1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will this psu be enough?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 1nf3rn0x, Dec 22, 2009.

  1. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Hi guys. I have another rig at home and i'm wondering if the power supply would suffice for what i want to run in it. The pc currently has a 500w penguin brand psu with two 12v rails with 18amps on each rail. The psu has a large 120mm fan to cool it down and it moves ALOT of air.

    Im wondering if this psu could handle.

    Intel Core 2 Duo e7400 @2.8ghz
    4gb Kingston DDR2 ram @800mhz
    Asus P5QL-SE Motherboard
    320gb Seagate Barracuda SATAII
    LG SuperMulti SecurDisk x1
    2x120mm case fans
    9600gt@stock__Replace with 4830 if psu can handle

    Im wondering if this psu can handle a 4830

    Thanks, All Answers Appreciated:)
     
  2. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Yes that's no problem.
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  3. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,626 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    London, UK
    4830 is not alot faster than a 9800gt
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    4,012 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    476
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Better yet, replace that with a HD 4770.
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Is the 4770 faster than the 4830?
     
  6. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    Penguin brand ? :wtf:

    Well from the amperage on the 12v rails it is possibly sufficient depending on how much whats the 12v rails can actually output, though I would be worried about using a "penguin" psu :confused:

    Dont skim read :slap: he said 9600gt :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    On the psu it has written on it penguin, with a penguin next to the writing lol
     
  8. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    If you want i can open the case write everything on the power supply and post it here. Would that help?
     
  9. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    It should tell you what the 12v rails can output, I doubt it will have any problem at all!!, just sounds like a cheap generic psu is all :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,626 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    London, UK
    lol didn't see that
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  11. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    I will check everything on the psu and post it here be back like 5 minutes:)
     
  12. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    268
    Location:
    Florizy
    Two 12V rails with 18 amps each gives you roughly 380 watts total from the 12V rails. Should be plenty, even systems more badass with top of the line video cards don't get to suckin down much more than 380 combined watts at their peak.
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  13. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    You would think, but cheaper psu's claim so many amps on the 12v rails and the ,max W output is a lot different from what the theoretical output "should" be, for instance I have owend a coolermaster 520w with the same amps on the 12v rail as the corsair 520w though the corsair puts out more watts over the 12v rails than the cm, even more so with cheaper generic psu's
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Ok Im Back
     
  15. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    This is what was exactly on the power supply.

    AC INPUT// Voltage 103v-253v//Current 9a-5a//Frequency 47hz-63hz
    DC OUTPUT// +5v 28.0A//+12v1 18.0A//+12v2 18.0A//-12v 0.3A//+5v 2.0A
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    while that PSU is weak, the components are low power. i wouldnt OC with that PSU, but at stock it should be fine.


    a 4830 might be pushing it, but it should work.
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Ok great, i've been wondering. I know the 4770 is faster but does it use much more energy than the 4830 or less? Just done some of my own research quickly, the 4770 uses about 10w less than the 4830 during idle and peak. So would the 4770 run 'A' ok?
     
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2009
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i beleive the 4770 is more power efficient than the 4830
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    So a 4770 will run with no problems?
     
  20. InTeL-iNsIdE Guest

    It should be fine, tho how long your cheap psu will last who knows, it could chug along happily for years or it could bite the dust earlier depending on the quality and how you tax it
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    on paper its good enough.

    However we dont know how cheaply that unit was made, nor how well (or how poorly) its aged since then.
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,866 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i agree with mussels,you could always replace that PSU with a corsair 400w,job done :)
     
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
  23. 1nf3rn0x

    1nf3rn0x

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,076 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Could you give me the link?
     
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    46,067 (9.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,732
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    1nf3rn0x says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,866 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    722
    Location:
    Northampton,UK

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)