1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win XP x64 Update trouble

Discussion in 'General Software' started by psyko12, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I'm stumped here, after I've installed the OS, I've downloaded the SP 2, and ran windows update... It updated the windows update to somewhat a cooler version (the older 1 was blue webpage, the new one was white and has nice buttos for custom and express) but now, out of the blue, windows update went to the older version now, and I can't get updates anymore, is there a way to fix this? It was a surprise to me, I did not know what happed why it reverted to v4.windows update... :banghead:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,205 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    you jknow what that happened to me 2 its really frustrating what happened to the x64 ppl :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Have you fixed it? Or still have the problem?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,205 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    nope because now it says im not an administrator..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Wth, sigh thats crazy, I've tried installing the WUA installer and used the /wuforce command gonna reboot and see if this works :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Grrr it didn't fix it, now we have the same problem :/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,205 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    i looked arund and their doesnt seem to be a fix i have no idea wth is wrong no one has even seemed to bring up the issue.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Well, it might be the two of us having this problem :( sighhh found some fixes but it's only for those people who get error codes etc.... Sigh
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    19,205 (4.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,071
    Location:
    Florida
    ya thats what i got to..but i dont get error messages or stop coeds...it just wont work...btw at the same time i found i couldnt run MCI .exe files you know the ones that are a blue square with like white sails on them do you have that problem?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    I haven't encountered that one yet... Grrr now I got to use automatic updates :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
  12. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    The run as a diff "admin" account works, it doesn't redirect to the v4 windows update.... Sigh
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    I had the exact same problems. I had contacted Microsoft about it, and after about two weeks back and forth with one of the techs, the issue was fixed. But, don't get me wrong, after about a week, and a few updates later, the same problem started all over again. I still have the transcripts from the tech center. I will find them, and post. Maybe they can help someone else.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
    psyko12 says thanks.
  14. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    I use Microsoft Update with no issues and I use x64 too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,195 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,002
    So?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. psyko12

    psyko12

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,981 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    It's pop ups are distracting when playing games (for me tho)...

    Thanks for the transcript nova
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. novacheck

    novacheck New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    530 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    At the end of the world, and turn left.
    Not a problem. I try to help when I can.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)