• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 Pro activation "feature"

Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,449 (0.48/day)
Likes
1,302
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
#1
If anyone else is having this experience, I just wanted to throw out a heads up here.
It would seems that Microsoft has some issue with their Windows 10 Pro activation servers, so if your copy of Windows all of a sudden says it's no longer activated, well, apparently it still is.
I just spoke to support and they said they should have this new, amazing feature fixed in 24-48h...
Some more details here - https://www.computerworld.com/artic...cense-is-still-good-despite-the-warnings.html
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
813 (0.44/day)
Likes
244
Location
If I knew, I'd tellz ya...
System Name The Big RED One
Processor i7-6700k, oc'd to 4.7 ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Gaming 7- Z170x
Cooling Corsair H110i-GT AIO + 3x Corsair AF140's + 4x AF140 (int/exh) + 2x CM120 (bottom int)
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengence Red RBG DDR4-3200 XMP 2x
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1060/6GB w/15% o/c
Storage 2x 960 Pro m.2 nvme, 1x Hitachi 2TB spinner for storage
Display(s) Samsung 32" & 24" LCD's @1920x1280 60hz
Case Thermaltake TT900 Super Tower w/custom paint and ExAF treatment
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA G2 SuperNova 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech MX5500 combo
Keyboard see above
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shiite turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores Quicker than flies on a dung pile
#2
"it's not a BUG, but rather an exciting, wonderful new feature that will add multitudes of convenience for end users"

n O t...... hahahahahahaha.....typical M$ fluff job !
 

FreedomEclipse

~Technological Technocrat~
Joined
Apr 20, 2007
Messages
18,207 (4.30/day)
Likes
6,377
Location
London,UK
System Name Codename: Icarus Mk.IV
Processor Intel 8600k@4.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Strixx Z370-F
Cooling Corsair H105 {2x Corsair ML 120 Pro}
Memory Corsair Vengeance White LED DDR4 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080Ti Gaming OC
Storage WD Black Edition 512GB SSD (Boot)|WD Blue 1TB SSD|2x 3TB Toshiba DT01ACA300
Display(s) Asus PB278Q 27"
Case Corsair 760T (White) {1x Corsair ML120 Pro |3x ML140 Pro}
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Z {Speakers: Logitech Z-5500 }
Power Supply Corsair AX760
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Duckyshine Dead LED(s) III
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores (ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
#3
So much for being a paying customer
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,575 (3.35/day)
Likes
6,056
Location
Piteå
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
#4
It's only to Bethsoft bugs are features (because you get to mod them!), to MS they're just bugs.

So much for being a paying customer
Ever bought a new car? Yeah.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
6,618 (4.35/day)
Likes
5,489
Location
Duiven, Netherlands
Processor i7 8700k 4.8Ghz @ 1.31v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Eizo Foris FG2421
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
#5
So much for being a paying customer
Stop complaining, it was a free upgrade from 7, and this bug is just a small reminder of that :D You see MS uses bugs now instead of Windows Update to keep its userbase in line.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
269 (0.80/day)
Likes
154
Location
Argentina
System Name Desktop4
Processor Intel Core i3-4330
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H v2.1
Cooling Standard Intel Cooler
Memory 32 GB DDR3 1600 MHz (11-10-10-29 CR2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB // Toshiba 2 TB HDD // WD 2 TB HDD
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display (6-bit + FRC)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Logitech Wireless Mouse M280 // Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Keyboard 4000
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z: 327.9 ST / 973.8 MT
#6
Not only Pro being deactivated, but also it seems like W10 likes to spin a roulette every boot. Wherever it lands, you get that edition. So you can get Enterprise, restart, get Home, restart, get some other edition and so on...

I love these Easter eggs/bugs :confused:...
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
2,602 (1.64/day)
Likes
1,319
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD-9370BE @4.6
Motherboard ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 +SB950
Cooling CM Nepton 280L
Memory G.Skill Sniper 16gb DDR3 2400
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage C:\SSD (240GB), D:\Seagate (2TB), E:\Western Digital (1TB)
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
Software windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
#8
I dont check for activation, I have it blocked. :D
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2007
Messages
10,142 (2.47/day)
Likes
9,105
System Name Pioneer
Processor Intel i7 8700k @ 5.0 GHz All-Core + Uncore & AVX Offset @ 0
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 + A whole lotta Sunon and Corsair Maglev blower fans...
Memory G.SKILL TridentZ Series 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 @ 14-14-14-34-2T
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
Storage HGST UltraStar 7K6000 3.5" HDD 2TB 7200 RPM (w/128MBs of Cache)
Display(s) BenQ BL3200PT (a 1440p VA Panel with decent latency)
Case Thermaltake Core X31
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink to Schiit Modi Multibit to Asgard 2 Amp to AKG K7XX Ruby Red Massdrop Headphones
Power Supply Seasonic PRIME 750W 80Plus Titanium
Mouse ROCCAT Kone EMP
Keyboard WASD CODE 104-Key w/ Cherry MX Green Keyswitches, Doubleshot Vortex PBT White Keycaps, Blue legends
Software Windows 10 Enterprise (From former workplace, yay no telemetry)
Benchmark Scores FSExt/TS: FSExt 10734:https://www.3dmark.com/fs/16266163 TS 8154:https://www.3dmark.com/spy/4331316
#9
n O t...... hahahahahahaha.....typical M$ fluff job !
Except they didn't claim this was a feature but a server failure. The OP's editorialish wording is not MS's position on this matter.

Not only Pro being deactivated, but also it seems like W10 likes to spin a roulette every boot. Wherever it lands, you get that edition. So you can get Enterprise, restart, get Home, restart, get some other edition and so on...

I love these Easter eggs/bugs :confused:...
Can't say I've ever seen this one...
 

rtwjunkie

PC Gaming Enthusiast
Supporter
Joined
Jul 25, 2008
Messages
10,902 (2.89/day)
Likes
15,425
Location
Louisiana -Laissez les bons temps rouler!
System Name Bayou Devil
Processor Core i7-4790k 4.4Ghz @ 1.18v
Motherboard ASUS Z97 Deluxe
Cooling All air: 2x140mm Fractal exhaust; 3x 140mm Cougar Intake; Enermax T40F CPU cooler
Memory 2x 8GB Mushkin Redline DDR-3 1866
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080Ti Gaming X
Storage 1x 500 MX500 SSD; 2x 2TB WD Black; 1x4TB WD Black;1x 2TB WD Green (eSATA)
Display(s) HP 27q 27" IPS @ 2560 x 1440
Case Fractal Design Define R4 Black w/Titanium front -windowed
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Z
Power Supply Seasonic X-850
Mouse Coolermaster Sentinel III
Keyboard Logitech G610 Orion mechanical (Cherry Brown switches)
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit (Start10 & Fences 3.0 installed)
#10
Joined
Jun 15, 2016
Messages
476 (0.54/day)
Likes
209
System Name My PC
Processor 4670K@4.4GHz
Motherboard Gryphon Z87
Cooling CM 212
Memory 2x8GB+2x4GB @2400GHz
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon RX 580 GTS Black Edition 1425MHz OC+, 8GB
Storage Intel 530 SSD 480GB + Intel 510 SSD 120GB + 2x500GB hdd raid 1
Display(s) HP envy 32 1440p
Case CM Mastercase 5
Audio Device(s) Sbz Zxr
Power Supply Antec 620W
Mouse G502
Keyboard G910
Software Win 10 pro
#11
I had that issue today earlier and it was legit key from ebay so what i did i tried windows 7 enterprise volume key(Legit one!) and it worked lol.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
124 (0.15/day)
Likes
66
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 24b Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 BENQ 27" GL2706PQ / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
#12
had this problem too with all my computer that upgraded from w8.1 pro. ms support said to try tomorrow to activate.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
8,879 (3.99/day)
Likes
11,140
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MRGB Kaith Blue
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Benchmark Scores Congrats USA!! on the Travel Ban.....
#14
I have five different PC's, and none of them have given this error (yet), hopefully I won't encounter it.
 
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
1,443 (1.49/day)
Likes
1,597
Location
AK, USA
Processor Ryzen 5 2600X - all cores 4.0 GHz
Motherboard MSI B350M Gaming Pro
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu with AM4 bracket
Memory PNY Anarchy-X XLR8 Red DDR4 3200 MHz C15-17-17-17-35
Video Card(s) XFX RS RX 480 GPU @ 1288 MHz - 1.040 mV from 1.175 | GDDR5 @ 2075 MHz
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB, SanDisk Ultra II 480 GB
Display(s) IP2362 OCed refresh rate - 76Hz (Freesync supported over HDMI with CRU)
Case Phantek Eclipse P400S (PH-EC416PS)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887 (dead)
Power Supply EVGA 850 BQ
Mouse Kingston HyperX Pulsefire FPS
Keyboard Logitech K520
Software Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#15
Reactivated
Untitled.png
 
Joined
Apr 15, 2009
Messages
608 (0.17/day)
Likes
385
Processor i5 4690K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-PRO Wi-Fi ac USB 3.1
Cooling Cryorig H5 Ultimate
Memory 16 GB Corsair XMS3 1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 590 OC Special Edition
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240
Display(s) ASUS MG278Q
Case Corsair Carbide 600Q
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#16
I just noticed the Activate Windows watermark appear on my screen this afternoon.
Windows 10 Pro.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
305 (0.14/day)
Likes
299
Location
Babylon 5
System Name DaBeast! DaBeast2! HTPC
Processor Intel LGA2011 i7 3960X/LGA 1150 i7 4770K/LGA 1155 i7 2600K
Motherboard Asus ROG Rampage IV Extreme/ASRock Z87 Extreme6/Asus Maximus Gene-Z
Cooling Corsair H100/Deepcool Maelstrom 240/Deepcool Seidon 120
Memory 16GB DDR3 2133Mhz Corsair Dominator Platinum/RipJawsX/16GB RipJawsZ 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) CF PC RX VEGA64 Red Devil + Gigabyte RX VEGA 64/Palit RTX 2080 Ti Gaming Pro OC/Leadtek GTX 1080
Storage 128GB Corsair ForceGT SSD (OS)/250GB Samsung EVO 850 (Various 1-4TB HDD's)/250GB Samsung EVO 850
Display(s) Samsung LC49HG90DMEX 32:9 Freesync 2/Acer XR341CK 75Hz Freesync/Panasonic 65" UHD TV
Case Caselabs Magnum M8/Soldam XR-1 Black Knight/Fractal Design Define
Audio Device(s) Oppo HA-1 + KRK Rokit5 G3/iFi Micro iDSD Black Label/Fostex HPA4
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250/Enermax MaxRevo 1500/Corsair HX-1050
Mouse Armeggeddon Havoc III/Logitech G402/Logitech G603 WL
Keyboard Cooler Master Nova Touch TKL (Topre)/KBT Race II (Cherry MX Blue)/Logitech G613 WL
Software 64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Pro/64bit Win10 Home
#17
Weird, I'm still having this issue......when I go to Windows Settings, I still see the 'Windows isn't activated' message.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
2,449 (0.48/day)
Likes
1,302
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1700 @ 3.85GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime X370-Pro
Cooling Corsair H110i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200
Video Card(s) Galax GeForce GTX 1080 EXOC-SNPR
Storage 512GB Plextor M8PeG NVMe, 500GB Crucial MX200, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 400Q
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Roccat ISKU
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/h01zlr
#18
Had to re-activate mine, but it's back to "normal" now, i.e. activated and working.
 
Joined
Nov 6, 2018
Messages
35 (2.92/day)
Likes
18
#19
Mine was activated (till yesterday). Today in My Computer > Properties > I am seeing not activated and link to activate with message "connect to internet to activate windows". but I am already browsing internet and when I click on "Activate Windows" I get "Unable to reach Microsoft Activation Server".
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
15,660 (3.92/day)
Likes
9,268
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#20
It's funny, I didn't notice anything, read an article about it, checked the activation and sure enough it wasn't activated. Checked this morning and it was activated again.

Don'tcha just love how Microsoft can just reach into your computer from afar and fiddle around with it at will?
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2016
Messages
124 (0.15/day)
Likes
66
System Name Gaming PC / I7 XEON
Processor I7 4790K @stock / XEON W3680 @ stock
Motherboard Asus Z97 MAXIMUS VII FORMULA / GIGABYTE X58 UD7
Cooling X61 Kraken / X61 Kraken
Memory 32gb Vengeance 2133 Mhz / 24b Corsair XMS3 1600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward GLH 1080 / MSI Gaming X Radeon RX480 8 GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 500gb ,3 tb seagate, 2 samsung 1tb in raid 0 / Kingdian 240 gb, megaraid SAS 9341-8
Display(s) 2 BENQ 27" GL2706PQ / Dell UP2716D LCD Monitor 27 "
Case Corsair Graphite Series 780T / Corsair Obsidian 750 D
Audio Device(s) ON BOARD / ON BOARD
Power Supply Sapphire Pure 950w / Corsair RMI 750w
Mouse Steelseries Sesnsei / Steelseries Sensei raw
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma / Razer BlackWidow Chroma
Software Windows 1064bit PRO / Windows 1064bit PRO
#21
today reactivation works.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,762 (3.33/day)
Likes
7,736
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro,
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit // Windows 10 Pro 64bit with Kodi
#22
I just got an activate windows go to settings on both my PCs Desktop notification

Is this what you're talking about?



System page

 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 9, 2018
Messages
1 (0.11/day)
Likes
0
#23
I've spoken to MS Activations (humans) a number of times over the years. In order of my recollection:

1. To replace some kind of previous activation with "my" Dell Win7Pro that I simply could not part with.
2. To upgrade the same OEM Win7Pro to Win10Pro courtesy/incentive that I proceeded to juggle about (personal use) systems.
3. To transfer 7&10Pro OEMs that shipped stuck to the bottom of my newest Dell to a motherboard swap.

MS didn't "owe" me anything I never did pay for, but I'm fairly loyal customer every 3rd charm two years later: (XP, 7, 10). In my years of being a MS customer I've had no situation that hasn't gone well to amazingly well with my picking up the phone.
 
Top