1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Will you jump to get Windows 7

Discussion in 'General Software' started by qubit, Jan 10, 2009.

?

Will you jump to get Windows 7 when it comes out?

  1. Yes

    54 vote(s)
    56.8%
  2. No

    20 vote(s)
    21.1%
  3. Maybe

    21 vote(s)
    22.1%
  1. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,257 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,914
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Having tried out the Windows 7 beta, are you gonna jump to get it when it come out?

    EDIT: To clarify, I'm talking about the retail/OEM version when it's released, not any beta copies.
     
  2. kyle2020 Guest

    already have :laugh:

    Loving it too!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Yes,
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,257 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,914
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    I might do. I've not been able to burn a successful copy yet to try it out as my burner keeps creating coasters. :banghead:

    I'm gonna troubleshoot it soon and get this fixed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2009
  5. kyle2020 Guest

    Im using it as my main OS and cant fault it.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. dazed554 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    East Greenbush, NY
    I'm fairly optimistic about it, but I will probably wait 6+ months after release to get it. One thing I was happy with about it was that when I installed it on an old HP P4 1.3ghz 512mb RAM it did not run so bad, I think if I tried to install Vista on that computer it would be unusable.
     
  7. Urbklr

    Urbklr

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,355 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    251
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Yes, me like very much:)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I already moved all my rigs to the beta so yea :)
     
  9. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,274 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    505
    i killed off vista on my system 3 days ago windows 7 all the way, i would use windows 7 with bugs than use that shity os called vista, and ill buy it for sure when its out
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. xubidoo

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    888 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Lancs,UK
    Sounds promising already ,considering its a beta as well its even more impressive!!

    Im far to lazy to bother DL a beta and sorting out a key etc ,so ill w8 and see how it goes with other ppl before i try it.
     
  11. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    As soon as I get it done downloading I will use it.
     
  12. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,737 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    i am on it right now
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,520 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,708
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    When retail hits the shelves, I don't think I'll be as hesitant as I was with Vista...though on launch day I was excited for Vista and then it was a long, hard battle to SP1 and then me switching to x64 where it seems Vista really shined for me. But 7 Beta 1 seems to be doing soooo well I am hoping they release it in a couple of months dammit! We're used to patches! Make the Gadgets show with UAC off, a couple of other fit n' finish/polishes of other little things and making Punkbuster support 7 and I'd be ready to buy it right now!

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. kyle2020 Guest

    i wondered why my gadgets wouldnt work :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,025 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    I've been happy with the other builds so hell yeah!
     
  16. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Installin' it on my desktop tomorow.
     
  17. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,013 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Yes!!!! I want the full retail now! :D
    Am typing on it as I speak, loving it!
     
  18. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,323 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,001
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    What major improvements are there. My friend just says "it looks just like Vista". I just tell him he is wrong lol.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,664 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    Ohio
    So is windows 7 supposed to be an updated vista? Or what? I have not heard much about it
     
  20. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,633 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    728
    As long as they keep it the way they say they are going to, then probably.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Kursah

    Kursah Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,520 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,708
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Damn, hard to miss news about this os, do some searching in google for sure man! Yes it's based on Vista, but feels very "tuned". It operates very smooth and fast, crisp, easy to work with and get around, but it uses the Vista Glass, icons, etc. The most major change aside from performance seems to be the new Taskbar which is very nice to use, and worth price of admission.

    Here's a link with a little info to getcha started: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_7

    :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,811 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    622
    if it ran good for u on that, it should run good on my p4 3ghz laptop
     
  23. RevengE

    RevengE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    2,664 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    214
    Location:
    Ohio
     
  24. alias_1ab New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i gotta say i still really dont like Vista and dont run it on any of my 3 PCs or laptop. But this new Windows 7 im impressed with so far. It makes the whole concept of having to install drivers mute which is great. Id be willing to give Microsoft some of my money for this new OS when it comes out. It just seems to run so much faster than XP or Vista.

    Core 2 E8400, 4 GB Corsair DHX DDR2-8500, Evga 680i, BFG 8800 GTS 512mb
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    14,257 (4.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,914
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Drivers concept?

    I've just installed 64-bit 7 and I'm posting this while using it. I have to admit that the initial impression is instantly favourable and it certainly does feel very snappy. I like the new Aero features, especially.

    I don't understand what you mean about the drivers concept being mute, though. I'm currently running with my 8800 GTX and while it recognized it ok, it didn't change screen mode properly - my CRT display went fuzzy in the same way an LCD monitor does when run below its native resolution. It was sharp before changing resolution. The only way I could get rid of this problem was to install the latest nvidia driver. It hasn't recognized my Creative X-Fi card either. I'll have to install the driver for that, too.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)