• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 Build 17093 Causing problems with system. Send Help!

Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,257 (0.38/day)
Likes
172
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#1
Hey guys,

Hope you all are doing good!

Long time since I posted something here. Started facing some problem with my PC again, searched online and nothing seem to work. So back here to ask you guys for help.

So my PC was facing some trouble with Windows Insider Build since build 17074. Read online that Kaspersky Internet Security could be the problem and uninstalling it certainly fixed it. But since then my pc has updated to 17093 and every boot after complete shutdown PC gets stuck in boot loop.

The boot loop does not even reach windows screen, motherboard goes through its error codes : "99...9C...A2...MSI Gaming Series logo" and then reboots and same thing continues infinitely.

I tried to fix this by rebuilding bcd using Windows 10 install pendrive repair option, which seemed to work only once and since then has not worked.


One thing that always seems to work is bootrec /fixboot in cmd from bootable pendrive repair option. So, I am guessing it is a Software or Drive issue more than Hardware issue. I am actually using my PC at this moment using the fixboot technique.

Hardware side of things are all in perfect condition(cleaned my PC just in case), CPU is not overheating, GPU is not overheating.


Installing Windows again is the last option I have as I think this could be fixed as most likely this is a software issue.

So, guys if you have any whats going on, any input is appreciated.

Thanks for reading. Have a great day ahead :)

regards,

mafia97
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,787 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,470
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#2
My guess is it is a buggy insider build for your hardware configuration and it would probably be best to deal with this issue with Windows Insider Program (that is what this platform is for), but if this is your only PC to use you may have to roll it back for now. Good luck and welcome back !
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,257 (0.38/day)
Likes
172
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#3
My guess is it is a buggy insider build for your hardware configuration and it would probably be best to deal with this issue with Windows Insider Program (that is what this platform is for), but if this is your only PC to use you may have to roll it back for now. Good luck and welcome back !
Well I tried that too. Windows rolled me back to the same build. And yes, this is the only PC I have.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,787 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,470
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#4
Do you have a OEM or Retail windows license you could use to install the Official Windows Release?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,257 (0.38/day)
Likes
172
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#5
Hi Guys, I have fixed the issue. It was a windows fast boot issue.

I ran command prompt in admin mode and just wrote the command "powercfg -h off"

and this fixed the issue.

Mods please keep the thread open for a few days, if there are any developments I will post here.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2012
Messages
1,636 (0.83/day)
Likes
661
Location
Jacksonhole Florida
System Name DEVIL'S ABYSS
Processor i7-4790K@4.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus Z97-Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H110 (2 x 140mm)(3 x 140mm case fans)
Memory 16GB Adata XPG V2 2400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 780 Ti Classified
Storage Intel 750 Series 400GB (AIC), Plextor M6e 256GB (M.2), 13 TB storage
Display(s) Crossover 27QW (27"@ 2560x1440)
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply Cooler Master V1000
Mouse Ttsports Talon Blu
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 version 1709
Benchmark Scores Passmark CPU score = 13080
#6
Hi Guys, I have fixed the issue. It was a windows fast boot issue.

I ran command prompt in admin mode and just wrote the command "powercfg -h off"

and this fixed the issue.

Mods please keep the thread open for a few days, if there are any developments I will post here.
So another issue with hibernation? I'm on RS3 release170928 and never had boot loop issues with any versions. Maybe because I always turn off hibernation using the command prompt. Sometimes the update will turn it back on, but I always check afterwards (run WinDirStat). Hibernation sucks, half the time it doesn't work, requires reboot anyway. I would only try to use it on a laptop, for battery life.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,245 (9.46/day)
Likes
13,777
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 3066 C18
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5 White Gold edition + RGB lighting
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + Corsair Void RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#7
Could this be related to the buggy spectre/meltdown patches everyone was unhappy about? You do have a 4000 series intel, which was one of the affected models.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,744 (1.65/day)
Likes
2,091
#8
I thought I recognised that cmd as I always turn off hibernation by default, never had that issue though, how did you roll back or enter admin mode when it wasn't even getting to Windows loading screen?
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
9,645 (2.75/day)
Likes
13,444
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
Processor Core i7-3770k 3.5Ghz, O/C to 4.2Ghz fulltime @ 1.19v
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Z68 Pro Gen3
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 250GB MX200 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#9
Could this be related to the buggy spectre/meltdown patches everyone was unhappy about? You do have a 4000 series intel, which was one of the affected models.
The is been a fairly widespread but intermittent problem with hibernation since W8.1. Works for some, goes apeshit for others.

My advice to people I know with SSD's is always turn it off.
 
Joined
Feb 13, 2018
Messages
1 (0.08/day)
Likes
0
#10
So another issue with hibernation? I'm on RS3 release170928 and never had boot loop issues with any versions. Maybe because I always turn off hibernation using the command prompt. Sometimes the update will turn it back on, but I always check afterwards (run WinDirStat). Hibernation sucks, half the time it doesn't work, requires reboot anyway. I would only try to use it on a laptop, for battery life.
Great information. I had the same endless boot cycle with my ASUS. I got around it temporarily by interrupting the boot cycle (F11) and selecting to boot from the SANdisk. The long way home. I will turn off hibernation and see if this fixes my issue.
 

peche

Thermaltake fanboy
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
6,371 (5.28/day)
Likes
5,232
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
System Name Athenna
Processor intel i7 3770 *Dellided*
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Pro + Tt Riing12 x2 / Tt ThunderBlade / Gelid Slim 120UV fans
Memory 16GB DRR3 Kingoston with Custom Tt spreaders + HyperX Fan
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 980 4GB Nvidia Sample
Storage Crucial M4 SSD 64GB's / Seagate Barracuda 2TB / Seagate Barracuda 320GB's
Display(s) 22" LG FLATRON 1920 x 1280p
Case Thermaltake Commander G42 Window
Audio Device(s) On-board Dolby 5.1+ Kingston HyperX Cloud 1
Power Supply Themaltake TR2 700W 80plus bronce & APC Pro backup 1000Va
Mouse Tt eSports Level 10M Rev 1.0 Diamond Black & Tt Conkor "L" mouse pad
Keyboard Tt eSports KNUCKER
Software windows 10x64Pro
Benchmark Scores well I've fried a 775' P4 12 years ago, that counts?
#11
Joined
Feb 14, 2009
Messages
1,257 (0.38/day)
Likes
172
Location
Delhi,India
System Name Mr. 97
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k @4.6GHz
Motherboard MSI Gaming 5 Z97
Cooling Nepton 240M + 6 Case fans
Memory Kingston HyperX Fury @2200MHz 16GB (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970 Gaming 4G @ 1552MHz
Storage WD Cavier Green 1TB 64 MB Cache @7200RPM
Display(s) LG 29UB67 21:9 2560x1080
Case Cooler Master cm690
Audio Device(s) on Board
Power Supply Corsair RM750 750W PSU
Mouse Logitech G400s
Keyboard TVS Gold from 1996
Software Windows 10.1 64BIT
#12
I thought I recognised that cmd as I always turn off hibernation by default, never had that issue though, how did you roll back or enter admin mode when it wasn't even getting to Windows loading screen?
I used windows bootable pendrive to access command prompt via that and used fixboot command to access my windows.
Could this be related to the buggy spectre/meltdown patches everyone was unhappy about? You do have a 4000 series intel, which was one of the affected models.
I dont think thats the case here as the switching off fast boot has fixed it.