• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win10 clean install on Win8.1 laptop or clone the old?

Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
82 (0.11/day)
Location
Finland
System Name No name, yet..
Processor AMD 1800X at stock settings.
Motherboard AsRock X370 itx/ac, /diy vrm heatsink.
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 240LT.
Memory 2 x 8gb G.Skill Flare 3200/CL14.
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 oc rev2.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB m.2, Crucial MX500 2TB sata.
Display(s) HP ZR24W.
Case DIY ITX.
Power Supply Be Quiet 500W sfx-l
Software Win10 home, Ubuntu linux.
Hello!


My mom has an old (i7-3630 based) HP laptop with Win8.1 in it. There's no licence number sticker at the bottom, no installation media either. I've read somewhere, that the licence is in the BIOS and it's not needed.


However, there's good deal on Black friday, Samsung 860 evo/1T at ~100€. And i was like why not update her laptop. She said it has become sluggish.


Win8.1 is updated from 8.0, but newer installed again from scratch. It 'd be nice to put clean win10 (or Win8.1) in it, as i newer cloned a disk. I have the HW for it, thou.


So, i have like 3-ish options:


1: Clone the old HDD to SSD. There are several weird partitions, i don't know how those get cloned.
1.1: Update W8.1 to W10, there's info in internet how to do it. It may work or not.


2: Make W8.1 installation/rescue media in Windows and make clean/rescue install.
2.1: Update to W10 and so on...


3: Make W10 installation media in old Windows, clean install and pray the licence works.
3.1: Before update use some software to dig up the licence, just in case.


I hate installing in general, and haven't done it in ages.


So. What should i do? Option 3 is the one i want the most. But will the old Win8 licence work with clean Win10 install, as it still should be possible to update old install to Win10?


I don't have access to it until monday or so, but i'd like to prepare.


Any tips for free sw to dig up the licence and easy cloning those several partitions? Something else to think about?


Thanks.
 
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
913 (0.89/day)
Location
Arizona
System Name Space Heater MKIII.5
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming X570-PLUS WiFi
Cooling Cryorig R1 Ultimate, 5x Cryorig XF140 fans
Memory 2x16GB Team T-Force Dark Z DDR4-3600 C18 1.35V (running 3200MHz C16)
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 2x1TB Crucial MX500 (striped array), 4TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Monoprice 35" 3440x1440p 100Hz
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M
Audio Device(s) Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA 750 B3, CyberPower CST135XLU
Mouse Logitech MX Master
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion Brown
Software Windows 10 Pro
Software like Acronis True Image can clone all of the partitions on the drive. Samsung should have their own version of it.

Another option would be to clone the drive over, update to Win10 on the new drive, and use the Fresh Start option in Windows Defender. That way you can have a clean install without losing your license.

A fresh install would also be able to grab the license in the BIOS, so it would activate. I've done it many times on laptops with the built in licenses, and it works every time.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
82 (0.11/day)
Location
Finland
System Name No name, yet..
Processor AMD 1800X at stock settings.
Motherboard AsRock X370 itx/ac, /diy vrm heatsink.
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 240LT.
Memory 2 x 8gb G.Skill Flare 3200/CL14.
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 oc rev2.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB m.2, Crucial MX500 2TB sata.
Display(s) HP ZR24W.
Case DIY ITX.
Power Supply Be Quiet 500W sfx-l
Software Win10 home, Ubuntu linux.
Software like Acronis True Image can clone all of the partitions on the drive. Samsung should have their own version of it.

Another option would be to clone the drive over, update to Win10 on the new drive, and use the Fresh Start option in Windows Defender. That way you can have a clean install without losing your license.

A fresh install would also be able to grab the license in the BIOS, so it would activate. I've done it many times on laptops with the built in licenses, and it works every time.


So, you recommend cloning, update OS in new drive and fresh start than just installing clean Win10?

Just to make clear, english is hard sometimes. For me, at least. :D :D
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,768 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
I suggest a clean install first, and see if the OS activates and you can find drivers for all hardware first


Cloning from mech to SSD can have issues, i've seen OS's think SSD's were mech drives and defrag them to death after cloning.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
82 (0.11/day)
Location
Finland
System Name No name, yet..
Processor AMD 1800X at stock settings.
Motherboard AsRock X370 itx/ac, /diy vrm heatsink.
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 240LT.
Memory 2 x 8gb G.Skill Flare 3200/CL14.
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 oc rev2.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB m.2, Crucial MX500 2TB sata.
Display(s) HP ZR24W.
Case DIY ITX.
Power Supply Be Quiet 500W sfx-l
Software Win10 home, Ubuntu linux.
I suggest a clean install first, and see if the OS activates and you can find drivers for all hardware first


Cloning from mech to SSD can have issues, i've seen OS's think SSD's were mech drives and defrag them to death after cloning.


Good points! Defrag is activated atm, so If i end up cloning, i must remember to turn it off.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
48,768 (8.19/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Big Fella
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz)
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Good points! Defrag is activated atm, so If i end up cloning, i must remember to turn it off.

check what windows ID's it as, and then check for things like scheduled defraggers, etc.


That said i always recommend against cloning, a fresh start is always best.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
82 (0.11/day)
Location
Finland
System Name No name, yet..
Processor AMD 1800X at stock settings.
Motherboard AsRock X370 itx/ac, /diy vrm heatsink.
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 240LT.
Memory 2 x 8gb G.Skill Flare 3200/CL14.
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 oc rev2.
Storage Samsung 960 Evo 500GB m.2, Crucial MX500 2TB sata.
Display(s) HP ZR24W.
Case DIY ITX.
Power Supply Be Quiet 500W sfx-l
Software Win10 home, Ubuntu linux.
I managed to get the drive and went to my mom. So far so good. Made fresh Win10 install, everything seems to be working, only one device driver missing. There were several unknown at first, but they are working now.


Thanks everybody, i just needed a little push to get forward. :D
 
Last edited:
Top