• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will the Acer 8600M GT 512 MB BIOS work on the 256 MB edition?

Gunn4r

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#1
Hi everyone!

I was looking for a new bios for my 8600m gt, and found the ones for Acer 8600M GT 512 MB. I noticed in the details for this bios, the Vendor id:10de and device id:0407 are equal to mine.

Now in pcidatabase.com this device is listed as

Chip Number: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Chip Description: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT
Notes: Video card in MacBook Pro / Santa Rosa (256MB)

further reading down on that page I find

Chip Number: 0402
Chip Description: gainward bliss 8600 gt 512mo silent fx pcx
Notes: Dist. Gainward 8600GT
Pending Submissions:

Chip Number: 0407
[ Submitted February 23, 2009, 12:11 pm]


Now I am confused. What is the correct information here?

According to Everest, my GeForce is installed with a bios version 60.84.41.00.18, which is the same version as the oldest bios in the list in this database, dated 2007-04-23.

Is it the same bios? If so, can I use this new one on my 256mb? Can I modify it if not? Or perhaps (if I'm lucky), is my 256mb really a biosdowngraded 512mb?

Hope someone can answer me
Gunnar
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,553 (0.68/day)
Likes
515
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#2
I would not flash 512mb bios on 256mb card.
 

Gunn4r

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#3
Thank you r9 for your hastily answer. Though I might suggest you elaborate your speculation. Yes, I am also wary about flashing the bios, that is why I was asking about it here, instead of just doing it.

Can someone answer more on my followup questions? Or did all of you just read the headline and jump to conclusions?

Thx
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
1,187 (0.28/day)
Likes
102
Location
Redmond, WA
System Name NORMANDY
Processor Intel Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 WS
Cooling Corsair H75
Memory 16GB G.SKILL (2x F3-2400C11D-8GXM) @ 2333 Quad CH
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB PCIe + 6TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 34UC87M-B 34" Ultrawide - 3440x1440 + Dell 2407WFP
Case CM Stacker 832 + 10x120mm CM TLF-S12-EB
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 Gold
Mouse Logitech G403 Wirelesss Mass Effect Andromeda Edition / Plugable USB-PM3360
Keyboard Too many to list: Mostly all custom mechanical builds.
Software Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/24264112
#4
Why do you want to upgrade the BIOS in the first place? You trying to OC more or something?
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.44/day)
Likes
620
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#5
I would really be scared to flash a laptop Gpus bios

because with laptops there are no second chances
 

Gunn4r

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#6
Thanks to thebeephaha and KainXS for replies, but unfortunately you're still not helping me.

Now why would I want to upgrade the bios? -Why do you think they make new bios codes in the first place? No, really I just like keeping my computer up to date in any way. And I was actually pondering the possibility to OC, yes.

I am trying to rig up my gear for best possible performance, as I just have started prescribing to AoC. 4GB Kingston HyperX low latency ram, and 4GB Sandisk eXtreme III SD is already in the mail, but for my current budget I can't afford to upgrade my T7100 or my 8600m GT 256MB. Also I would have loved a SSD disk, or the VelociRaptor.

There are always second chances, don't be so pessimistic;D As for older laptops, or laptops with inbuilt graphics you are correct Kain, But my GeForce is a MXM graphics module, and that is highly replaceable.

Anyone else have any suggestions? Who supplies these bioses anyway?

Gunnar
 
Last edited:

Gunn4r

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#7
OK, I am trying to take the matter in my own hands now. I have got ahold of my bios file and compared it with the bios in this database. NiBitor is showing me that there is absolutely no difference in my file compared with the one I mentioned was same revision in the first post.

I am feeling lucky, maybe I will try flashing the newer rom. If all fails I will have to do a blind flashing of my old bios...
 

Gzero

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2005
Messages
718 (0.14/day)
Likes
52
Location
Scotland
Processor Intel i5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-GD80
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4x2gb G.Skill DDR3 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 1t
Video Card(s) HIS 4870 512mb - powerplay modded
Storage Samsung F3 1TB
Display(s) Samsung LE40F86/Viewsonic vx2260wm
Case ThermalTake Tai Chi
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 889
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
#8
lol fail.

Don't touch things you don't understand. You will gain no benefit from the change of gpu bios.
They won't match up.
 
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
1,187 (0.28/day)
Likes
102
Location
Redmond, WA
System Name NORMANDY
Processor Intel Core i7 4930K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 WS
Cooling Corsair H75
Memory 16GB G.SKILL (2x F3-2400C11D-8GXM) @ 2333 Quad CH
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 STRIX
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB PCIe + 6TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 34UC87M-B 34" Ultrawide - 3440x1440 + Dell 2407WFP
Case CM Stacker 832 + 10x120mm CM TLF-S12-EB
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 Gold
Mouse Logitech G403 Wirelesss Mass Effect Andromeda Edition / Plugable USB-PM3360
Keyboard Too many to list: Mostly all custom mechanical builds.
Software Windows 10 Pro Insider Preview
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/24264112
#9
Sorry we are not helping but you are going to break something. What if your blind flash fails? What then.

Also MXM slots while replaceable are not always compatible, my laptop has one but I can't just go shove any card in there, it won't accept them. It has to do with the motherboard BIOS only working with preapproved cards.

Lastly you can't put a velociraptor in a laptop, an SSD would be nice though.

You need to do more research because just flashing a newer BIOS isn't going to make it automatically faster. And for a mobile gfx card you are really going into unknown territory.
 

Gunn4r

New Member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
#10
OK, thx everybody.
I compared the bioses, and basically didn't find anything that would justify a flashing. Case dismissed.

If it ain't broken, don't try to fix it:D
 
Top