• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will This Power Supply Unit Work?

TechnicGeek

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.34/day)
Hi,

Please take a look at this PSU:

2112751c-3ee5-4730-b8da-976ac7640ece.jpg

0fbf3b2b-117d-4b85-98e8-8301c95bca6b.jpg

It's a generic PSU ZEUS 520W made by Codegen.
I need to test if my motherboard powers on and I want to use this PSU. Will it be okay just for that purpose?

My system specs:

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 3600X
Motherboard: Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite
RAM: 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce RTX 2060
 
Joined
Oct 24, 2004
Messages
1,237 (0.21/day)
System Name Seriously ?
Processor Core i7 4790K @ 4.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z97 Gaming 5
Cooling Alpenföhne Broken 120 + 2 huge coolermaster chassis fans
Memory 2x8GB DDR3 2133Mhz Crucial Ballistix
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce RTX 2070
Storage 1x Kingston SA400 128GB / 1x Crucial CT1050MX300 1TB / 1x Sandisk SSD Plus 1TB
Display(s) 40" Samsung UE40ES5500
Case Cooler Master HAF932
Audio Device(s) onboard realtek audio
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Microsoft intellimouse optical
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/vmb641
This PSU probably doesn't have the required 1x8pins PCI-E cable to power your RTX2060.
Check first, and try to find more pictures of the product from different angles.

edit: indeed, nowhere on the front box it is written that it has some 6pins/8pins gpu cables
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,802 (4.47/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
What region are you in, do you have 230V power?

I'd avoid that like the plague.
520W total that says 372 Max on the 12V rails and it only supplies 16Amps on the first 12V rail and 15 Amps on the second 12V rail.

It would be a good door stop, or firestarter for a BBQ.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,672 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
Utter trash, that power supply.

Where are you buying from? Got a link?
 

TechnicGeek

New Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2020
Messages
10 (0.34/day)
I am from Middle East. This power supply costs $25. All I need is to power on my motherboard. I don't need BIOS, nor do I need POST. Just to see that motherboard starts and delivers power across it. I will plug 4-pin CPU fan to see if it spins and if power supply fan spins. That's all I need.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,672 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I am from Middle East. This power supply costs $25. All I need is to power on my motherboard. I don't need BIOS, nor do I need POST. Just to see that motherboard starts and delivers power across it. I will plug 4-pin CPU fan to see if it spins and if power supply fan spins. That's all I need.
This doesn't even have the connectors you need to make it work man... we said that.

At least try a POS that has the connectors you need.

This PSU probably doesn't have the required 1x8pins PCI-E cable to power your RTX2060.
Check first, and try to find more pictures of the product from different angles.

edit: indeed, nowhere on the front box it is written that it has some 6pins/8pins gpu cables
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,273 (0.66/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
Utter trash, that power supply.

Where are you buying from? Got a link?
But it says "high quality" on it?! If we can't trust tech marketing who can we trust???
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
88 (0.57/day)
That PSU is 520/2=260W PSU with questionable ripple suppression, as is with most cheap PSUs. You might find a good one but usually their (max.) power is (power on the box)/2.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,672 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
But it says "high quality" on it?! If we can't trust tech marketing who can we trust???
You make a great point. Please accept my apologies for missing something so obvious. :(


/s :laugh::roll:

That PSU is 520/2=260W PSU with questionable ripple suppression, as is with most cheap PSUs. You might find a good one but usually their (max.) power is (power on the box)/2.
If you look at the label, it can output a combined 327W (15A/16A 12V rails). Someone already clarified what the label says. What it can really output, nobody knows.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,273 (0.66/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
That PSU is 520/2=260W PSU with questionable ripple suppression, as is with most cheap PSUs. You might find a good one but usually their (max.) power is (power on the box)/2.
if ripple suppression was the only thing you had to worry about that unit I would say you were rather lucky. If you somehow managed to hook up the RTX 2060 to that unit through adapters, I would fully expect a spark show followed by a smoke show followed by new paper weights that would look similar to your mobo and video card (possibly even more hardware)
 
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
88 (0.57/day)
If you look at the label, it can output a combined 327W (15A/16A 12V rails). Someone already clarified what the label says. What it can really output, nobody knows.
Forget the label, it is at best half the power.
if ripple suppression was the only thing you had to worry about that unit I would say you were rather lucky. If you somehow managed to hook up the RTX 2060 to that unit through adapters, I would fully expect a spark show followed by a smoke show followed by new paper weights that would look similar to your mobo and video card (possibly even more hardware)
Not necessarily a spark show. It could work but not more than a year. Spark show would start at 372W. :)
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,273 (0.66/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
If you look at the label, it can output a combined 327W (15A/16A 12V rails). Someone already clarified what the label says. What it can really output, nobody knows.
interesting because when I think of Zeus on a power supply I think of Silverstones Zeus which has an eerily similar split on its 12v rail but the cables dont match up as Silverstone had 6 pin pcie power cables. The silverstone was made by enahnce not Codegen (powmax).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
2,273 (0.66/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Western Digital 550N NVMe, Crucial P1 NVMe, SanDisk Ultra 3D, WD Blue 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
Not necessarily a spark show. It could work but not more than a year. Spark show would start at 372W. :)
here is the best image I can find of that unit, it's a powmax special. If you can draw 372w out of it in a 40c case then you need to fly that unit to the Shenzhen Junk Hall of Fame

YJjVAgS.jpg

in case anyone wants to know more about powmax

I can get 2xMolex to 1xPCIe 8-pin adapter :rolleyes:
may want to take out an insurance policy on your PC (make sure it covers acts of god since the PSU is a Zeus)...possibly fire insurance for your home as well
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
18,672 (4.73/day)
Benchmark Scores Faster than yours... I'd bet on it. :)
I can get 2xMolex to 1xPCIe 8-pin adapter :rolleyes:
Why are you insisting on using this? Why not get something that has the connectors and isn't a piece of shit (maybe spelling it out helps)?

Powmax, Raidmax, Chieftec.....all better at starting fires than powering PCs. :p

Forget the label, it is at best half the power.
Maybe... but you(we) have no idea. Stop adding details where none (factually) can be had. :)
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2014
Messages
1,859 (0.76/day)
System Name AMD Black Widow
Processor AMD FX-6100 3.3GHz
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-780T-D3L (rev. 4.0)
Cooling Cooler master hyper 212 EVO
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 2x4GB 1600MHz KHX1600C9D3B1K2/8GX
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7770 GHz Edition
Storage WESTERN DIGITAL 1TB 64MB 7k SATA600 Blue WD10EZEX, Samsung 850 EVO 256 GB SSD
Display(s) LG W2453SQ-PF
Case MS Cyclops IV
Power Supply LC Power LC600H-12 600 W
Software Windows 10 64bit
TBH even if it's a total junk it should be able handle one boot up and staying on in IDLE, but this model seems to be a total junk. I would not risk a RTX 2060, but if you are planning to buy it just to test your system you should find a better used one or try to borrow one from a friend. When my GPU died I had to test my system with my old PSU that was half working but it did the job and I was able to determine the GPU was faulty, but that psu had all the necessary connectors.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2020
Messages
278 (0.97/day)
Location
Maryland, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling CPU: bequiet! Dark Rock 4. Case fans: 2x bequiet Silent Wings 3 140s, 2x Silent Wings 3 120s
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4-3000 C15
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 5700 XT
Storage 500 GB Samsung 860 Evo, 1 TB WD Blue 3D M.2, 1 TB Inland Professional
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG271CQR 1440p 144Hz, MSI Optix MAG241C 1080p 144Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify C Black
Audio Device(s) Philips SHP9500 + V-Moda BoomPro
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 80+ Gold 750W
Mouse Razer Mamba Wireless
Keyboard CoolerMaster Masterkeys Pro S - Cherry MX Browns
Would you rather pay $25 for a POS PSU and then another $300 for a new 2060 and $110 for a new mobo, or pay $50 for a less POS PSU?
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
201 (2.48/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop, 2 Laptops, 1 Nettop
Processor Pentium, Celeron & Atom
Motherboard Brandless???
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB + 3 GB + 2 GB + 1 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti
Storage 6 TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch CRT
Case Brandless
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man wireless mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
Why this PSU specifically? Is it for some sort of review or just cuz its the cheapest, most readily available PSU?

As others have pointed out, it doesn't seem have the connector for your GPU unless you won't be powering your GPU. If its just powering on your motherboard & nothing more, then that PSU should do the job just fine albeit without the use of your GPU.

It is pretty costly though just to power up your motherboard, so you should just borrow from a friend or some other.

Also, does your motherboard/chipset/CPU comes with an integrated GPU?
 
Last edited:
Top