• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Win7 x64, time changing

Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,215 (1.18/day)
Likes
3,561
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
#1
...all on its own... I can change the time to the correct time manually, or thru forcing a sync with several different servers, and it will change within minutes, or at most, a couple of hours. I've had it go back by as much as approx 6 months, and forward more than 6 (some time in 2015). I've disabled the Windows Time service, no effect. I've run Malwarebytes to make sure I haven't grabbed something stupid, nothing serious found. I've checked the bios time, it's holding steady and correct, with or without a Windows Time Change. anyone ever see something like this? Thanks :)
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
4,801 (1.07/day)
Likes
1,575
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K "Skylake" | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard Gigabyte Aorus GA-Z270X-Gaming 7 "Union Point" | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Thermalright True (Old legend still going strong) 1xNoctua NF-F12 PWM | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 960 EVO 250GB NVME|2xSamsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Core3D (Onboard) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit @ Lynni-Stick
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK
Software Win10 Pro CU UK x64 | Win10 Home CU x86
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Skydrive @ 1440p: GS: 25188 / PS: 12238 / CS: 25308: http://www.3dmark.com/3dm/11665249
#2
have u checked bios?
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,476 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#3
Have you checked the Bios Coin Battery.

Also set time server to: tock.usno.navy.mil

Make sure Router / Modem time server is set to same.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#4
time to change the bios battery.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,215 (1.18/day)
Likes
3,561
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
#5
Thanks for responses :) I checked bios, it's holding steady, but I haven't changed the battery. Question, on that point. If it changes, several times in the course of an evening of use (ie I go home, it's set to three days earlier, some random time in the AM, I check my email, and it changes to 2 weeks in the future, some random PM time, and then even further in the future after 15 more minutes, without ever powering down the PC, is that a Bios issue?

I haven't checked the router, but then I have 5 other Windows devices on the network without this problem, and 2 of them on a lot longer than this one. Seems like if it were the router, somehow, the others would have similar issues...
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
1,476 (0.54/day)
Likes
607
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K // Intel X5677 // Intel 950,930
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe // MSI Big Bang XPower // EVGA 758
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X // Intel E75476 // Intel E75476
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB // GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair Dom 1600 12GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070 Quick Silver// EVGA SC GTX780 // EVGA ACX GTX770
Storage PlextorM5P, Samsung 830, 840P, 840E// Samsung 840P // Crucial M500 // Crucial M500
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F // Lian Li PC-9F // In-Win server case IW-PP689
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold// OCZ ZX850w // EVGA 850w G2 // PC Power & Cooling 910w
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro /W10Pro
#6
Yes, still check battery with volt meter.

Also, check that Bios Jumper is installed correctly. On that note, also inspect jumper itself, I have had them break inside due to thin nature of metal, so it could be that it is not making proper contact with pins.

Random jumping around is odd. You could reflash bios. Disconnect hard drives, reflash, set up the bios, reboot, power down and reconnect drives, then boot to Windows.

While your in there, make sure you don't have a short somewhere with the case and motherboard.

Inspect motherboard for visible defects, bulging caps, burned area's and the like.

I assume you don't have a crazy overclock that needs to be turned down.
 
Last edited:

RCoon

Gaming Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
11,365 (5.51/day)
Likes
9,492
Location
Gypsyland, UK
System Name HP Omen 17
Processor i7 7700HQ
Memory 16GB 2400Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1060
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB + HGST 1TB
Display(s) 1080p IPS G-SYNC 75Hz
Audio Device(s) Bang & Olufsen
Power Supply 230W
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD+
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
Random jumping around is odd. You could reflash bios. Disconnect hard drives, reflash, set up the bios, reboot, power down and reconnect drives, then boot to Windows.
Then pull out the cartridge, blow on it, put it in while holding the reset button, then push the power button off and on.

Sorry, I thought we were describing how to troubleshoot a dreamcast :laugh:

What time server are you syncing with? BIOS sounds ominous to me, battery wouldn't cause it to go into the future. Unless your PC is actually a time travelling device.
 
Joined
May 4, 2009
Messages
1,940 (0.62/day)
Likes
409
Location
Singapore
System Name penguin
Processor i3-4160
Motherboard Asus H81 Mini-ITX
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x4GB Kingston 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Saphire Radeon 7850 2GB
Storage Plextor M5S 120GB+1TB Seagate
Display(s) 23' Dell
Case CM Elite 130
Audio Device(s) stock
Power Supply Corsair CX430m
Software W7/Lubuntu
#8
It's safe to guess that you're not connected to a network with other pcs, right?

Our computers at work are connected to a server and are set to sync to the "network time" of the server which is always 4-5 mins behind. Sometimes you get network issues if your time can't sync.

Maybe it's some piece of software that jumbles your time. Tho I have no clue what it could be...
 
Joined
May 1, 2012
Messages
1,024 (0.50/day)
Likes
170
Location
New Jersey, USA
System Name Current Rig
Processor Intel i7 920 oc to 3.5ghz
Motherboard MSI x58 Platinum
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory G.Skill 6gb ddr3 1333mhz 7-7-7-18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 OC WindForce 3X GV-N670OC-2GD
Storage Samsung EVO SSD
Display(s) Viewsonic 1440x900 5ms
Case CoolMaster HAF 932
Power Supply Coolmax 950w
Software Win 7 64bit
#9
Yes, still check battery with volt meter.

Also, check that Bios Jumper is installed correctly. On that note, also inspect jumper itself, I have had them break inside due to thin nature of metal, so it could be that it is not making proper contact with pins.

Random jumping around is odd. You could reflash bios. Disconnect hard drives, reflash, set up the bios, reboot, power down and reconnect drives, then boot to Windows.

While your in there, make sure you don't have a short somewhere with the case and motherboard.

Inspect motherboard for visible defects, bulging caps, burned area's and the like.

I assume you don't have a crazy overclock that needs to be turned down.
That's way too much to work suggested for a $2 cmos battery swap from your local drugstore.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,127 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,209
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) Asus Strix GTX970 OC
Storage 2x Toshiba 3TB, Seagate 2TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q 1ms
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z + AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 17.10, Win7 x64 SP1 Ultimate
Benchmark Scores Average....
#10
This is a weird one.... and I've seen weird computer issues over the last 20 years.... not sure I could eliminate hardware issues yet, but.... I would boot with a live distro of linux or something and run it for awhile and see if it does the same thing. If it doesn't, then it's probably something gone wrong in your windows install. It's why I always have 2-3 windows installs on my computer at a time, I'm always blowing up windows installs so I've got a fresh one ready to go at all times!
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,358 (1.95/day)
Likes
6,493
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#11
I thought we were describing how to troubleshoot a dreamcast :laugh:
Dreamcast did not even use cartridges, lol. That was Nintendos obsession. Heck, SEGA pioneered cd usage in consoles with a addon drive for their genesis console (NES contender).
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,215 (1.18/day)
Likes
3,561
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
#12
Yes, still check battery with volt meter.

Also, check that Bios Jumper is installed correctly. On that note, also inspect jumper itself, I have had them break inside due to thin nature of metal, so it could be that it is not making proper contact with pins.

Random jumping around is odd. You could reflash bios. Disconnect hard drives, reflash, set up the bios, reboot, power down and reconnect drives, then boot to Windows.

While your in there, make sure you don't have a short somewhere with the case and motherboard.

Inspect motherboard for visible defects, bulging caps, burned area's and the like.

I assume you don't have a crazy overclock that needs to be turned down.
no changes to the board itself in months, so no jumper changes. this only started about... 3 weeks ago? at most? I did flash the bios, which by procedure, also required me to reset the bios to default, blowing out any (very minor) over clocking I had done. I backed it down several months ago when I had a case fan break, and was worried about temp levels, so it's been a very cool and close to stock level since.
Will inspect the board, but I'm really leaning seriously towards an OS corruption.
I've even gone as far as completely disabling the Windows Time service (as noted above), and it still changed within 5 minutes on me, with the service still disabled.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#13
Go into the bios and watch the system clock. See if it seconds, minutes, and hours seem to be erratic.
If so, then your MB's clock is out of sync and is not counting properly.
Unplug the power from the wall.<-- This step is important.
Remove the CMOS battery and press the power button for a few seconds.
Reinstall the CMOS battery, plug the power back in, and start her up.

Or, you have some software that is messing with the clock... Look in the event logs for info.

Could be either; however, I am leaning towards the MB's clock has gone haywire. It is more intriguing.
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,908 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,003
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#14
There's software out there that can synchronize serveral times a day. You may want to use that to keep it close to on time--assuming swapping the battery doesn't fix it.
 
Joined
Feb 27, 2008
Messages
4,215 (1.18/day)
Likes
3,561
System Name Ironic
Processor Intel 2500k 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASROCK|Z68 PROFESSIONAL Gen 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 32GB GSkill Ripjaw X 1866
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 290 Vapor-X 4Gb
Storage Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB SATA 3 (6G/s)
Display(s) 22" Dell Wide/ 22" Acer wide/24" Asus
Case Antec Lanboy Air Black & Blue
Audio Device(s) SB Audigy 7.1
Power Supply Corsair Enthusiast TX750
Mouse Logitech G9x, custom frame
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK
Software Win 7 Ult 64 bit (with a side of XP64)
#15
Go into the bios and watch the system clock. See if it seconds, minutes, and hours seem to be erratic.
If so, then your MB's clock is out of sync and is not counting properly.
Unplug the power from the wall.<-- This step is important.
Remove the CMOS battery and press the power button for a few seconds.
Reinstall the CMOS battery, plug the power back in, and start her up.

Or, you have some software that is messing with the clock... Look in the event logs for info.

Could be either; however, I am leaning towards the MB's clock has gone haywire. It is more intriguing.
Event log just shows the sonnovabeach changing time at random points, jumping forward or backward, depending on its mood.

So. I KNOW I checked the bios time earlier this week. Know it. Remember going in and having a pain in the ass finding it, but I checked it. And it was fine. But, because I knew I wanted to replace the battery anyway, I went in to double check settings. And what did I see, but a time machine. I was going forward 9 minutes at a tick. Now, I also know it went backwards on me several times, but apparently, it gave up and went straight for Back to the Future. 9 minutes a tick. Annoying as hell. I'd already done the full power-off/power cord/power button shutdown, having resolved several client issues that way, but I hadn't actually pulled the battery to try it that way on mine yet (which I should have, based on a potential BIOS issue). So, pull the battery, yanked the power, held the power button, fixed myself a drink, and came back to reassemble. Merry Christmas to me. Thanks tons to Viper, for the knock in the head to actually apply tech know-how to my own problems, and his advice on the issue. Also to the rest for piping up with ideas and input. Thanks guys :) *cheers*