1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win 7 refresh bug

Discussion in 'General Software' started by -Zed-, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. -Zed-

    -Zed- New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Ok so yesterday I spent hours hunting a win7 bug that has to do with refreshing the files located in my libraries/documents/pics folder. It seems that its a hit or miss problem, some times it does it some times it doesn't.

    It all started when I was cleaning up my pics which are stored on my E: drive under libraries/documents/pcs as I stated above. I noticed that upon deleting a image the thumbnail stayed in the folder unless I did a manual refresh of the window and or backed out of it and came back.

    Now it is deleting the image/thumbnail as it should. So I started down the road of trouble shooting and found that nothing that fixed it. It only seems to be a prob with files stored in that directory tree. I can move them to my C:libraries/documents/pics and get the same results. If I go to the recycling bin and restore in moves it back to the proper folder and refreshes the window every time with no probs.

    This is not a big prob as you see but a little annoying. I truly believe it has some thing to do with file sharing. But even after setting file sharing options to off in all ways I get nothin It seems to me that the command to refresh the window isn't being issued all the time or if it is its getting lost some how. If any one has any idea my ears are listening.

    Thanks for any help I get. If more info is needed let me know I didn't want to write a book on this problem just yet, but I thank I got the basics out there.
     
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,164 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,694
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    Have you tried installing SP1 yet? A service pack tends to resolve problems like this.
     
  3. -Zed-

    -Zed- New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Yes I found the prob after sp1 was installed. Cant say if it was a prob before sp1 cause the rig is new and I was being lazy with file clean up cause well the rig is new and shiny.
     
  4. -Zed-

    -Zed- New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Come on guys no ones got any thing to say.
     
  5. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,164 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,694
    Location:
    Quantum Well UK
    -Zed- says thanks.
  6. -Zed-

    -Zed- New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Free porn to any one that helps me.
     
  7. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,509
    I suggest that you try here. If it's a bug it should be fixed.
     
    -Zed- says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. -Zed-

    -Zed- New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    40 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Thanks east coast I dug all over the microsoft before making this thread.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)