• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win 7 32bit vs 64bit

32 bit vs 64 bit

  • Windows 7 32 bit

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    14
  • Poll closed .
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.68/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#1
Ok after another thread I made, about Windows 7 vs Windows Xp they convinced me to finally update to Windows 7. I will be getting it within the next week or two. I finally decided to do this as I saw the Demo of Just Cause 2, looks awesome, only problem is they dumped dx9. As i heard if you buy a copy of Win 7 it will include a 32bit disk and 64 bit disk. I will get Win7 Prof or Ultimate. But which version to install, 32 bit or 64 bit? Please answer in the poll and include which version you chose.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#2
I cannot think of a reason not to use x64. Can you?
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.68/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#3
Not really, though does it have compatibility issues?
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,066 (2.69/day)
Likes
5,160
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#4
I cannot think of a reason not to use x64. Can you?
+1

Unless you have an ancient printer or scanner that doesn't have newer x64 drivers. Time to replace em' if so! x64 is the way to go for your next OS install imo, I've been on x64 for a very long time now, so long I can't remember the last time an x86 install was on my rig!
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,471 (10.10/day)
Likes
18,151
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 16GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
#5
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.68/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#6
Ok then, 64 bit it is XD
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,425 (5.49/day)
Likes
10,577
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
You've got 4GB of RAM, so use 64-bit to get access to all of it.

There are minor compatibility issues, mainly with old hardware not having drivers.
 
Joined
Sep 20, 2009
Messages
716 (0.23/day)
Likes
143
Location
C:\Kitteh
Processor i7 2600K | Phenom II 840
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe | ASUS M4A88T-M
Cooling Corsair H60 | Scythe Samurai ZZ
Memory 4x4GB Samsung Green 1600 @ 1866 | 2x2GB Corsair XMS3 1333
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 670 FTW | On Board AMD
Storage 2 x 64GB Samsung 830, Velociraptor 300GB,1TB Black,1.5TB Black |10TB server
Display(s) HP 2509m 25" 1080p
Case Lian Li PC-V1020A | Lian Li PC-V354A
Audio Device(s) Azuntech Bravuria 7.1 | On-Board (Disabled)
Power Supply Seasonic X-series 760 , Seasonic X-series 760
Software Windows 7 Ultimate X64 | UnRaid (CentOS)
#8
I have been running (between vista and windows 7) X64 for approx 2-3 years now and have NEVER had ANY problem with compatibility for any software or hardware used.

If you still are unsure, look up Windows XP mode within windows 7. Its a built in windows XP vm (No install disc required). So for your piece of mind and comfort , you can always have XP within windows 7.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.68/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#9
K thanks, though the only old hardware I have is a printer thats 2 years old, its HP and I still get updates every month or so for it software( its a good one not cheapo one, it prints, copies, scans, faxes..just about everything.), so it shouldn't be a problem.
 

Chomes

New Member
Joined
Aug 12, 2008
Messages
74 (0.02/day)
Likes
18
Location
Barcelona
System Name Rig1
Processor Intel 3930K
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 DELUXE
Cooling Corsair H100 2* Noctua NF-F12
Memory 4*4G.Skill F3-17000CL9-4GBZH
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6970
Storage OCZ VERTEX 3 MI 120Gb & VERTEX 2 100Gb & Western 1TB black
Display(s) Dell 2410U
Case Coolers Master ATCS 840
Audio Device(s) X-fi Forte
Power Supply Corsair HX-1000
Software Windows 7 Enterprise
#10
Go for x64 all straight ahead, i've using vista x64 and w7 x64, and zero problems.
 
Joined
Sep 15, 2009
Messages
2,076 (0.68/day)
Likes
379
System Name Omen
Processor i7-4710HQ
Cooling Dual fan/heatpipe
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) 4GB GTX 860M
Storage 256GB PCIE SSD/256GB PNY UHS-1 SD Card
Display(s) 15.6' 1080P
Case Aluminium
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Brick
Software Win 10
#11
K my minds set straight, going for 64 bit XD Hurray for all, everyone in this thread gets a thanks for helpful comments XD :)
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#12
16 bit programs (from the good ol' days of DOS/Windows 95/98) shit brix on 64 bit and refuse to run, so keep in mind you'll need to know your way around DOSBox or a similar emulator if you want to run those kind of programs.