• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Window update was stuck at 74 percent so I restarted my pc is there any harm in doing this

Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
59 (2.03/day)
Location
Pacific Ocean
So there was an update for window 10 so I click on update but it took a while but it stop at 75 percent so I just restarted my pc with out thinking anything but when restarting my pc it said it was Working on updates and said not to turn off the computer so I waited and after that it went to the window screen and when I check on updates it said I was up to date

This is what it look like when it was stuck
0452C904-8635-4F5C-BBAC-F3C22E22768A.jpeg


After restarting my pc and it said it was working on updates which was the update that was stuck and it went back to windows I went to window update and it shows that I am up to date
D05171FD-01B8-4CE2-A1C2-2714D9F883C1.jpeg


Was restarting my pc bad can this cause harm to my pc it seems the restart I did for my pc did finish installing window update that was stuck At 75 percent
 
Joined
Mar 10, 2015
Messages
3,250 (1.64/day)
System Name Wut?
Processor 3900X
Motherboard ASRock Taichi X570
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB GSkill CL16 3600mhz
Video Card(s) Vega 56
Storage 2 x AData XPG 8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) 3440 x 1440
Case Thermaltake Tower 900
Power Supply Seasonic Prime Ultra Platinum
Generally not the best idea. Count your blessings and love on.

Also, what time length was considered 'stuck'?
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,750 (4.27/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Yeah its fine once or twice. Same thing happened to me. If you do it too many times though it will mess up your windows installation, maybe even corrupt it and you'll have no choice but to do a fresh reinstall.

I had this same problem when i was trying to update to 1903, it got stuck at 70 or 86% for 3hrs. I restarted tried to update a few more times and it ended up messing up my windows. certain windows things in the old installation just wouldnt work anymore.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
59 (2.03/day)
Location
Pacific Ocean
Generally not the best idea. Count your blessings and love on.

Also, what time length was considered 'stuck'?
The update that I did was a optional update I didn’t even need it it was a culmative update that was in the optional option updates and it was stuck at 75 percent so after I did a restart and went to window update it said I was up to date and I also check if it was in my update history and it was so the restart must have updated already.

Yeah its fine once or twice. Same thing happened to me. If you do it too many times though it will mess up your windows installation, maybe even corrupt it and you'll have no choice but to do a fresh reinstall.

I had this same problem when i was trying to update to 1903, it got stuck at 70 or 86% for 3hrs. I restarted tried to update a few more times and it ended up messing up my windows. certain windows things in the old installation just wouldnt work anymore.
Is there a way that I can check if I mess up my windows because the update that was stuck was a optional update I did not even need it and it was stuck at 75 percent for about 20 minutes which was not long at all but I foolishly wanted to just turn off my computer it was getting late so I just restarted without thinking anything about the update but the restart said it was working on updates and told me not to shutdown my computer so I just waited for it to finish and after that I went to window update and I was up to date
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,753 (5.93/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Its really simple, if you do any sort of critical work on the machine, clean install it. If not, shrug and move on, if its gone bad you'll find out.

But FWIW, a clean install these days isn't much of a hassle, Windows can do it for you pretty much, with system recovery options.
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
20,750 (4.27/day)
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.V
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling CPU: BeQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 {1xCorsair ML120 Pro|5xML140 Pro}
Memory 16 Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz {2x8GB}
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC|Accelero Xtreme IV
Storage Samsung 970Evo 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White)
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V573|Speakers: JBL Control One|Auna 300-CN|Wharfedale Diamond SW150
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900/G502
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
Is there a way that I can check
I dont even think Microsoft themselves can tell you. Its just the nature of Windows 10. Either it works or it wont because its broken and buggy.... One of the major reasons why I delay most of the updates. I want people to jump in and test the waters first before i go in and update my PC too...
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
59 (2.03/day)
Location
Pacific Ocean
I dont even think Microsoft themselves can tell you. Its just the nature of Windows 10. Either it works or it wont because its broken and buggy.... One of the major reasons why I delay most of the updates. I want people to jump in and test the waters first before i go in and update my PC too...
The update that was stuck was a optional one and it was not like a major update needed on my system
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
10,546 (1.98/day)
System Name Desktop / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.5GHz (1.270 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 970 Evo 500GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Samsung 860 Evo 1TB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10
To find out which version of Windows you are running, press the Windows logo key + R, type winver in the Open box, and then select OK.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
12,753 (5.93/day)
Location
Mars
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I dont even think Microsoft themselves can tell you. Its just the nature of Windows 10. Either it works or it wont because its broken and buggy.... One of the major reasons why I delay most of the updates. I want people to jump in and test the waters first before i go in and update my PC too...
Yep I'm on maximum delay mode as well. Recently got 1903. Happy camper.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
998 (0.19/day)
Processor Ryzen 1600AF @4.2Ghz 1.35v
Motherboard MSI B450M PRO-A-MAX
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L120t
Memory 16GB Team Group Dark Pro Sammy-B-die 3400mhz 14.15.14.30-1.4v
Video Card(s) XFX RX 5600 XT THICC II PRO
Storage 240GB Brave eagle SSD/ 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Dell SE2719HR
Power Supply EVGA 600W 80+
Software Windows 10 Pro
I must be a psychopath, I update as soon as they become available, major releases also without clean installs, oh and I just bought an rdna gpu :eek:....... 0 issues :pimp: :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,868 (2.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB @3466 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Is there a way that I can check if I mess up my windows
In a Command Prompt or PowerShell with Administrator Privileges run "Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /ScanHealth" minus the quotation marks. There's also System File Checker. "sfc /scannow"
Untitled.jpgPowershell Scanhealth.jpg
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,868 (2.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB @3466 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
59 (2.03/day)
Location
Pacific Ocean
Try using the Deployment Image Servicing and Management (DISM) tool to scan or check the health of the WinSxS directory.
"Dism /Online /Cleanup-Image /ScanHealth" or remove Scan for CheckHealth

I don’t need to install the update again because the restart already finish installing the update or it just resume installing the update after I restarted my pc
 

pavl3

New Member
Joined
May 20, 2020
Messages
28 (0.35/day)
You can also run scandisk/checkdisk; rightclick on C: -> Error Checking -> Check now, tick "Automatically fix filesystem errors".
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,868 (2.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB @3466 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
I don’t need to install the update again because the restart already finish installing the update or it just resume installing the update after I restarted my pc
I’m just trying to point out there might be corruption in the WinSxS directory because you stopped it before the update was completed and offered the reboot option.

I just had this happen to the Windows 10 2004 install. DISM keeps complaining it is unable to locate the esd file to repair the corruption, and it fails through Windows Update mechanism on download/unpacking. At some point I need to do a clean install.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2020
Messages
59 (2.03/day)
Location
Pacific Ocean
I’m just trying to point out there might be corruption in the WinSxS directory because you stopped it before the update was completed and offered the reboot option.

I just had this happen to the Windows 10 2004 install. DISM keeps complaining it is unable to locate the esd file to repair the corruption, and it fails through Windows Update mechanism on download/unpacking. At some point I need to do a clean install.
Sry I got a little confuse but I ran Sfc /scannow now and it says I don’t have any corrupted files so thank your for suggesting that I think I am in the clear
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
3,868 (2.42/day)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk ATX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Black Edition
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4-3200 16GB @3466 MHz
Video Card(s) MSI GeForce RTX 2060 GAMING Z 6G
Storage Samsung 970 EVO NVMe M.2 500 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster C27H711 OC refresh rate 110Hz
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) EVGA NU Audio
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 310
Keyboard Logitech G G413 Silver
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit v2004
Sry I got a little confuse but I ran Sfc /scannow now and it says I don’t have any corrupted files so thank your for suggesting that I think I am in the clear
System file checker doesn’t catch all corruption.
 
Joined
May 13, 2010
Messages
5,178 (1.38/day)
System Name RemixedBeast-NX
Processor Intel Xeon E5-2650 @ 2.2Ghz (8C/16T)
Motherboard Dell Inc. 08HPGT (CPU 1)
Cooling Dell Standard
Memory 32GB ECC
Video Card(s) EVGA Nvidia GTX 650 Ti SSC 1GB
Storage 2TB Samsung 860 EVO SSD//2TB WD Black HDD
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster P2350 23in @ 1920x1080 + Dell E2013H 20 in @1600x900
Case Dell Precision T3600 Chassis
Audio Device(s) Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro 80 // Fiio E7 Amp/DAC
Power Supply 630w Dell T3600 PSU
Mouse Logitech G700s/G502
Keyboard Logitech K740
Software Linux Mint 19.3
Benchmark Scores Network: APs: Cisco Meraki MR32, Ubiquiti Unifi AP-AC-LR and Lite Router/Sw:Meraki MX64 MS220-8P
Why is this in the Linux section?

I'd SFC/ scannow if I were you...sometimes you gotta run it a few times before it wakes its lazy butt up and catches stuff
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2013
Messages
3,405 (1.27/day)
I dont even think Microsoft themselves can tell you. Its just the nature of Windows 10
Well it's the way most modern OS' work, not just Windows. Though one could argue they don't get a bazillion updates as Windows sometimes forces on users!
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2019
Messages
1,466 (2.76/day)
Location
Poland
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite
Cooling BeQuiet Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8 GB Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 3200 CL16 @ 3466 CL 14
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 6GB SSC
Storage SX8200 Pro 1 TB, Plextor M6Pro 256 GB, WD Blue 2TB
Display(s) BenQ BL2411PT
Case SilverStone Primera PM01 RGB
Power Supply SeaSonic Focus Plus Gold 750W
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 300
Keyboard MK Typist (Kailh Box White)
Last time I had to reset my VM during failed update Windows automatically reverted to previous version on next boot.
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2010
Messages
2,137 (0.58/day)
Processor Intel i7 970 // Intel i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Formula // Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CNPS9900MaxB // Zalman CNPS11X
Memory GSkill 2133 12GB // Corsair V 2400 32GB
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX1080 // MSI GTX1070
Storage Samsung 860EVO // Samsung840P
Display(s) HP w2207h
Case CoolerMaster Stacker 830se // Lian Li PC-9F
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Seasonic X 850w Gold // EVGA 850w G2
Mouse Logitech G9
Keyboard Dell
Software W10 Pro 1909
Is there a way that I can check if I mess up my windows because the update that was stuck was a optional update I did not even need it and it was stuck at 75 percent for about 20 minutes which was not long at all but I foolishly wanted to just turn off my computer it was getting late so I just restarted without thinking anything about the update but the restart said it was working on updates and told me not to shutdown my computer so I just waited for it to finish and after that I went to window update and I was up to date
See this: https://www.windowscentral.com/how-use-dism-command-line-utility-repair-windows-10-image
 
Top