• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 PCs Being used as Endpoint Update Servers

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,941 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,908
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#1
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,623 (4.66/day)
Likes
5,738
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H100i V2
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#2
Isn't that not supposed to upload to the internet but, to share updates already downloaded with other machines on the same network? I thought the idea was to limit how much needed to be downloaded by seeing if someone has it on the local network first.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,941 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,908
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Joined
May 4, 2012
Messages
829 (0.38/day)
Likes
656
Location
Ireland
System Name SilentIO
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K @4.8GHz, 1.35V
Motherboard Asus Z97M Plus
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory Corsair Vengeance LP 2400MHz, CL11, 2x8GB, DDR3 1,65V
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming
Storage 2x Samsung 840 EVO 120GB in Raid0, WD VelociRaptor 1TB (WD1000DHTZ)
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 Evolution II Matte 27 @120Hz
Case Cooler Master Silencio 352
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster e5 + Kingston HyperX Cloud II / Logitech Z333 + Blue Snowball
Power Supply Corsair CX500M
Mouse Corsair Scimitar
Keyboard Corsair K65
Software Windows 10 Pro x64, Ubuntu 17.10
#5
sort of reminds me of comcast making their modems enable General public access to home users wifi.
Virgin Media still doing this here in Ireland. They call it “WiFree”. And it’s quite difficult to disable it, took me a couple of months.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,921 (3.36/day)
Likes
5,439
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,345 (4.07/day)
Likes
6,898
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,941 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,908
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#8
Virgin Media still doing this here in Ireland. They call it “WiFree”. And it’s quite difficult to disable it, took me a couple of months.

yeah that's why I don't use a company-provided modem I bought my own and tell them to keep their modem I'm not on Comcast though

Jermaine Microsoft is killing themselves off slow with all this garbage that they're doing I'm sorry to say it but when it was under Bill Gates control things were working pretty well but you know how he is it rather have a foundation try to make himself look better to the world
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
11,346 (2.70/day)
Likes
5,390
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#9
Considering they strapped patch management down to maintaining with emulating or deploying WSUS traffic, them doing this doesn't surprise me one bit. Though I do think they should give the end-users a more clearly visible option to enable Internet Distributed Patch Sharing rather than enabling that by default.

Not surprised by this. I run WSUS at home, and it works great..especially once the ESD streaming issue is resolved which is fairly easy now. But folks that don't run a home lab, probably aren't going to take the same route I am.

I also wouldn't see as big of an issue here if more folks had higher upload speed provisions, the choice for how updates are distributed and obtained on their systems, and no data caps. Unfortunately, I'm stuck with 60/5 for now in my area for standard Charter cable Internet...so I'm not about to compete with Windows update AND my son uploading his YouTube videos as we compete for WAN-facing bandwidth. Hopefully they'll at least change the defaults to LAN sharing only...hopefully.

:toast:
 
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
1,042 (4.55/day)
Likes
379
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Supermicro C7Z270-PG
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB 2666
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 1080
Storage Intel 900p/WD Black SSD/HDDs
Display(s) VX2457-MHD + HDTV
Case Corsair C70
Audio Device(s) Onboard/Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX750
#10
yeah that's why I don't use a company-provided modem I bought my own and tell them to keep their modem I'm not on Comcast though

Jermaine Microsoft is killing themselves off slow with all this garbage that they're doing I'm sorry to say it but when it was under Bill Gates control things were working pretty well but you know how he is it rather have a foundation try to make himself look better to the world
Bill Gates also went overboard during the Vista era and the beginnings of .NET too. If anything, Windows 10 is trying to get back to basics.

Read this... great article. Everyone should read it actually, just for fun (well, "fun" by this site's interests and standards :p). Also the Vanity Fair/Atlantic articles linked in the beginning of this one.

https://hackernoon.com/what-really-happened-with-vista-4ca7ffb5a1a
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,157 (0.35/day)
Likes
709
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
But locally, which I'm fine with.
That is actually incorrect. It shares the updates locally yes, but also over the internet to other PC's outside your network. A torrent protocol is a good analogy.

I'd be ok with this, since there is a toggle to turn it off if wanted... However, I have caught this one twice now, turning itself back on after an update. I have also personally seen the "install popular apps from the app store automatically" switch toggle itself back on, and heard people say several others have turned themselves back on. That's totally not cool.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
10,315 (2.28/day)
Likes
4,189
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K (Stock speeds right now)
Motherboard MSI Z97 U3 Plus
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE Vega 64 (Non Reference)
Storage Samsung EVO 500GB / 8 Different WDs / QNAP TS-253 8GB NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 34" LG 34CB88-P 21:9 Curved UltraWide QHD (3440*1440)
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB & G610 Orion Red
Software Win 10 upgraded from Win 7 Pro
#12
Virgin Media still doing this here in Ireland. They call it “WiFree”. And it’s quite difficult to disable it, took me a couple of months.
Even after setting my Comcast modem in "bridge" mode, the Comcast Wifi is still available. I never bothered to try and log into it, maybe I'll check it tonight.

Sorry... getting OT
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,776 (5.46/day)
Likes
11,058
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#13
I think it's bogus that MS is snooping and Hogging upload bandwidth
This has been in several version of Windows 10 for years now. It doesn't use any upload bandwidth if you are behind a NAT firewall, and it in fact saves download bandwidth if you have multiple Windows 10 computers on the same LAN.

Virgin Media still doing this here in Ireland.
Comcast still does it in the US. It really isn't a big deal, it doesn't affect the customer in any way.

Even after setting my Comcast modem in "bridge" mode, the Comcast Wifi is still available. I never bothered to try and log into it, maybe I'll check it tonight.
That's because the Comcast Hotspot is essentially a completely separate hardware device inside the same gateway case. It has its own cable modem, and its own wifi radio.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,345 (4.07/day)
Likes
6,898
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
6,902 (1.44/day)
Likes
8,790
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#15
That's because the Comcast Hotspot is essentially a completely separate hardware device inside the same gateway case. It has its own cable modem, and its own wifi radio.
Comcast still does it in the US. It really isn't a big deal, it doesn't affect the customer in any way.
except the customer IE THE COMCAST SUBSCRIBER who pays for the power Sipped by Comcast to power this hotspot
while it may not be much in terms of power usage over a year it Mounts up then multiply that by all those comcast Clients
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,941 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,908
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#16
This has been in several version of Windows 10 for years now. It doesn't use any upload bandwidth if you are behind a NAT firewall, and it in fact saves download bandwidth if you have multiple Windows 10 computers on the same LAN.



Comcast still does it in the US. It really isn't a big deal, it doesn't affect the customer in any way.



That's because the Comcast Hotspot is essentially a completely separate hardware device inside the same gateway case. It has its own cable modem, and its own wifi radio.
I don't have a problem with WUD sharing via intranet/ethernet but to have others download from your system via internet seems like a bandwidth hog and security compromise.

The option should remain off.

I guess thats why I'm still on 7...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,345 (4.07/day)
Likes
6,898
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,941 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,908
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#18
Because you dont want to toggle a button to disable it when installing windows?
Nah numerous reasons I haven't switched, besides why fix what is not broken?

@Papayooie I wonder if there is a Administrator regedit or gpedit tweak to turn this option off indefinitely.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 7, 2017
Messages
1,042 (4.55/day)
Likes
379
System Name Blackbox
Processor Intel i7 7700k
Motherboard Supermicro C7Z270-PG
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB 2666
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 1080
Storage Intel 900p/WD Black SSD/HDDs
Display(s) VX2457-MHD + HDTV
Case Corsair C70
Audio Device(s) Onboard/Realtek
Power Supply Corsair HX750
#19
Nah numerous reasons I haven't switched, besides why fix what is not broken?
As good a reason as any.

It's also why I'm not downgrading to Win 7 myself :D

Personally, I think 10 is in the same likable category as 7. It's always the inbetween versions that suck.

Same theory goes for Mark Wahlberg movies.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,776 (5.46/day)
Likes
11,058
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB Crucial MX500 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 480GB MX200 SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#20
except the customer IE THE COMCAST SUBSCRIBER who pays for the power Sipped by Comcast to power this hotspot
while it may not be much in terms of power usage over a year it Mounts up then multiply that by all those comcast Clients
The amount of power used is negligible. The extra hardware uses about 10W of power, which amounts to something like $10 a year in electricity costs.

I don't have a problem with WUD sharing via intranet/ethernet but to have others download from your system via internet seems like a bandwidth hog and security compromise.
Like I said, if your machine is behind a NAT firewall(and it should be) then no one will be downloading anything from you or using any of your bandwidth.
 

dorsetknob

"YOUR RMA REQUEST IS CON-REFUSED"
Joined
Mar 17, 2005
Messages
6,902 (1.44/day)
Likes
8,790
Location
Dorset where else eh? >>> Thats ENGLAND<<<
#21
The amount of power used is negligible. The extra hardware uses about 10W of power, which amounts to something like $10 a year in electricity costs.
Overall, Comcast now has 22.3 million video customers, 23.3 million Internet customers, and 11.5 million phone customers. The phone business added 139,000 subscribers in the quarter and 282,000 during the full year. Many of the additions came from existing customers adding a service.3 Feb 2016

And if you cost those figures ( lets be Generous and say 11million customers allow Comcast to sip power)
is that small change over a year ????
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
12,345 (4.07/day)
Likes
6,898
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7960X 4.5GHz 16c/16t 1.17V
Motherboard MSI XPower Gaming Titanium
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) 27" Acer Predator 2560x1440 144hz IPS + Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#22
Considering the number is a lot smaller than that... as it has to be phone customers which use their own modem... which ill bet is not a very high percent of total users...

Still i get your point... as much of a reach it is to make a few watts an issue. :)
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
20,941 (5.30/day)
Likes
5,908
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#23
The amount of power used is negligible. The extra hardware uses about 10W of power, which amounts to something like $10 a year in electricity costs.



Like I said, if your machine is behind a NAT firewall(and it should be) then no one will be downloading anything from you or using any of your bandwidth.
you don't think Microsoft will use a common Port that is open do you on a Nat
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
2,243 (4.77/day)
Likes
1,451
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD FX-6300 - 4.5 Ghz
Motherboard ASRock 970M Pro3
Cooling Scythe Katana 4 - 3x 120mm case fans
Memory 16GB - 4x4GB A-DATA 1866 Mhz (OC)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1060 Turbo 6GB ~ 2139 Mhz / 9.4 Gbps
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x 1 Tb Seagate something or other
Display(s) 1080p TV
Case Zalman R1
Power Supply 500W
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,254 (4.10/day)
Likes
10,471
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#25
isnt this the option? if so it can be disabled from within windows ,after installation.personally i uncheck ALL boxes when intalling Win, but this somehow got turned back on, maybe in the recent FCU


notice the 2nd option has "internet" added , i dont want ANYONE DL'ing updates from My PC/PC's or network.

this function/option has "vulnerability" written all over it IMO...i cant say how, but if there was a way for a hacker to exploit a system/systems, this seems like it would eb a likely starting point.