• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win 8.1 Kaspersky HEAVY memory usage.

Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
366 (0.23/day)
Likes
113
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#1
Hello. My system is i7-4790K, 120GB SSD, 512GB SSD, 3TB HDD, GTX 970, ASUS HERO VII, 2X8GB G. Skill Trident X 2133MHz.

In resource monitor it shows over 12GB of memory being used in idle. please someone help me with this problem. I've taken a screen shot but when I click "upload a file" on here it says its too big.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#2
Hello. My system is i7-4790K, 120GB SSD, 512GB SSD, 3TB HDD, GTX 970, ASUS HERO VII, 2X8GB G. Skill Trident X 2133MHz.

In resource monitor it shows over 12GB of memory being used in idle. please someone help me with this problem. I've taken a screen shot but when I click "upload a file" on here it says its too big.
Print screen of task manager would help.
 

Mindweaver

Moderato®™
Staff member
Joined
Apr 16, 2009
Messages
6,757 (1.98/day)
Likes
4,040
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name Sechs / EyeSeven
Processor i7 5820k @ 4.5ghz / i7 2600k @ 4.0Ghz
Motherboard X99S GAMING 7 / ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i Extreme / Stock cooler... H50 leaked!..
Memory G.Skill DDR4 2800 16GB 4x4GB / G.Skill DDR3 1600 8gb 2x4GB
Video Card(s) PNY Quadro K2000 / MSI GTX 970 GAMING 4Gb
Storage Samsung 850 PRO 256GB SSD /Intel 240gb, corsair 120gb SSD, 3x 1 tb s storage
Display(s) 2x Acer G276HL 27" 1080p / 3x Acer 22" Nvidia surround
Case Phanteks “Enthoo Pro series”/ Cooler Master Storm Scout
Audio Device(s) Azalia Realtek ALC1150 / SB X-Fi Gamer
Power Supply Corsair CXM CX600M / Corsair 600w
Mouse Razer DeathAdder Chroma / Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Ultimate /
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 / Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
@Upgrayedd - Fill out your system specs here. :toast: Like @Dent1 said print screen of your task manager would help.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (5.52/day)
Likes
9,133
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#4
Is this a fresh install of Kaspersky?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,197 (5.42/day)
Likes
11,474
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Are you sure it is 12GB used and not including the super fetch cache?
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
366 (0.23/day)
Likes
113
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#6
Well, I just did a little bit of research that I probably should of done before this post but I was impatient and couldn;t find what I wanted right away.

this is the conclusion I've came to - http://www.tomshardware.com/answers/id-1940391/ram-windows-custom.html

Windows will use as much memory as is available.
Task Manager shows 12.9GB/15.9GB (81%)
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,462 (2.66/day)
Likes
6,664
Location
Slovenia/Europe
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling CoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#7
Modern systems like Win7 or Win8 fill most of the RAM with precache data. There is no reason to have massive amounts of RAM empty when it could be used to speed things up. System will free it up automatically when it is needed.

I haven't really checked RAM usage since ages ago when I've upgraded to 8GB of RAM (and then went back to 6GB because of X58 platform). Only time I've done it was when i had to use 7-zip with massive dictionary size for compression with multiple threads that can eat up insane amounts of memory. But other than that, I just trust the system to do its magic and so far it has done great.

Unless you're experiencing noticeable performance issues, forget about memory usage.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,658 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,504
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#8
You don't really need a Anti Virus with Windows 8. Its has defender and MSE
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
7,785 (2.54/day)
Likes
2,041
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel G4400
Motherboard ASUS STRIX
Cooling Deepcool Ice Edge
Memory 8 Gb Team Delta 2
Video Card(s) Radeon R250
Storage Seagate 1 TB, 4Tb and SSD A-Data 128 Gb
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Stock
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse A4Tech X7
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 10 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
#9
even with antivirus it shouldnt as big as like that
have you checked whats running on your background
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,801 (4.30/day)
Likes
5,966
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#10
Probably just kaspersky running a scan while the system is idle
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
366 (0.23/day)
Likes
113
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#11
Kaspersky wasn't running a scan. I turned the PC off for 5 mins yesterday, then fired it back up, did nothing for about 2 hours. RAM usage was much lower like 3-4GB/16GB. Now around 24 hours or so later my usage is back at 12.8GB/15.9GB

in use is 12.8GB, for committed RAM its 13.9GB.

I believe Rejzor is right as well the correct answer from the link I provided.
Kaspersky came with my motherboard.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,197 (5.42/day)
Likes
11,474
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#12
What does it actually say in resource monitor though? In Use RAM does not include the cached data. Resrouce monitor will tell you how much is cached(or Standby) and how much is actually In Use.

In this picture of Resource Monitor, the green portion is In Use RAM and the dark blue is the Cached/Standby. The green part should not be 12GB, if it is something is wrong:
 
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,462 (2.66/day)
Likes
6,664
Location
Slovenia/Europe
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling CoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#13
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,658 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,504
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#14

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (5.98/day)
Likes
6,969
#15
We use the kaspersky enterprise edition at work and I refuse to install it on my machine cause we get countless calls from employees complaining of slow PC's and when we remote in the PC is maxed out on memory or CPU due to kaspersky
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,801 (4.30/day)
Likes
5,966
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1xFractal Design HP-12|1x140mm Noctua P14S Redux|2x Corsair ML 140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#16
well... All i can think of is it being Kaspersky doing an idle time heuristic scan and its probably the first time its being run on the machine so its taking its time and making sure its getting everything done. Im currently running Kaspersky 2015 on windows 7 x64 and this issue has never ever happened to me in the time i have used kaspersky. 2014 was a little buggy though.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (5.52/day)
Likes
9,133
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#17
Bitdefender has a free version now that is AWESOME. No ads and no setup. Only time you hear from it is when it finds a nasty. I have been running it on two rigs for a few months now and tested them periodically with other scanners and they have been clean as a whistle. I recommend it.

http://www.bitdefender.com/solutions/free.html

Its as light as MSE also.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,197 (5.42/day)
Likes
11,474
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#18
Hogwash. No AV will stop careless surfing. But I do like Kasperski
A lot of them will do a pretty good job of keeping careless people safe. However, MSE used to be pretty good but now it has really slipped. I now recommend AVG if people want a free solution, or Kaspersy if they want a pay solution.

We use the kaspersky enterprise edition at work and I refuse to install it on my machine cause we get countless calls from employees complaining of slow PC's and when we remote in the PC is maxed out on memory or CPU due to kaspersky
I've support several machines with Kaspersky and none have ever had this problem. I guess it could be an issue if there were only 2GB in the machine, but seriously get more RAM...

We need to see a task manager or resource monitor screenshot of the OP's computer to see what is really using all the RAM.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,542 (5.98/day)
Likes
6,969
#19
I've support several machines with Kaspersky and none have ever had this problem. I guess it could be an issue if there were only 2GB in the machine, but seriously get more RAM...
Yes most of the employees machines are core2duos with 2GB DDR2 but we have had some new intel I7s with 8GB of ram that have had issues.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,885 (1.03/day)
Likes
1,636
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-8086K (Coffee Cups) | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi (Bios: 3.10) | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#20
i use KIS2014 (Kaspersky Internet Security 2014) on my Gaming Rig with a i7-4790k, MSI Z97I Gaming AC, Mushkin Redline 2x8gb DDR-3 2400mhz and so on look at my System Specs and i don't have problem with KIS using a lot of memory and my version is fully updated and runs automaticly and it uses like max around 155mb of ram which is far from much...

upload_2014-12-29_3-37-55.png
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,599 (5.52/day)
Likes
9,133
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name TheMailbox 5.0 / The Mailbox 4.5
Processor RYZEN 1700X / Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Fatal1ty X370 Gaming K4 / Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling MasterLiquid PRO 280 / Scythe Katana 4
Memory ADATA RGB 16GB DDR4 2666 16-16-16-39 / G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz / ASUS 780ti
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD / 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD , 500Gb WD (7200)
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080 / Dell 27"
Case Cooler Master MASTERBOX 5t / Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1220 Audio Codec / SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS Plus Series SSR-750PX 750W Platinum / SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) / Logitech G5
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow / Logitech (Unknown)
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#21
i use KIS2014 (Kaspersky Internet Security 2014) on my Gaming Rig with a i7-4790k, MSI Z97I Gaming AC, Mushkin Redline 2x8gb DDR-3 2400mhz and so on look at my System Specs and i don't have problem with KIS using a lot of memory and my version is fully updated and runs automaticly and it uses like max around 155mb of ram which is far from much...

View attachment 61195
Yeah well.....


Capture.JPG



Like I said go Bitdefender.
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2014
Messages
1,950 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,384
Location
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia USA
System Name Home Brewed
Processor i9-7900X and i7-7700K
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming M7-ACK & ASRock Z270 Killer SLI/ac
Cooling Kraken X41 & Thermaltake Water 3.0
Memory 64GB DDR4-3000 GSKill RipJaws-V & 32GB DDR4-3200GSKill RipJaws-V
Video Card(s) 2X-GTX-1080 SLI & 2 GTX-1070 8GB G1 Gaming in SLI
Storage Both have 2TB HDDs for storage, 480GB SSDs for OS, and 240GB SSDs for Steam Games
Display(s) ACER 28" B286HK 4K & Samsung 32" 1080P
Case NZXT Source 540 & Rosewill Rise Chassis
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair RM1000 & Corsair RM850
Mouse Generic
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Tournament & Corsair K90
Software Win-10 Professional
Benchmark Scores yes
#22
Webroot Secureanywhere Is a good AV program that uses very little system resources.

MEM AV.JPG
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 14, 2014
Messages
366 (0.23/day)
Likes
113
Processor i7-4790K 4.4GHz @1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Maximus Hero VII
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory G. Skill Trident X 2x8GB 2133MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 970 SC @ 1442MHz
Storage OS on 120GB Kingston SSDNow V300, Samsung 850 Pro 512GB , 3TB Hitachi HDD, 2x5TB Toshiba X300
Display(s) Lenovo y27g
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) AKG Q701's w/ O2+ODAC (Sounds a little bright)
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850w
Mouse OG Steelseries Rival
Keyboard Rosewill Full Size. Red Switches. Blue Leds. RK-9100xBRE - Hate this. way to big
Software Win10
Benchmark Scores 3DMark FireStrike Score : 10299
#23
I believe Its what Rejzor said earlier in the thread. Thanks for all the replies, very helpful.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 2, 2004
Messages
13,462 (2.66/day)
Likes
6,664
Location
Slovenia/Europe
System Name Dark Silence 2
Processor Intel Core i7 5820K @ 4.5 GHz (1.15V)
Motherboard MSI X99A Gaming 7
Cooling CoolerMaster Nepton 120XL
Memory 32 GB DDR4 Kingston HyperX Fury 2400 MHz @ 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) AORUS GeForce GTX 1080Ti 11GB
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 2TB SSD (3D V-NAND)
Display(s) ASUS VG248QE 144Hz 1ms (DisplayPort)
Case Corsair Carbide 330R Titanium
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 + Altec Lansing MX5021 (HiFi capacitors and OPAMP upgrade)
Power Supply BeQuiet! Dark Power Pro 11 750W
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Cherry Stream XT Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#24
Bitdefender has a free version now that is AWESOME. No ads and no setup. Only time you hear from it is when it finds a nasty. I have been running it on two rigs for a few months now and tested them periodically with other scanners and they have been clean as a whistle. I recommend it.

http://www.bitdefender.com/solutions/free.html

Its as light as MSE also.
MSE isn't light. It may use little RAM, but it's as slow as f**ck.
 
Top