messages
134 (0.04/day)
Likes
6
Location
Rockhampton, Australia
Processor E8400 @ 3.00 GHZ
Motherboard Asus P5K/EPU
Cooling Stock Heatsink
Memory 4gb in 2x 2 GB 1066 MHZ Corsair Dominators
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 280
Storage 2 x Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) Samsung 275t
Case Coolermaster Stacker 830
Audio Device(s) Razor Barracuda
Power Supply Unknown
Software Vista Ultimate x64
#16
no problems with using the Q6600 specially if you overclocked it. And any idea when we get the K-rudd bonus??
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.44/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#17
hehe np man, im hanging for that $900 too :)

once you overclock it it will really start to fly too, but Duxx does make a valid point, a GTX260 OC is a heap of grunt for 1680x1050...

having said that i just like having an awesomely overpowered setup at any given time, so if you want to, i sure wont tell you not to :)
 

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#18
Duxx I will playing FEAR 2, Crysis, Alan Wake when i comes out, Oblivion, Farcy 2, Fallout etc
 

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#19
I think the bonus strarts rolling out next week blacksniper87
 
D

Duxx

Guest
#20
Duxx I will playing FEAR 2, Crysis, Alan Wake when i comes out, Oblivion, Farcy 2, Fallout etc
Well those will definitely require the most hardcore of gfx cards so I guess it will suite you! Good luck to you with your new card! :rockout:
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.34/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#21

Rock God

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
222 (0.07/day)
Likes
10
#22
Just because your FSB says 1333, doesn't mean you can't go higher :)

Do you have a G0 stepping?
 

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#23
Thanks LagunaX!
 

icmacdon

New Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
79 (0.02/day)
Likes
4
Location
Stanhope Gardens NSW Australia
System Name Coyote
Processor Intel i7 860 @ 2.80 Mhz
Motherboard Asus Sabretooth 55i
Cooling Coolermaster V8
Memory 4 x 2048 Mb Kingston KHX 9-9-9 / 1.65v
Video Card(s) Powercolour Radeon HD 5870 PCS+ @ 875/1225 Crossfire
Storage WD 150Gb Veloci Raptor/1 TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer H243HX 1920x1080 HD
Case Lian Li Lancool
Audio Device(s) Bose USB audio
Power Supply Zalman 850W HP
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 = 20,0040
#24
Yes Rock God I have G0 stepping
 

Rock God

New Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2009
Messages
222 (0.07/day)
Likes
10
#25
Gotta love live topics! :D

Well G0 stepping is good compared to a B3 because if you didn't know already, it runs a little cooler, hence more overclocking abilities over a B3. My B3 I had could not go past 3.2GHz but my dads Q6600 (his is a G0 version) and his is clocked at 3.4GHz (I'm gonna push it more for him soon to 3.6GHz).