• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 Account Questions

Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,901 (1.16/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
Ok so I have been building a few gaming machines for Clients and I installed Windows 10 Home like i have in the past on many other PC's but this time around when I was installing Windows I dint have the option to make an Offline Account and then after making an account (just to be removed once Windows was installed) it also asked me to set up a PIN, wtf? Anyway After that BS Ive got into Windows removed the account and set/made it into a Local account ( I hope it doesnt remember in the future that I used an account/my email address for anything) but on one of the machines it has brought over a profile picture I had used on one of my email account and I cant get rid of it! I looked it up and it says you have to log into your account (which doesnt exsist anymore since I removed it) to get rid of the picture or to change it, how stupid can that be?

Anyway if anyone can tell me how to get rid of the profile/account pic and if by any chance in the future setting up a PIN and an account under my email addresses will course an issue in the future for the client who will be using it?

Cheers
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
693 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
I can't really help with the profile picture thing but I do remember something about Microsoft hiding the offline account option on one of the versions. The trick was to unplug ethernet (or WiFi) during initial setup to force the offline account to show up. The 1903 version has the offline account option restored from what I can tell.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,901 (1.16/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
I can't really help with the profile picture thing but I do remember something about Microsoft hiding the offline account option on one of the versions. The trick was to unplug ethernet (or WiFi) during initial setup to force the offline account to show up. The 1903 version has the offline account option restored from what I can tell.
Yeah I did download the ISO of the latest windows and installed it on another system not long back but cant remember if it said I could make a local account or not, I might have to test it and find out.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
232 (1.25/day)
Location
USA - East Coast - Home location currently in flux
System Name Daily Driver(gaming, browsing, light web dev.)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aurus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H60 w/Nidec GentleTyphoon
Memory 16GB(2x8) G.Skill FlareX DDR4-3200C14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Samsung 970 EVO+ 1TB (Boot/OS) | Samsung 860 EVO 1TB (Games) | 2 x WD Spinners 1TB/500GB(BU)
Display(s) 2 X AOC Q3279VWFD8 - 10bit IPS 1440p @ 75hz FreeSync over DP
Case Corsair Graphite 600T w/mesh side
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z625 2.1 | cheapo gaming headset when mic is needed
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux - Blue on Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Not really a benchmark guy...
I can't really help with the profile picture thing but I do remember something about Microsoft hiding the offline account option on one of the versions. The trick was to unplug ethernet (or WiFi) during initial setup to force the offline account to show up. The 1903 version has the offline account option restored from what I can tell.
Yup the easiest way is to not connect it to a network. I just did an install a few weeks ago but I didn't even try it with the Ethernet connected. I'd like to know why M$ thinks a friggin' pin is safer than a password. Annoying!!!

I think it's sad that after all these years the best Windows out of the box experience is still Windows XP.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,136 (3.13/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro,
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit // Windows 10 Pro 64bit with Kodi
You can log into a MS account and then go back and make it local. I have a generic MS account I use
I just did it last week. I thought I just missed the option to make it local but they may have removed it from the install. But it is still there on the latest versions
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
16,144 (3.59/day)
Location
UK\US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-A820 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000 Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
I can't really help with the profile picture thing but I do remember something about Microsoft hiding the offline account option on one of the versions. The trick was to unplug ethernet (or WiFi) during initial setup to force the offline account to show up. The 1903 version has the offline account option restored from what I can tell.
1903 the latest ?,

well i just installed a the most recent version ( a week ago ) on my gaming system and they hide it for sure.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
26,480 (5.21/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 3TB with 500GB MX500 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I think it's sad that after all these years the best Windows out of the box experience is still Windows XP.
:roll: You've got to be joking, right? I don't have to spend nearly the amount of time customizing Windows 10 as I did XP or even 7.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2015
Messages
693 (0.49/day)
Location
Croatia
Processor Core i5-2400 @3,1 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3H
Cooling LC Power LC-CC-95
Memory HyperX Genesis 2x4GB @1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 750 Ti StormX OC 2GB
Storage WD Blue 1TB/ Crucial BX500 120GB/ Seagate 500GB
Display(s) ASUS VW190DE
Case Deepcool Smarter /w 2x Zalman 1000RPM
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply FSP Hexa+ 400W
Mouse Microsoft WMO 1.1A
Keyboard IBM KB-8926
Software W7 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Turns on on the first try! Usually.
1903 the latest ?,

well i just installed a the most recent version ( a week ago ) on my gaming system and they hide it for sure.
Yep I think that's the last one.
 
Joined
May 2, 2017
Messages
1,578 (1.75/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Biostar X370GTN
Cooling Custom CPU+GPU water loop
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4-3200 C16
Video Card(s) AMD R9 Fury X
Storage 500GB 960 Evo (OS ++), 500GB 850 Evo (Games)
Display(s) Dell U2711
Case NZXT H200i
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Lenovo Compact Keyboard with Trackpoint
Software Windows 10 Pro
Last I installed Windows the option was there, but hidden away behind a few clicks. IIRC behind an "advanced settings" button or something. As for the account picture, did you create a new account for the user or convert yours to an offline account? There shouldn't be anything left of your MS account if you did the former. Maybe just try making yet another account? User account pictures really shouldn't carry over...

I think it's sad that after all these years the best Windows out of the box experience is still Windows XP.
Are you serious? I can't believe the nostalgia people have for XP, what with its horrible UX design, dearth of features, and amount of bloat compared to its predecessor (2000). Sure, XP was highly configurable, and a paradigm shift from the horrendous 98, but 2000 had 99% of what XP had with none of its drawbacks. And by the time 2000 started going obsolete (DirectX support and such), Vista was well established. Of course Vista was also a train wreck, but a step in the right direction in many ways. We would never have had 7 without Vista.

And no Windows has ever had a smoother, more complete and fully functional OOBE than 10. It just works. Which XP definitely didn't until you spent quite a few hours making it work.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,173 (1.30/day)
Location
Long Island
MS's revenue stream is based upon data collection .... despite the free upgrade, Win 10 has the slowest uptake rate of any MS OS ever . As far as the OOBE, Win 10 a;lso has had the highest number oc complaintes with users frustarted about finding their way around, replacing shells, restoring functionality an, disabling tracking and getting to the point of being productive.

 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
232 (1.25/day)
Location
USA - East Coast - Home location currently in flux
System Name Daily Driver(gaming, browsing, light web dev.)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aurus Pro Wifi
Cooling Corsair H60 w/Nidec GentleTyphoon
Memory 16GB(2x8) G.Skill FlareX DDR4-3200C14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Samsung 970 EVO+ 1TB (Boot/OS) | Samsung 860 EVO 1TB (Games) | 2 x WD Spinners 1TB/500GB(BU)
Display(s) 2 X AOC Q3279VWFD8 - 10bit IPS 1440p @ 75hz FreeSync over DP
Case Corsair Graphite 600T w/mesh side
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z625 2.1 | cheapo gaming headset when mic is needed
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux - Blue on Black
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Not really a benchmark guy...
:roll: You've got to be joking, right? I don't have to spend nearly the amount of time customizing Windows 10 as I did XP or even 7.
Are you serious? I can't believe the nostalgia people have for XP, what with its horrible UX design, dearth of features, and amount of bloat compared to its predecessor (2000). Sure, XP was highly configurable, and a paradigm shift from the horrendous 98, but 2000 had 99% of what XP had with none of its drawbacks. And by the time 2000 started going obsolete (DirectX support and such), Vista was well established. Of course Vista was also a train wreck, but a step in the right direction in many ways. We would never have had 7 without Vista.

And no Windows has ever had a smoother, more complete and fully functional OOBE than 10. It just works. Which XP definitely didn't until you spent quite a few hours making it work.
Guys OotBE is the name of the configuration menu you get after a fresh install of Windows. Yes, it is absolutely better in XP than Windows 10. It allows you to add multiple local user accounts and several other features not in Windows 10. The Windows XP version doesn't assume I want to give my personal data directly to M$. It doesn't harrass the user to use M$ account or use other shoddy half baked features like Cortana. While I do use Onedrive, I want to use it on my terms not have it shoved down my throat.

I could go on but let's talk about what you are referring to obviously. Let's see now, a dozen or so crapware programs either linked or preinstalled, no thanks! Again Cortana=trash! Giant search box takes up too much space, an icon will suffice. Pre-hidden system tray icons, annoying, I want to know what is going on all the time. All notifications enabled by default, ARE YOU KIDDING ME, I don't need my computer to nag me. That is what I can think of off the top of my head.

Positive changes, so many... Built-in anti-virus that works. The built-in driver support is so much better. The driver search function actually works most of the time. It looks a thousand times better, the start menu is better.

To me the good far out weights the bad. I just wish M$ wasn't so pushy with the apps and gathering my data. Oh and the updates that break things. So many bad updates...
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2015
Messages
99 (0.06/day)
Location
Charleston, SC
System Name EchelonV
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard Asus Prime X470-Pro
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory G.Skill Flare X 2x8GB (F4-3200C16-8GFX)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon 5700XT
Storage Intel 660P 2TB NVMe; 6xWD5000HHTZ RAID-0
Display(s) Dell U3415W
Case Corsair Carbide 678c
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Siberia 800
Power Supply Corsair RM650X; CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD
Mouse SteelSeries Rival 100
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550
Software Windows 10 Professional 1903
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R15 3.9GHz = 1404
I'm not sure about Win 10 Home, but every edition of Pro that I've worked with over the past few years has had an offline account setup during the OOBE (albeit sometimes harder to find than it should be)
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.62/day)
Location
Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
System Name Dire Wolf II
Processor Intel Core i7 7820HQ (2.9Ghz, up to 3.9Ghz)
Motherboard HP 8275
Memory 32GB DDR4 2133Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit Game Rock GTX1080Ti (eGPU: AKiTiO Node Pro), nVidia Quadro M1200 (GTX750Ti) 4GB GDDR5
Storage Intel 600p 512GB
Display(s) HP Z27q (5120x2880) + Dell P2715Q (3840x2160)
Case HP ZBook 15 G4
Audio Device(s) Musiland Monitor 02 US, Tin Audio T2 Pro IEM
Power Supply 150W HP PSU (for Laptop) + Corsair SF600 in the Node Pro
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
I installed 1903 Pro on a laptop last week and I had the ability to install with an offline account. It was on the lower left side of the screen on the page which asks you to create a MS account. It looks like regular text, not highlighted like a button, and says something like "offline account" or "continue with offline account" - That's the extent of "hiding" that I've seen there. I have never created a MS account in my life.
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2019
Messages
674 (2.81/day)
System Name Fatboii
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700X @ 4.2 GHz (all cores)
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero WiFI
Cooling Custom water
Memory G.SKILL Trident Z RGB 3200MHz C14 @ 3733 C16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 under water
Storage Samsung SM951 256GB + 860 EVO 1TB
Display(s) ASUS ROG PG278Q 144Hz
Case Fractal Design R6 Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA G3 850w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master Pro Keys L
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I only game on this system... built for silence, not absolute max performance. ;)
It’s still there... just look a little harder during the install. :)

As said, it’s to the bottom and on the left. It will nag you and say online is better, but just click no and it’ll allow for an offline account to be created.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2008
Messages
4,901 (1.16/day)
Location
Australia
System Name Night Rider | Mini LAN PC | Workhorse
Processor AMD R7 2700X | i7 2600 | i7 970
Motherboard MSi AM4 Pro Carbon | GA-H77M-D3H | Gigabyte EX58-UD5
Cooling AMD Wraith cooler| Coolermaster Gemini with Noctua 3000RPM Fan | Big shairkan B
Memory 2x8GB DDR4 G.Skill Ripjaws 3600MHz| 2x4GB Corsair 1600 | 6x2GB DDR3 1300 Corsair
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 970 OC in Sli | Gainward GTX 650 TI GS | ASUS 7970 Matrix
Storage 250GB Plextor SSD Por 5 /1TB WD Black | 500GB WD ES/WD Black | WD 320/Seagate 320
Display(s) LG 27" 1440P| Samsung 20" S20C300L/DELL 15" | 22" DELL/19"DELL
Case LIAN LI PC-18 | Mini ATX Case (custom) | Atrix C4 9001
Audio Device(s) Onboard | Onbaord | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750 | Silverstone Mini 450W | Corsair CX-750
Mouse Coolermaster Pro | Rapoo V900 | Gigabyte 6850X
Keyboard MAX Keyboard Nighthawk X8 | Creative Fatal1ty eluminx | Some POS Logitech
Software Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64 | Windows 7 Pro 64/Windows 10 Home
Ok well I figured it out, I told Windows to do a complete refresh of the OS (1903) and then made sure it didnt have internet/Ethernet connected to the Computer and it worked, it didnt come up with wanting to make an account or put in a PIN and the picture had been removed. So thanks for the info for that. Note to self every time I want to install Windows 10 do NOT connect it to the internet until after the installation is complete.

:toast:

It’s still there... just look a little harder during the install. :)

As said, it’s to the bottom and on the left. It will nag you and say online is better, but just click no and it’ll allow for an offline account to be created.
No sadly its not when you are connected to the internet, trust me I look EVERYWHERE to get passed it as I have in the past but it just wasnt there until the net was removed during the install process
 
Top