• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Windows 10 Fall Creators Update ( bypassed password ).

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#1
Well windows update kicked in to day for the new creators update and by the end of the day found time to get it out of the way.

Apparently after the update it said it BS HI crap it bypassed the login password, well rebooted and password is still there but raises a question to me.

If MS can put some thing on your system that can bypass the loggin how it it any safer, to me it's like a backdoor they can use when ever they feel like.

On top of thatBefore deciding too update the system booted up all by it's own, now i have witnessed this while the system is in sleep mode ( not sure about hibernation ) but this being my main system it's always fully shutdown.

So is MS sending magic packets too system to wake them up for updates ?, and yeah i be checking the network card settings just in case.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,383 (1.96/day)
Likes
6,503
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#2
I hate to break it to you but this has always been the case. The admin/SYSTEM account can bypass any login and get account access.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#3
Well if MS can bypass it when ever they feel like it hardly makes a system secure, and sure i know nothings secure and all that but MS just putting shit on your system to bypass the password is just pure wrong.

So basically a hack is available when the update is released and best part MS made the frigging shit.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
7,383 (1.96/day)
Likes
6,503
System Name New Genesis
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800X @ 4.1GHz All Cores
Motherboard GIGABYTE Aorus Gaming 5
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S CPU Cooler with dual fans,4x 120mm Sunon MagLev Blowers and 2x 120mm Corsair ML120Pro
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 FTW2 w /iCX Cooler
Storage HGST Ultrastar 7k6000 2TB HDD w/ 128MBs of Cache
Display(s) Benq BL3200PT 1440p 32" LCD w/ AU Optronics AMVA true 10-bit 100% sRGB Panel
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus TItanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores TS/FS Extreme: 10562: https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14260421 3575: https://www.3dmark.com/spy/2816092
#4
Well if MS can bypass it when ever they feel like it hardly makes a system secure, and sure i know nothings secure and all that but MS just putting shit on your system to bypass the password is just pure wrong.
Every OS has a supervisory account concept. In linux it is called "root."

It's not a "hack" because the system itself has to call it.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#5
True, but still don't make it right for MS when ever they please, although i guess you \ we gave permission by excepting the update.

Been using windows since Win 3.11 and never noticed them over ride it before although i never got in to Win 8.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
but this being my main system it's always fully shutdown
Unless you have changes certain settings, Windows 10 is never fully shutdown. A shutdown is just hibernation.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,317 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#7
I have disabled hibernation, i noticed that some time ago what your on about which can be done though the hidden sleep options . Now the PC always up time timer is always reset.