• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 HDR crashes (Windows HD Color crashes)

Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
36 (0.08/day)
I have a BenQ EL2870U HDR monitor using a Display Port cable on an RTX 2060. Whenever I switch HDR on in Windows 10, very often, the screen will freeze up, turn black and turn back on, causing games, videos and the like to crash or appear white-screen (videos—video players, youtube etc.) I thought games would automatically detect if you have an HDR-compatible monitor connected and would allow you to turn it on in game without needing to turn on "Windows HD Color", but that is not the case as I need to have Windows HD color turned on to even use HDR in anything on the PC.
I have no idea what these random crashes are. I've already tried uninstalling, reinstalling numerous display drivers for NVIDIA (including Game and Studio drivers) same results—HDR crashes. I'm currently running Game Ready Driver (451.67, recent version up to date). Yet HDR still randomly display crashes. And the more it happens the more games and other content refuse to start and just crash.
Thing about having HDR on with this monitor, is, with it off (revert to SDR), the sharpness is messed up and works improperly.
Any help figuring out this problem would be appreciated.

tl;dr
HDR on Windows 10 (Windows HD Color) causes display crashes

Code:
Windows 10 (2004 build)
256 SSD
16 GB RAM
RTX 2060
NVIDIA Game Ready Driver 451.67
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,109 (0.69/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Xeon E5-1680 v2 @ 4,3GHz
Motherboard Sabertooth X79 (BIOS 4801 + NVMe mod + uCode update)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X (w/LGA 2011 kit) + 2x Delta PWM Push-Pull
Memory 8x A-Data Xtreme 2000X 2GB (1868MHz CL8.9.8.24 CR2T @ 1,65V)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 (FE)
Storage Samsung SM961 256GB NVMe, RAID0 2x WD10EZEX (1TB), HGST HUS726060ALE610 (6TB)
Display(s) Samsung T240
Case NZXT Tempest (Nanoflux/PWM fans only, some w/LEDs)
Audio Device(s) ASUS Essence ST Deluxe 7.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Roccat Savu
Keyboard Logitech UltraXPremium
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V9/display.php?id=108080818886
Standard driver or DCH one ?
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,631 (4.44/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Yeah, it isn't HDR as the brightness is 300, minimum for HDR is 400.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
36 (0.08/day)
So BenQ lied about the product? Should I return it for false advertisement? I just brought it two days ago; I should've went the g-sync 1440p, but wanted the bigger 4K HDR route, but if it's true it doesn't really have it— This explains the reason it's been having these random crashes? Like whenever the brightness went out of range of the minotr with HDR on, the display would crash (turn black) and come back on?). I could see why, if that's the case.
I'm not sure how the option for HDR (HD Color) is even available with this.
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
9,631 (4.44/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel i5-9600KF
Motherboard NZXT N7 Z370 Black
Cooling Cooler Master 240 RGB AIO / Stock
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4 or Gigabyte 16GB 3600MHz DDR4 or Adata 8GB 2133Mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus Dual 1060 6GB
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
You can try return it, although it would be hard to prove they lied about the product, there must be a reason they call it HDR.
Look for one with better viewing angles (178/178), wider colour gamut (90+) a VA panel NOT TN, and increased brightness of 400 minimum, higher refresh rate over 60 is a bonus.
 
Joined
Jun 7, 2019
Messages
186 (0.39/day)
System Name Times Killer
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard MSI B450-A Pro rev. 2.0
Cooling Corsair H110 Extreme Performance AIO
Memory 2x 8gb Corsair 3200 mhz LPX for Ryzen @ 3733mhz 16-16-16-38
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1070Ti ACX 3.0 +223/455/ Asus Strix Vega 56 Gaming OC 1650/890mhz 1060mw
Storage 2 X 1TB WD's 1X 4gb WB red 1x LG WH16NS40 16x blu-ray writer
Display(s) HP Omen X 27
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D W/ airflow kit
Audio Device(s) SoundblasterX AE-5 / Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Carsair 850-M
Mouse Logitech Proteus spectrum G502
Keyboard Logitech G213 Prodigy
Software Windows 10 home
it supports the hdr10 protocol but pretty much nothing else hdr. if you can i'd try.
though quick question.. are you using a display port 1.2 cable or a 1.4 cable...
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
36 (0.08/day)
What sites are better for shopping for monitors? Newegg or Amazon? I try to find a suitable 27" (1440p) monitor (just so those pixels are spread out and blurry this time)
And regarding HDR well, I dunno if such monitors come with the whole package commonly. (e.g. g-sync, 144hz, 10-bit, VA panel, HDR 1000). Basically, any other place than BenQ. It's time to get away from them now.

are you using a display port 1.2 cable or a 1.4 cable...
display cable 1.4.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
36 (0.08/day)
So I got a new monitor today with the correct hdr specifications yet the random crashes still occur. Literally the OS will freeze for ~5/10 seconds before the screens goes black and turns back on, all content (videos/video players/games, crash or have a white screen). Clearly something is wrong; Windows HDR (HD Color) is still broken even in the latest update. (2004)
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
5,708 (4.20/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
I tired just one game in HDR, it was Hitman 2 and the only way it worked is if I turned off HDR in windows.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,338 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
Stay far away from this bullshit technology is my advice. Monitor technology needs to advance to OLED levels before any form of useful HDR can be implemented.

The whole VESA HDR spec is one big industry cluster*peep*. Stay away. Buy a good VA or IPS that you can calibrate neutrally and has the resolution and refresh rate you are looking for. Its really that simple. Check a review or two on tftcentral.co.uk before you buy and always have a no hassle return policy. Panels are a lottery and 90% of what you read in the spec sheet is total BS.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
36 (0.08/day)
I already got a new monitor following these specific specs and to even play any games in HDR, I need to have it turned in Windows or the option is greyed out.
 
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
270 (0.08/day)
System Name Gaming PC/ EDU PC/ HFS PC
Processor Intel i9-9900KF/ Dual Ryzen 7 2700X
Motherboard Asrock Z390 Taichi Ultimate/ Dual Asrock X370 Proffesional Gaming
Cooling Noctua NH-C14S/ Arctic Xtreme Freezer/ Ryzen Wraith Prysm RGB
Memory 64GB Corsair Vengeance PRO RGB 3200/ 32GB Corsair Dominator 3000/ 16GB Corsair Vengeance Pro 3200
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2080Ti Ventus / Zotac GTX 1080Ti Mini / EVGA GTX 1060 SC Gaming
Storage Dual 970 EVO Plus 1TB + 6Tb 860 EVO/ 960 EVO 500GB + 18Tb R0/ 840EVO 250Gb + 16Tb R0
Display(s) Samsung 32" LC32JG50 Curved 2560x1440 144Hz / Samsung 32" LC32H711 Curved 2560x1440 Freesync
Case Cooler Master Stacker 830 NV Edition/ Dual Cooler Master 690 Advance II
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Surround 5.1 SBX/ Creative X-Fi Titanium Pci-E/ On-board Realtek
Power Supply Triple Corsair Platinum HX850i
Mouse Logitech G7 WL / Logitech G903 Lightspeed / MS BT 8000
Keyboard Dual Logitech G19s
Software Win10 Pro
HDR... nobody uses it...
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
13,338 (6.05/day)
Location
The Kitchen Table
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I already got a new monitor following these specific specs and to even play any games in HDR, I need to have it turned in Windows or the option is greyed out.
What you are seeing is not HDR becaise the monitor dorsnt have the dynamic range to show all the contrast steps required for it. You are just looking at warped colors with lots of steps hidden to you. So its different Im sure, but it is not accurate in any way and SD will likely be much more balanced and not visually oversaturated, undersaturated, too bright or too dark.

Then again as long as you like the picture all is well.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,115 (4.15/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
What sites are better for shopping for monitors? Newegg or Amazon? I try to find a suitable 27" (1440p) monitor (just so those pixels are spread out and blurry this time)
And regarding HDR well, I dunno if such monitors come with the whole package commonly. (e.g. g-sync, 144hz, 10-bit, VA panel, HDR 1000). Basically, any other place than BenQ. It's time to get away from them now.



display cable 1.4.
Very few, if any (you should disregard DisplayHDR 400 certified products, those aren't really HDR capable): https://displayhdr.org/certified-products/
I don't think you need DisplayHDR 1000+, 600 should be enough for anything but the brightest rooms.

Stay far away from this bullshit technology is my advice. Monitor technology needs to advance to OLED levels before any form of useful HDR can be implemented.

The whole VESA HDR spec is one big industry cluster*peep*. Stay away. Buy a good VA or IPS that you can calibrate neutrally and has the resolution and refresh rate you are looking for. Its really that simple. Check a review or two on tftcentral.co.uk before you buy and always have a no hassle return policy. Panels are a lottery and 90% of what you read in the spec sheet is total BS.
Couldn't agree more. I got me a new monitor and after a lot of research, I gave up on HDR and simply went with wide gamut for the time being.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
36 (0.08/day)
What you are seeing is not HDR becaise the monitor dorsnt have the dynamic range to show all the contrast steps required for it. You are just looking at warped colors with lots of steps hidden to you. So its different Im sure, but it is not accurate in any way and SD will likely be much more balanced and not visually oversaturated, undersaturated, too bright or too dark.

Then again as long as you like the picture all is well.
Not the BenQ monitor, I got a new monitor with the corretc HDR specs (HDR 1000, etc.). If the monitor has the right HDR specifications, I can use it now? But clearly even with a monitor with the right HDR specifications the same thing happens.
Can't play games in HDR without having Windows HD Color on or the option is greyed out
Having Windows HD Color causes the random crashes.

I gave up on HDR and simply went with wide gamut for the time being.
This is supposed to be better than HDR. I just got a new monitor trying to get the right specs for HDR, now this I hear? Is this wide gamut good for games too?
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,115 (4.15/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
This is supposed to be better than HDR. I just got a new monitor trying to get the right specs for HDR, now this I hear? Is this wide gamut good for games too?
Wide gamut is not better than HDR. HDR, as defined today, is wide gamut + more generous contrast.
Colors pop more on a wide gamut monitor, but if the game is not made for wide gamut (I know none that is), colors will just look artificial/cartoony if forced outside the standard sRGB space.
I just needed wide gamut for my photos.

Fwiw, you didn't do much of a job reading about HDR either. You got standards for HDR input signal, but that will just get crushed back into sRGB if you don't pay attention to the specs for output capabilities. Don't feel too bad about it, it's not straightforward to grasp. Just read until you understand it better, otherwise you'll keep paying for hardware you don't actually want/need.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
36 (0.08/day)
Wide gamut is not better than HDR. HDR, as defined today, is wide gamut + more generous contrast.
Colors pop more on a wide gamut monitor, but if the game is not made for wide gamut (I know none that is), colors will just look artificial/cartoony if forced outside the standard sRGB space.
I just needed wide gamut for my photos.

Fwiw, you didn't do much of a job reading about HDR either. You got standards for HDR input signal, but that will just get crushed back into sRGB if you don't pay attention to the specs for output capabilities. Don't feel too bad about it, it's not straightforward to grasp. Just read until you understand it better, otherwise you'll keep paying for hardware you don't actually want/need.
Yet none of this actually answers the questions WHY Windows 10 + display is crashing with HDR on. That's what I want to know.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,115 (4.15/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Yet none of this actually answers the questions WHY Windows 10 + display is crashing with HDR on. That's what I want to know.
Probably because you're not supposed to activate HDR for each and every title. Most of them are supposed to switch to HDR mode automatically.
But that is beside the point. You do not want to activate HDR on that thing. It doesn't make sense to do so on a monitor that doesn't output HDR anyway.
 
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,626 (1.10/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Rainbow puke/ Orange Poop
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600/ AMD Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard ASRock X570 Gaming 4s/ ASRock B450- pro 4 atx
Cooling Cooler master Master Air/ Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 2080 Super AMP
Storage Corsair 512gb PCI-E 4.0/ 960 EVO 500gb/256gb Inland Premium 2280 M2
Display(s) ACER 144hz 27"
Case Thermaltake Commander C33/ Radimax Gama (LoL)
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Red Dragon RGB 602 Griffin
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
Huh.. My monitor is on the HDR vesa certified list..cool beans.

Windows sucks at HDR... Turn it on auto on your monitor and off in windows and ON or AUTO in game.
. Even after that.. Color doesn't look right after coming out of AC Odyssey.
Looks okay after COD MW and WWII...

Basically HDR depends on what it's implemented on.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,115 (4.15/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
Joined
Mar 14, 2009
Messages
4,626 (1.10/day)
Location
Ohio
System Name Rainbow puke/ Orange Poop
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600/ AMD Ryzen 2600x
Motherboard ASRock X570 Gaming 4s/ ASRock B450- pro 4 atx
Cooling Cooler master Master Air/ Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB G.Skill TridentZ 3200MHZ
Video Card(s) Zotac 2080 Super AMP
Storage Corsair 512gb PCI-E 4.0/ 960 EVO 500gb/256gb Inland Premium 2280 M2
Display(s) ACER 144hz 27"
Case Thermaltake Commander C33/ Radimax Gama (LoL)
Power Supply Seasonic
Mouse Red Dragon RGB 602 Griffin
Keyboard Razer Deatstalker
Software Windows 10Pro x64
Not if it's listed under DisplayHDR 400 I'm afraid.
It is Lol.
Honestly HDR and 400 should not exist together.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bug

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,115 (4.15/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
It is Lol.
Honestly HDR and 400 should not exist together.
Technically, there's nothing wrong with 400nits. The problem is a wide color gamut is not required and the contrast specs are so lax they can be met using edge lighting, which looks crappy by design.
There could be a DisplayHDR 400 standard, just not this one. This one is basically met by any monitor that's not of lowest tier and it's a dishonest way of tricking users thinking they have a HDR capable monitor.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2019
Messages
36 (0.08/day)
Probably because you're not supposed to activate HDR for each and every title. Most of them are supposed to switch to HDR mode automatically.
But that is beside the point. You do not want to activate HDR on that thing. It doesn't make sense to do so on a monitor that doesn't output HDR anyway.
What are you talking about? I'm turning HDR on via Windows Display setting. (Sliders says Turn on HDR). Without turning that setting on in the Display Settings, HDR is off and can't be used in anyway, all games have the option grayed out if "User HDR" setting in Windows is turned off. The point of this thread was why there is these random crashes after turning HDR on in Windows Display settings. The display will go black randomly and make even video playback turn white/stop working. Enough about the HDR specifications, I want to know what's behind the crashes.
 

bug

Joined
May 22, 2015
Messages
8,115 (4.15/day)
Processor Intel i5-6600k (AMD Ryzen5 3600 in a box, waiting for a mobo)
Motherboard ASRock Z170 Extreme7+
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer i11
Memory 2x16GB DDR4 3600 G.Skill Ripjaws V (@3200)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1060 SC
Storage 500GB Samsung 970 EVO, 500GB Samsung 850 EVO, 1TB Crucial MX300 and 3TB Seagate
Display(s) HP ZR24w
Case Raijintek Thetis
Audio Device(s) Audioquest Dragonfly Red :D
Power Supply Seasonic 620W M12
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Core
Keyboard G.Skill KM780R
Software Arch Linux + Win10
What are you talking about?
Your monitor can't display HDR. By activating HDR in Windows you're just forcing the GPU to render HDR only to have the monitor crush that back into SDR. Probably doing at poor job while at it, too, resulting in unnatural colors.
 
Top