• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win7 Pro Laptop crashes when resumes from sleep

Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.07/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#1
Need some help here guys. I bought a new (refurb) laptop a few weeks ago from lenovo outlet. Just a basic n585 to replace my netbook. It came with Windows 8 but I pulled the HDD and installed a OCZ vertex 2 80gb SSD in there for a windows 7 install. The laptop works great but 9/10 when it resumes from sleep it crashes and reboots. I have re-installed windows 3-4 times now with no fix. What do you think? Maybe a driver issue?

Specs:
Model # - Lenovo n585
CPU/Chipset: AMD E1-1200
Ram: 3GB (1x2gb & 1x1GB ddr3)
SSD: OCZ Vertex II - 80gb
OS: Windows 7 Pro 32bit
 
Last edited:

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
17,215 (4.38/day)
Likes
5,412
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Rapture X Mk.VI {Still....MoonPig Edition}
Processor Intel 3930k@4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 PRO
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}|VRM: Antec Spotcool 100
Memory 32GB DDR3 Kingston HyperX Beast 2400Mhz {8x4GB}
Video Card(s) MSI 1070 Gaming X (Samsung)
Storage 512GB Samsung 850 Pro (Boot)|1x 512GB Crucial MX100|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x140mm NB PK-3, 2x Corsair AF140}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 7 7600 x64
Benchmark Scores ( ͡°( ͡° ͜ʖ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)ʖ ͡°) ͡°)
#2
Could possibly be a bios issue. or an issue with the firmware of the SSD, make sure their both running the latest versions.

Does the issue still happen with the Windows 8? Im guessing you still have the hard drive with the Win8 install on it, Swap it back and see if the same thing happends.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.07/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#3
Could possibly be a bios issue. or an issue with the firmware of the SSD, make sure their both running the latest versions.

Does the issue still happen with the Windows 8? Im guessing you still have the hard drive with the Win8 install on it, Swap it back and see if the same thing happends.
I will check both. No sadly I don't have the HDD with windows 8 lol. I sold it on ebay :laugh:
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2005
Messages
6,573 (1.41/day)
Likes
1,173
Location
Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
System Name Red Spy
Processor FX 8350 @ 4.35 Ghz with 1.28v
Motherboard Gigabyte 990FX-UD3 v4.0
Cooling TT Water 3.0 Performer + 2 x Cougar 120mm fan, 1 x 120mm Blue LED, 1 x 200 mm Red LED fan
Memory Kingston HyperX DDR3 1333 16GB
Video Card(s) Asus R9 290 OC @ GPU - 1050, MEM - 1300
Storage ADATA 128GB Sata III SSD for OS, WDC Black - 1TB Storage, OCZ Vertex 3 120GB SSD - Games
Display(s) AOC 23" 1080P LCD
Case AeroCool XPredator X3
Audio Device(s) Built-in Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Benchmark Scores BF4 with Mantle on Ultra settings gets around 60 FPS.
#4
I will check both. No sadly I don't have the HDD with windows 8 lol. I sold it on ebay :laugh:
u r too fast to recover the costs :laugh:

resume from sleep is generally memory issue.

usual drill, put only one stick and test test test!

Also make sure you have installed all correct drivers.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2009
Messages
1,077 (0.33/day)
Likes
305
System Name Primary Rig
Processor e8500 Q822A549 4.5ghz AIR
Motherboard Foxconn Mars P35
Cooling TRUE
Memory 2 x2GB Patriot Viper 1066 5-5-5-12 @ 1.8v
Video Card(s) Sapphire 5870 Unlocked
Storage 300gb Velociraptor
Display(s) Dell 24" Ultrasharp
Case Coolermaster CM690
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750w Quad Silencer
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x86
#5
On a win 7 desktop bios this happens when PLL overvoltage is enabled in the bios.

But u have a non overclocking laptop so don't know.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,614 (0.74/day)
Likes
555
Location
Bulgaria
System Name RawRubberLook
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Kraken X31
Memory 1 x 8GB Cruicial 2400 mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX970 4GB
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Thermaltake Urban R31
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Fractal Design IntegraM 650W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
#6
I have Lenovo and I get the impression they get this problem a lot. Check the support page of the laptop with your service tag/number for Bios update. Read the release notes and see if it mentions this. They release bios updates fairly often. I got this sleep-issue mentioned in the last bios I installed on my laptop.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
3,923 (1.07/day)
Likes
553
System Name Main / Home Media Serever
Processor Intel i5 2500k @ 4.75ghz / AMD AM3 5200+ x2
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty P67 Performance / Biostar 790GX
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight / XIGMATEK Apache
Memory 12gb of G.Skill Value Series DDR3 / 4x 1gb DDR2
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon 6870 1gb / Asus Radeon 5450 512mb
Storage 2x Samsung 830 64gb SSD Raid 0 & 750gb WD Blue HDD / OCZ Vertex II 80GB & 10TB of HDD Space
Display(s) 2x Acer 24" LED / Samsung 50" LED
Case Xigmatek Asgard II / APEX PC-389-C
Power Supply Rosewill 750w / Antec EArthwatts 380w
Software Windows 7 Professional x64 SP1 / Ubuntu 14.04
#7
Ok almost positive it related to the wifi card/driver. If I disable it in the device manager my laptop sleeps and resumes just fine.

So I guess first step would to be try to find a different driver and if that doesnt work I guess I can replace it. Used mini pci-e wifi cards are pretty cheap.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,660 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#8
So I guess first step would to be try to find a different driver
+1 on that...

And, you may want to test by trying:

1. Goto device manager, find the properties for the wifi card and under the power management tab set it to not let windows power it off.

2. In the power options find the wifi card and set it to max performance on battery and power.

Lenovo and other manufaturers have had this problem and still do in some models.

Here is a nice little bit of help that Lenovo posted: About how to troubleshoot power plans in Windows 7