• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 install "S" WTF

Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,665 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,517
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#26
Im curious if it was caused by a clean install after the free update from 7 and after Jan 15 2018. Will have to wait for someone else to do it
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2012
Messages
1,401 (0.68/day)
Likes
946
Location
south korea
System Name budget gaming / MSI gs70 6qe silver
Processor i7 4770k 4.0 ghz / i7 6700hq
Motherboard Asus Z87m-plus / msi h97
Cooling Zigmatek Janus LP / stock
Memory G.Skill TridentX 16gb 2666 mhz CL11 / Samsung ddr4 2133
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060 6gb AMP / gtx 970m
Storage 750gb Seagate (OS); 1x 1tb WD; 1x2tb Seagate
Display(s) 2x crossover 30x-p driver + crossover 3020mdp 1600p eyefinity / HP elitedisplay E231 1080p
Case BRAVOTEC DEFY R50
Audio Device(s) Onboard / onboard
Power Supply Silverstone 750W gold/ Powertex 500w
Mouse Logitech G100S
Keyboard Steelseries Mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,360 (0.97/day)
Likes
622
Location
USA
System Name Future Build 2019 or 2020
Processor Ryzen 3rd Gen 8 core 16 thread 4.6ghz all cores
Motherboard AM4 X570
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with AM4 bracket
Memory 16(2x8GB) DDR5 or 4
Video Card(s) Vega 2 GDDR6
Storage Micron 1100 2TB SSD
Display(s) 27" 2560 x 1440 Micro LED 165hz HDR600 certified
Case Thermaltake View 22 + 3x Corsair Dark Purple fans
Power Supply Corsair TX750 v2
#28
I went back to Win 8.1 with class start menu from ninite installed, windows updates disabled, and used wsus offline updater for my updates... rock solid, super fast, no bloat, 0% cpu usage all the time even when idle for long times (win 10 would get to like 11% randomly all the time, lulz... M$)

have to say I am in love with win 8.1 after making a few adjustments / uninstalling some of the minimal bloat with cc cleaner.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,203 (5.42/day)
Likes
11,478
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#29
Im curious if it was caused by a clean install after the free update from 7 and after Jan 15 2018. Will have to wait for someone else to do it
I'm curious how you made the USB flash drive?

When I use the MeidaCreationTool put out by Microsoft, it creates a flash drive with every version on it. Then when I'm doing a clean install I just don't put in a key when it asks for one, and I'm given a screen that lets me pick which version of Windows 10 I want to install. Did it no do this for you?

I also wonder if this is a pre-built computer. It is possible that the manufacturer had loaded a Windows 10 S key into the BIOS, so the Windows installer read that key and automatically installed Windows 10 S.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,803 (1.72/day)
Likes
1,460
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 10TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#30
Microsoft doesn't want you to install anything from 3rd party sources, they want everyone to stick to their store.
Only with the S operating system that he didnt want in the first place. The installer somehow glitched and installed the S that microsoft has recently decided to abandon anyway.

@Jetster your friends shit is haunted.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,665 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,517
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#31
I'm curious how you made the USB flash drive?

When I use the MeidaCreationTool put out by Microsoft, it creates a flash drive with every version on it. Then when I'm doing a clean install I just don't put in a key when it asks for one, and I'm given a screen that lets me pick which version of Windows 10 I want to install. Did it no do this for you?

I also wonder if this is a pre-built computer. It is possible that the manufacturer had loaded a Windows 10 S key into the BIOS, so the Windows installer read that key and automatically installed Windows 10 S.
The flash drive I created with a W10 Pro ISO (1709) from Drone's thread here Using ZotacWinUSB. I've used this USB before to install my clean install last October. No issues
Installed with no key like I always do, His previous install was with 7 pro undated to W 10 Pro and he has a MS account

The PC I build three years ago with all off the shelf new parts and a used CPU. And I did the install three times to make sure I didn't miss something.

All ended up with Windows 10 S then upgraded after logging into his MS account to Pro. But I could not install Firefox still same error. Same with Nvidia software

Did the forth install with a new OEM install disk and license. Works fine now

It may be haunted. It wouldn't be the first time I've replaced an entire system to solve a problem :kookoo:

Specs of this:
i7 4770K Used delided I bought from here
ASRock H97
16 Gb
1Tb
ASUS GTX 760 2 Gb
Seasonic M12II 620
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
22,362 (6.22/day)
Likes
11,441
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#32
I just created install media like 2-3 weeks ago (still September FCU to my disappointment) and Windows 10 S wasn't even an option in the list. I don't know how you ended up with S in the first place because that's pretty much restricted to OEMs selling bargain-bin tablets.

Use Media Creation Tool and have it write directly to USB itself. Shouldn't have any problems as long as you can get the machine to boot to it.


Windows 10 S is basically Microsoft's answer to ChromeOS.
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
126 (0.04/day)
Likes
19
Location
Switzerland
Processor Intel i7 6700K 4GHZ
Motherboard MSI Z270 M6 AC
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory Crucial Ballistix Elite DDR4 2x8GB 2666Mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X 11GB
Storage Samsung 960 EVO M.2 500GB + 250GB / Toshiba E300 2TB
Display(s) Acer Predator XB271HU
Case Fractal Define R6 TG
Power Supply Corsair RM750x
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Logitech G610
Software Windows 10 x64
#33
The same thing happend to me once. I ended up making another install ISO with the Media Creation Tool. That worked for me. The first time I installed, I didn't get the option to choose the version. But the second time I tried with the new ISO, I got the option.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,647 (4.06/day)
Likes
10,917
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#34
The flash drive I created with a W10 Pro ISO (1709) from Drone's thread here Using ZotacWinUSB. I've used this USB before to install my clean install last October. No issues
That's how I got it to happen too. I used the iso the linked here on TPU in drone's thread. Thats a common link. Because now that I think more about it the second time I did re-create the iso and I use the media creation tool. It asks if you want to create it for another PC which I did and it worked perfectly fine.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
25,203 (5.42/day)
Likes
11,478
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#35
All ended up with Windows 10 S then upgraded after logging into his MS account to Pro. But I could not install Firefox still same error. Same with Nvidia software

Did the forth install with a new OEM install disk and license. Works fine now
Yeah, you created the USB drive wrong.

Use Media Creation Tool and have it write directly to USB itself. Shouldn't have any problems as long as you can get the machine to boot to it.
Exactly. And if you can't get the machine to boot from the USB, then just use the Media Creation Tool to burn a disc.

Now that Microsoft gives you the tools to create a bootable Windows USB Flash Drive, I don't see any point in using janky 3rd party ISOs and tools.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,665 (3.40/day)
Likes
7,517
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, Synology NAS with 2X Toshiba 6Tb
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#36
Yeah, you created the USB drive wron
That may be but it work many times before. Ive used this USB on the October release and before that with every prior release the same way. I have literally done over 10 installs with it. And it not so much the Windows S issues but the blocking of applications

I think maybe it might be that it was installed with no license. Defaults to Windows S ?
To get it to Pro ether put a license in or log into your account. But the blocking of programs continued. That was the issue
 
Last edited:

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
22,362 (6.22/day)
Likes
11,441
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#37
Yeah, Windows 10 S is the bottom of the bin now. Windows 10 S replaces the invalid-key watermark.

From the MCE, it always asks which version to install if you don't put the key in. If you skip that too, I wouldn't be surprised if it falls back to Windows 10 S. If you don't input the key (intending to hardware activate) then you have to make 110% sure you click on the right version of Windows 10 when it asks.

When changing editions of Windows 10, there's a lot of caveats:
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/deployment/upgrade/windows-10-edition-upgrades
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
2,869 (1.66/day)
Likes
2,944
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name Evil Midget
Processor i3-6100
Motherboard MSI B150I PRO AC
Cooling Noctua NH-L9i
Memory 2x8GB Kinkston HyperX DDR4-2133 CL14
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX950 MINI
Storage Samsung XP941, Sandisk X400 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case LianLi Q11B
Audio Device(s) Int.
Power Supply SeaSonic 450W 80+ GOLD
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Can fit into a backpack =)
#38
I'm curious how you made the USB flash drive?

When I use the MeidaCreationTool put out by Microsoft, it creates a flash drive with every version on it. Then when I'm doing a clean install I just don't put in a key when it asks for one, and I'm given a screen that lets me pick which version of Windows 10 I want to install. Did it no do this for you?
My media creation process was different than his, but there was still no selection. I did a WIM download via MediaCreationTool, then converted to ISO and wrote to USB via RUFUS.
What's interesting, is that the same ISO worked for almost 2 month without issues, and the Win10S madness only started a bit over a month ago.
Unluckily for me this shit overlapped with the upgrade schedule at one of my customer's office (IT company, which got 10 new employees).
Tried various options for installation, including these:
- not entering serial key during installation and activating afterwards
- not installing updates until windows is activated
- unplugging the Ethernet cable
- Disabling SecureBoot
- Disabling UEFI (leaving Legacy or CSM only, where possible)

At the end, the result was the same on all PCs: Windows stuck as 10S, while the "About" tab shows it as Windows 10 Pro.
Also, the platform also makes no difference, cause some of the existing machines were Haswell and Skylake, and 5 new PCs were KabyLake and Ryzen.

I also noticed that 1709 no longer accepts Windows 7/8 keys that were previously activated on Windows 10 (during the "free upgrade" period). Though, 1703 takes any keys, even the ones that were not used w/ upgrade. You can also update to 1709 from 1703 and the issue does not manifest itself at all, regardless of whether you have UEFI or CSM install, or whether you have SecureBoot enabled.
 
Top