• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 install "S" WTF

Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#1
So i'm taking a break from this mess but here's what happen.
My friend that is still having issues with WOW wants to do a clean install (this is an updated W7 to 10)

I booted to the USB with 1709 and installed from Legacy not uefi like I always do
It installed Windows 10 S ?? Then I go to install Firefox and its blocked (your organization used windows defender application control to block this app) something like that
So Google Windows 10 S Blocking apps. It says to get it to WIndows pro like it was. So he logs into his Microsoft Account and it go to Windows 10 Pro.
Still blocks every software install



http://www.winhelponline.com/blog/organization-used-windows-defender-application-control-block-app/

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/id-3545745/windows-defender-application-control.html
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,633 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,892
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#2
it is the same thing that happened to me, the only fix i could get to work was Reinstall :(

it thinks its the business version of win10, or the one for work , enterprise
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#3
So i'm trying resetting the BIOS which I should have done and turning secure boot off
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,633 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,892
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#4
So i'm trying resetting the BIOS which I should have done and turning secure boot off
Yeah I tried all those too. I hope it works for you. gl

I don't know how it happens. It's got to be some type of error with windows recognizing something incorrectly. I went to install windows 10 pro retail and it apparently thought it was windows 10 enterprise. I couldn't install anything every time I tried I get a stupid message about how everything was blocked
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
7,227 (1.48/day)
Likes
9,163
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#5
I booted to the USB with 1709 and installed from Legacy not uefi like I always do
It installed Windows 10 S ??
This may be of relevance for you #26

edit
You may be the 1st Reported S Casualty on the Site :rolleyes:o_O
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#6
This is crap. I'm trying a new license now
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,633 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,892
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#7
This is crap. I'm trying a new license now
pretty f@cking annoying huh? i feel you man, wasnt more than a few months ago that i Went through this $hit. After getting through all the install, and B$, and then i even started up on drivers for the MoBo before i tried to install a Web browser, and NOPE!!! :banghead::banghead:
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#8
I did an install on by PC last October and it was no problem at all
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,821 (1.66/day)
Likes
2,883
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#9
had this on several machines at work recently (1711 distro converted from official MS image). Secureboot does not change shit, so here's my five cents:
1) Temporary workaround is to do non-UEFI install (convert your USB stick to MBR and write an ISO w/ Rufus in BIOS/UEFI[CSM] mode).
2) Permanent workaround: roll back to 1511,1607 or 1703
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,635 (4.16/day)
Likes
6,571
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#10
You can fix this. If it’s PRO now (pre req) then you should be able too (on mobile sorry) go into settings applications(?) there should be 3 options that will allow you to install

Untrustee apps
Trusted apps
Programs

If you are coming from S it may have stuck so you need to switch it to programs

Can try and get a SS in a bit.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,821 (1.66/day)
Likes
2,883
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#11
You can fix this. If it’s PRO now (pre req) then you should be able too (on mobile sorry) go into settings applications(?) there should be 3 options that will allow you to install

Untrustee apps
Trusted apps
Programs
tried that - no luck. Re-checked every setting in Defender > App&Browser Control - still no luck.
The rest is impossible, cause you can't even run regedit or anything else besides UWP packages and standard utilities. The problem is so bad, that even some drivers can't install from Windows Update (specifically NVidia driver).
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,633 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,892
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#12
tried that - no luck. Re-checked every setting in Defender > App&Browser Control - still no luck.
The rest is impossible, cause you can't even run regedit or anything else besides UWP packages and standard utilities. The problem is so bad, that even some drivers can't install from Windows Update (specifically NVidia driver).
Yup. Its basically a broken OS in that form, as nothing can be done for the most part
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#13
I got tired of trying. I have a New OEM laying around so I used that(1703) . Seams to be work so far
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,186 (2.79/day)
Likes
14,274
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming 6G LE
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 25VX 25" IPS @ 1920 x 1080
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#14
Wow, this situation is crazy!.

EDIT: What would be good to know is how NOT to have this happen on an install. You shouldn’t have to buy a new key.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#15
Maybe its the free updates to 10 that they borked the clean install? When he logged into his MS account it changed to Pro but till nothing would install
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,633 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,892
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#16
Wow, this situation is crazy!.

EDIT: What would be good to know is how NOT to have this happen on an install. You shouldn’t have to buy a new key.
I would also love to know what causes it, but when it happened to me ,it was with windows 10 pro key, and I did everything the same I have many many times before ,and didn't have it happen then. It's a really frustrating situation because depending on the computer your installing to, The process could take a long time if it's an older machine or what have you. Then once all that time is past you find out it was all for not, and you have to start all over again. But from what I've heard from others experience is ,they try to troubleshoot it from inside the operating system for a number of hours ,or days possibly ,and then they come to the conclusion to just switch keys or try another reinstall. Very frustrating
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,635 (4.16/day)
Likes
6,571
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#17
yeah its really interesting because I have an S WIM I install in VMs and I havent had this issue, the only thing I conjured up was maybe the settings for Apps stuck maybe ill play and try to break it more.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,132 (2.29/day)
Likes
8,223
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 4.8 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#18
I just did a reinstall yesterday without issue.

I'm curious what you did different.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,633 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,892
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#19
I have an S WIM I install in VMs and I havent had this issue, the only thing I conjured up was maybe the settings for Apps stuck maybe ill play and try to break it more.
i wonder if its possible for it to ONLY happen in a Real machine?? meaning some difference between a VM and a actual Machine is what the culprit is set off by?

i suppose we'll see after you see if You are able to replicate it.....im curious myself.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,132 (2.29/day)
Likes
8,223
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 4.8 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#20
i wonder if its possible for it to ONLY happen in a Real machine?? meaning some difference between a VM and a actual Machine is what the culprit is set off by?

i suppose we'll see after you see if You are able to replicate it.....im curious myself.
My machine yesterday was a "real machine." Bare metal install to one in my profile.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,632 (3.42/day)
Likes
7,448
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#21
I did an install last October no issues. This was installed the same way, same USB ISO even used a local account no license. It wasent till it turned out with the W10 S that I had him log into his MS account.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,633 (4.11/day)
Likes
10,892
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#22
I did an install last October no issues. This was installed the same way, same USB ISO even used a local account no license. It wasent till it turned out with the W10 S that I had him log into his MS account.
I'm confident it's nothing you did. It has to be a variable w/ the operating system side of things. Some kind of glitch or error in how it reads the key? I had it happen once with my nephew Colby's computer, and I had it happen again with the most recent kreij giveaway computer. Oddly (just like you) I used the same USB thumb drive, and the exact same steps for the last 10 windows installs I've done (even the same Win ISO) ,and it just seemed to happen randomly. The only thing I did differently than you, I didn't use a new key when I got it to work, I just simply re-started the install process after formatting the drive and starting all over again, and it worked. I didnt do anything differently the second time, so I can't say that I solve the problem it just didn't happen to me The 2nd time. Both times ive encountered it, i had to restart the process. I actually reached out to the person I bought the key for him to make sure he hadn't sold me an enterprise key.
 

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,635 (4.16/day)
Likes
6,571
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#23
well so far so good on my S wim but iv only done the first wave of updates, I havent switched out yet. Which also brings me ot this. From the way it is written it seems to indicate that "S" will be enabled by default. If it asks you or gives you the option to disable during setup remains to be seen. I will prob give it a try and let you know.

https://blogs.windows.com/windowsex...ws-10-s-mode-coming-soon-editions-windows-10/
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2005
Messages
297 (0.06/day)
Likes
212
#24
Forced updates gives Microsoft control of your system.

Microsoft doesn't want you to install anything from 3rd party sources, they want everyone to stick to their store.

The workaround for this issue is very simple: Don't use Windows 10.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
9,132 (2.29/day)
Likes
8,223
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 4.8 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Titan XP Star Wars Collectors Edition (Galactic Empire)
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 14625:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/15253894 TS 10496:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/3557134
#25
The workaround for this issue is very simple: Don't use Windows 10.
That's a different product, not a workaround.

The workaround would be the Windows Update Minitool. And I may add, I still install every update but I haven't gotten this. Is that perhaps the variable?
 
Top